Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 744 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this ninth entry in the Legend of Zelda series, Link debuts on GameCube with a fun new cel-shaded look, but the game stays true to the respected heritage of the series. The classic mix of sword-swinging action, perplexing puzzles and stirring story lines remains intact, but the stunningIn this ninth entry in the Legend of Zelda series, Link debuts on GameCube with a fun new cel-shaded look, but the game stays true to the respected heritage of the series. The classic mix of sword-swinging action, perplexing puzzles and stirring story lines remains intact, but the stunning cel-shaded graphics give the people and places of Link's watery world a wildly artistic new look. And for the very first time, Link sails freely on the high seas. Join Link on his most epic and scenic adventure yet. Face unimaginable monsters, explore puzzling dungeons, and meet a cast of unforgettable characters as he searches for his kidnapped sister, Aryll. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 80
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 80
  3. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Nothing can prepare you for the greatness that is The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker... Mark my words: there will be no finer gaming experience this year. [Mar 2003, p.24]
  2. It's only March, and The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker is destined to be the best game of the year on any platform.
  3. 10 / 10 / 10/ 10 - 40 platinum
  4. 96
    It's Zelda's unrivaled design, balanced and varied, and its polished play mechanics and control that ultimately set the game apart from just about every other competitor on the market.
  5. Tingle does make the game a touch easier, but at the same time it makes the story aspects of the Wind Waker a great deal more communal, leading to fewer arguments over whose turn it is. It's also the first game we've seen to really justify the cost of the link cable.
  6. While the game has some minor pacing and audio problems, the brave new art style, tightly evolved gameplay and humorous story takes the famous series in a bright, new direction.
  7. An entertaining, albeit unoriginal Zelda title that fails to be revolutionary yet still has the classic gameplay elements that make the series so great.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 318
  1. JonS
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Okay, so maybe it doesn't deserve a perfect score. Sure there's like two bits where i got stuck or kind of bored but the sheer wall Okay, so maybe it doesn't deserve a perfect score. Sure there's like two bits where i got stuck or kind of bored but the sheer wall of content that is enjoyable and intriguing to the very end is just exceptional, if i could 9.8. Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    Simply put, this game is a masterpiece. It takes the solid structure of OoT and the creativity of MM and perfects them both. It's not withoutSimply put, this game is a masterpiece. It takes the solid structure of OoT and the creativity of MM and perfects them both. It's not without flaw, but the faults are easy to overlook. One of the best Zelda games around.
    9.6/10
    Expand
  3. AlucardM.
    Apr 28, 2003
    10
    This is a wonderful game. I insist you to buy it if you love the other Zeldas. It has a fresh new look to it and I'm fine with it. As This is a wonderful game. I insist you to buy it if you love the other Zeldas. It has a fresh new look to it and I'm fine with it. As always it has many things to explore and find. The story is very, very good. This is my favorite game, it even beat Halo for me. BUY IT!!! Expand
  4. KeeganM.
    May 22, 2003
    10
    Well... when I first saw how the game looked, m I was scpetical, to say the least. Link just doesn't look good as a cartoon. That aside, Well... when I first saw how the game looked, m I was scpetical, to say the least. Link just doesn't look good as a cartoon. That aside, it is easily thebest games I've ever played... except maybe ocarina of Time. And once you get used to the cartoon-style graphics, you'll see how much better they can animate the game. Expand
  5. Chucky
    May 16, 2003
    9
    I really really like this game. i would have given it a 10, but there are only 6 dungeons. OoT had 9, A Link to the Past had 12. I hope I really really like this game. i would have given it a 10, but there are only 6 dungeons. OoT had 9, A Link to the Past had 12. I hope there's not only 3 in the next Zelda game. Expand
  6. CozoniW.
    Jan 3, 2004
    9
    My first Zelda experience. But allthough it has suberbly origonal graphics, immaculate combat and some genius puzzles- it wasnt perfect. The My first Zelda experience. But allthough it has suberbly origonal graphics, immaculate combat and some genius puzzles- it wasnt perfect. The exploring over the oceans was flawed to say the least, became a little repetitive just when you thought the action was hotting up and also wasnt that difficult - expecially when you are flipping between Metroid Prime and Pro evolution soccer 3 which really are hard! But you have to give it at least a 9 because it is part of a select few games who are on a different planet to 90% of other games. Expand
  7. JayB.
    Sep 28, 2003
    0
    Even if this game had the best graphics in the world, this would probably be one of the most overrated, poorly designed games I have ever Even if this game had the best graphics in the world, this would probably be one of the most overrated, poorly designed games I have ever bought in my life, being made only as a result of the publicity and money made from Ocarina of Time. Stop giving this sorry game pity votes! Expand

See all 318 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.