The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker GameCube

The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 886 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this ninth entry in the Legend of Zelda series, Link debuts on GameCube with a fun new cel-shaded look, but the game stays true to the respected heritage of the series. The classic mix of sword-swinging action, perplexing puzzles and stirring story lines remains intact, but the stunningIn this ninth entry in the Legend of Zelda series, Link debuts on GameCube with a fun new cel-shaded look, but the game stays true to the respected heritage of the series. The classic mix of sword-swinging action, perplexing puzzles and stirring story lines remains intact, but the stunning cel-shaded graphics give the people and places of Link's watery world a wildly artistic new look. And for the very first time, Link sails freely on the high seas. Join Link on his most epic and scenic adventure yet. Face unimaginable monsters, explore puzzling dungeons, and meet a cast of unforgettable characters as he searches for his kidnapped sister, Aryll. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 80
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 80
  3. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Nothing can prepare you for the greatness that is The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker... Mark my words: there will be no finer gaming experience this year. [Mar 2003, p.24]
  2. It's only March, and The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker is destined to be the best game of the year on any platform.
  3. Weekly Famitsu
    100
    10 / 10 / 10/ 10 - 40 platinum
  4. 96
    It's Zelda's unrivaled design, balanced and varied, and its polished play mechanics and control that ultimately set the game apart from just about every other competitor on the market.
  5. Tingle does make the game a touch easier, but at the same time it makes the story aspects of the Wind Waker a great deal more communal, leading to fewer arguments over whose turn it is. It's also the first game we've seen to really justify the cost of the link cable.
  6. While the game has some minor pacing and audio problems, the brave new art style, tightly evolved gameplay and humorous story takes the famous series in a bright, new direction.
  7. An entertaining, albeit unoriginal Zelda title that fails to be revolutionary yet still has the classic gameplay elements that make the series so great.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 331
  1. JonS
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Okay, so maybe it doesn't deserve a perfect score. Sure there's like two bits where i got stuck or kind of bored but the sheer wall Okay, so maybe it doesn't deserve a perfect score. Sure there's like two bits where i got stuck or kind of bored but the sheer wall of content that is enjoyable and intriguing to the very end is just exceptional, if i could 9.8. Expand
  2. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    Wind Waker is a very fun and epic game. Many have complained about the game being too short and sailing being boring, but in my opinionWind Waker is a very fun and epic game. Many have complained about the game being too short and sailing being boring, but in my opinion sailing was relaxing and, maybe I was just stupid or did a lot of sidequests, but the game felt really long to me. The dungeons are fun and diverse, there is a lot to see and do on the Great Sea, combat was fun (although too easy for the most part), characters are mostly great and unforgettable and the story was good too. There are a few flaws, like the easiness, but I enjoyed it so much, that I'm giving it a perfect ten. Expand
  3. TomB.
    Apr 18, 2003
    10
    When first I glimpsed Zelda's new look I was a bit apprehensive, but now that I have the game, I cannot give it anything less than a When first I glimpsed Zelda's new look I was a bit apprehensive, but now that I have the game, I cannot give it anything less than a perfect score. Zelda is pure genius, and proves the gamer Expand
  4. SamA.
    May 9, 2003
    10
    Just got it and it is the best game ever! When you see the screenshots of it it looks rubbish but in action its as smooth as a babies bum. Just got it and it is the best game ever! When you see the screenshots of it it looks rubbish but in action its as smooth as a babies bum. 10/10? Definitely Expand
  5. Mechanori
    May 7, 2003
    9
    For those of you rating the game because of it's kiddy graphics, stop being so scared of graphics. Even though they are absolutely For those of you rating the game because of it's kiddy graphics, stop being so scared of graphics. Even though they are absolutely beautiful anyway, don't judge anything by how it looks. This is a great game, in all aspects, and unfortunately for you people that think realism is most important, it is most certainly not the basis of any previous Zelda game. Did the LttP sprite look anything like a real figure? Was it meant to? Did Link's eyes look like normal eyes in OoT? No, they were anime styled, and this game is taking that style to a new level. Expand
  6. AmyC.
    Jun 7, 2003
    9
    The graphics are cool, the plot is thorough (many twists), and it's overall VERY fun. But here are the reasons I gave it a 9 rather than The graphics are cool, the plot is thorough (many twists), and it's overall VERY fun. But here are the reasons I gave it a 9 rather than a 10: 1)That annoying TETRA! I mean, I know she's important (especially when you find out who she really is) but I found her to be extremely unlikable and I couldn't care less about anything bad happening to her. In fact, I really just wanted her to get killed by that bird. I mean, everytime I play this game with someone they constantly say (and i constantly say) "I hate that girl" or "When's that stupid girl gonna die?" I swear, I haven't met a single person who thought she was "cool". I mean she comes in handy, but I just didn't like her character. 2) Some of the adult characters such as the king of Hyrule, Ganon, and Zelda looked horrible as a cartoon. I mean, when they turned around so you could see their face, I burst out laughing and it was such a serious moment. I couldn't look at either one of them with out busting up. Zelda had makeup smeared on her (strangely enough, she had that problem in OoT) and a head that you could tell was bigger than her body. Ganon was fat and had sideburns bigger than the ones he had in OoT. And the king of hyrule was just plain creeeepy. Sorry, but I couldn't stand seeing them as cartoons. So I'd rather have them look more real. Plus, the plot seems less dark with cartoons. Overall, Windwaker is fantastic, but there were a couple of negatives I couldn't stand. But whatever, what do I know?! Expand
  7. JayB.
    Sep 28, 2003
    0
    Even if this game had the best graphics in the world, this would probably be one of the most overrated, poorly designed games I have ever Even if this game had the best graphics in the world, this would probably be one of the most overrated, poorly designed games I have ever bought in my life, being made only as a result of the publicity and money made from Ocarina of Time. Stop giving this sorry game pity votes! Expand

See all 331 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2003
#14 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2003