Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 781 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this ninth entry in the Legend of Zelda series, Link debuts on GameCube with a fun new cel-shaded look, but the game stays true to the respected heritage of the series. The classic mix of sword-swinging action, perplexing puzzles and stirring story lines remains intact, but the stunningIn this ninth entry in the Legend of Zelda series, Link debuts on GameCube with a fun new cel-shaded look, but the game stays true to the respected heritage of the series. The classic mix of sword-swinging action, perplexing puzzles and stirring story lines remains intact, but the stunning cel-shaded graphics give the people and places of Link's watery world a wildly artistic new look. And for the very first time, Link sails freely on the high seas. Join Link on his most epic and scenic adventure yet. Face unimaginable monsters, explore puzzling dungeons, and meet a cast of unforgettable characters as he searches for his kidnapped sister, Aryll. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 80
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 80
  3. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Nothing can prepare you for the greatness that is The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker... Mark my words: there will be no finer gaming experience this year. [Mar 2003, p.24]
  2. It's only March, and The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker is destined to be the best game of the year on any platform.
  3. 10 / 10 / 10/ 10 - 40 platinum
  4. 96
    It's Zelda's unrivaled design, balanced and varied, and its polished play mechanics and control that ultimately set the game apart from just about every other competitor on the market.
  5. Tingle does make the game a touch easier, but at the same time it makes the story aspects of the Wind Waker a great deal more communal, leading to fewer arguments over whose turn it is. It's also the first game we've seen to really justify the cost of the link cable.
  6. While the game has some minor pacing and audio problems, the brave new art style, tightly evolved gameplay and humorous story takes the famous series in a bright, new direction.
  7. An entertaining, albeit unoriginal Zelda title that fails to be revolutionary yet still has the classic gameplay elements that make the series so great.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 320
  1. JonS
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Okay, so maybe it doesn't deserve a perfect score. Sure there's like two bits where i got stuck or kind of bored but the sheer wall Okay, so maybe it doesn't deserve a perfect score. Sure there's like two bits where i got stuck or kind of bored but the sheer wall of content that is enjoyable and intriguing to the very end is just exceptional, if i could 9.8. Expand
  2. May 14, 2013
    10
    This is my absolute favourite game of the Zelda series. Great storyline, great characters (except for Tingle, he is hideous :D) It has a lotThis is my absolute favourite game of the Zelda series. Great storyline, great characters (except for Tingle, he is hideous :D) It has a lot of amazing bosses and opponents and a cool story. The only problem is that takes a little bit of time on navigating from island to island and when you don't know what to do and start to randomly navigate through islands it gets a little boring. Expand
  3. AlucardM.
    Apr 28, 2003
    10
    This is a wonderful game. I insist you to buy it if you love the other Zeldas. It has a fresh new look to it and I'm fine with it. As This is a wonderful game. I insist you to buy it if you love the other Zeldas. It has a fresh new look to it and I'm fine with it. As always it has many things to explore and find. The story is very, very good. This is my favorite game, it even beat Halo for me. BUY IT!!! Expand
  4. Chris
    May 13, 2003
    10
    Yeah, it's a bit easy in places... But it is, without doubt, the most enjoyable game I've ever played, OoT included. Explore the Yeah, it's a bit easy in places... But it is, without doubt, the most enjoyable game I've ever played, OoT included. Explore the whole(enormous) world and it'll last for ages.. Expand
  5. DougM.
    Apr 27, 2003
    9
    People who won't play this game because of the cel-shading are going to miss out on one great game. An awesome story and an incredibly People who won't play this game because of the cel-shading are going to miss out on one great game. An awesome story and an incredibly huge world will have you playing for a while. Expand
  6. GreekBoyAndrew
    Dec 15, 2003
    9
    OK, we all know that the game play is great. There has been a big debate on wether the graphics are amazing or just crap. I think that theOK, we all know that the game play is great. There has been a big debate on wether the graphics are amazing or just crap. I think that the graphics are ok however they don't use the potenital of the gamecube. What people don't realise is that its not just the graphics, its the fact that link is small, skinny and gay looking. Can the hero of time really look as stupid????? on the other hand if the graphics were the same but he was big, musclular and a hard ass then i dont think anyone would complain! in conclusion i feel that you should go out and buy this game because the storyline, gameplay and whole atmosphere of the game is amazing. you can't rate this game after 30 mins of playing it! Expand
  7. JayB.
    Sep 28, 2003
    0
    Even if this game had the best graphics in the world, this would probably be one of the most overrated, poorly designed games I have ever Even if this game had the best graphics in the world, this would probably be one of the most overrated, poorly designed games I have ever bought in my life, being made only as a result of the publicity and money made from Ocarina of Time. Stop giving this sorry game pity votes! Expand

See all 320 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.