The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker GameCube

The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1037 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this ninth entry in the Legend of Zelda series, Link debuts on GameCube with a fun new cel-shaded look, but the game stays true to the respected heritage of the series. The classic mix of sword-swinging action, perplexing puzzles and stirring story lines remains intact, but the stunningIn this ninth entry in the Legend of Zelda series, Link debuts on GameCube with a fun new cel-shaded look, but the game stays true to the respected heritage of the series. The classic mix of sword-swinging action, perplexing puzzles and stirring story lines remains intact, but the stunning cel-shaded graphics give the people and places of Link's watery world a wildly artistic new look. And for the very first time, Link sails freely on the high seas. Join Link on his most epic and scenic adventure yet. Face unimaginable monsters, explore puzzling dungeons, and meet a cast of unforgettable characters as he searches for his kidnapped sister, Aryll. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 80
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 80
  3. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Nothing can prepare you for the greatness that is The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker... Mark my words: there will be no finer gaming experience this year. [Mar 2003, p.24]
  2. It's only March, and The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker is destined to be the best game of the year on any platform.
  3. Weekly Famitsu
    100
    10 / 10 / 10/ 10 - 40 platinum
  4. 96
    It's Zelda's unrivaled design, balanced and varied, and its polished play mechanics and control that ultimately set the game apart from just about every other competitor on the market.
  5. Tingle does make the game a touch easier, but at the same time it makes the story aspects of the Wind Waker a great deal more communal, leading to fewer arguments over whose turn it is. It's also the first game we've seen to really justify the cost of the link cable.
  6. While the game has some minor pacing and audio problems, the brave new art style, tightly evolved gameplay and humorous story takes the famous series in a bright, new direction.
  7. An entertaining, albeit unoriginal Zelda title that fails to be revolutionary yet still has the classic gameplay elements that make the series so great.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 325
  1. JonS
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Okay, so maybe it doesn't deserve a perfect score. Sure there's like two bits where i got stuck or kind of bored but the sheer wall Okay, so maybe it doesn't deserve a perfect score. Sure there's like two bits where i got stuck or kind of bored but the sheer wall of content that is enjoyable and intriguing to the very end is just exceptional, if i could 9.8. Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    Holy this IS the best game Ever EVERYBODY who dont like are brain****ted the time where I played this was the BEST time in my hole entireHoly this IS the best game Ever EVERYBODY who dont like are brain****ted the time where I played this was the BEST time in my hole entire life I THANK YOU NINTENDO shame on me for playing this I don't deserve it. Expand
  3. TomB.
    Apr 18, 2003
    10
    When first I glimpsed Zelda's new look I was a bit apprehensive, but now that I have the game, I cannot give it anything less than a When first I glimpsed Zelda's new look I was a bit apprehensive, but now that I have the game, I cannot give it anything less than a perfect score. Zelda is pure genius, and proves the gamer Expand
  4. SamG.
    May 7, 2003
    10
    I haven't played this game yet but I a Zelda Fan!!! So I don't care what it looks like because its not about the graphics. Its I haven't played this game yet but I a Zelda Fan!!! So I don't care what it looks like because its not about the graphics. Its about what type of game you like. Expand
  5. DougM.
    Apr 27, 2003
    9
    People who won't play this game because of the cel-shading are going to miss out on one great game. An awesome story and an incredibly People who won't play this game because of the cel-shading are going to miss out on one great game. An awesome story and an incredibly huge world will have you playing for a while. Expand
  6. NathanP.
    Apr 22, 2003
    9
    Man oh man... everyone I knew kept on saying... "OMG, ZELDA IS GONNA SUCK ASS" I was the only one who still had faith in Miyamoto's Man oh man... everyone I knew kept on saying... "OMG, ZELDA IS GONNA SUCK ASS" I was the only one who still had faith in Miyamoto's ability to crank out great games. And boy was I right! Although I thought this game would be perfect, there are a few flaws (the camera can go haywire on your during a few battles), but they all are bearable once you can adjust to them. The graphics look gorgeous, and all those who said that the game was too "cartoonish" and "childish"... maybe its you who needs to grow up! I mean, seriously, Zelda brought back what video games was supposed to do in the first place- TO HAVE FUN. The dungeons are well mapped out, and the puzzles are there, but aren't too hard to solve, yet still keep you interested. So be a real grown-up and bring out your inner child and get Wind Waker. This game isn't perfect-- few games are-- but its almost there. Expand
  7. JayB.
    Sep 28, 2003
    0
    Even if this game had the best graphics in the world, this would probably be one of the most overrated, poorly designed games I have ever Even if this game had the best graphics in the world, this would probably be one of the most overrated, poorly designed games I have ever bought in my life, being made only as a result of the publicity and money made from Ocarina of Time. Stop giving this sorry game pity votes! Expand

See all 325 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked

    Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked Image
    Published: March 7, 2017
    The new Breath of the Wild is great, but how does it compare to past Zelda releases? We rank all 18 Legend of Zelda games from worst to best.
  2. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2003
#4 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2003