The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker GameCube

The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 939 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this ninth entry in the Legend of Zelda series, Link debuts on GameCube with a fun new cel-shaded look, but the game stays true to the respected heritage of the series. The classic mix of sword-swinging action, perplexing puzzles and stirring story lines remains intact, but the stunningIn this ninth entry in the Legend of Zelda series, Link debuts on GameCube with a fun new cel-shaded look, but the game stays true to the respected heritage of the series. The classic mix of sword-swinging action, perplexing puzzles and stirring story lines remains intact, but the stunning cel-shaded graphics give the people and places of Link's watery world a wildly artistic new look. And for the very first time, Link sails freely on the high seas. Join Link on his most epic and scenic adventure yet. Face unimaginable monsters, explore puzzling dungeons, and meet a cast of unforgettable characters as he searches for his kidnapped sister, Aryll. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 80
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 80
  3. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Nothing can prepare you for the greatness that is The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker... Mark my words: there will be no finer gaming experience this year. [Mar 2003, p.24]
  2. It's only March, and The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker is destined to be the best game of the year on any platform.
  3. Weekly Famitsu
    100
    10 / 10 / 10/ 10 - 40 platinum
  4. 96
    It's Zelda's unrivaled design, balanced and varied, and its polished play mechanics and control that ultimately set the game apart from just about every other competitor on the market.
  5. Tingle does make the game a touch easier, but at the same time it makes the story aspects of the Wind Waker a great deal more communal, leading to fewer arguments over whose turn it is. It's also the first game we've seen to really justify the cost of the link cable.
  6. While the game has some minor pacing and audio problems, the brave new art style, tightly evolved gameplay and humorous story takes the famous series in a bright, new direction.
  7. An entertaining, albeit unoriginal Zelda title that fails to be revolutionary yet still has the classic gameplay elements that make the series so great.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 336
  1. JonS
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Okay, so maybe it doesn't deserve a perfect score. Sure there's like two bits where i got stuck or kind of bored but the sheer wall Okay, so maybe it doesn't deserve a perfect score. Sure there's like two bits where i got stuck or kind of bored but the sheer wall of content that is enjoyable and intriguing to the very end is just exceptional, if i could 9.8. Expand
  2. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    Wind Waker is a very fun and epic game. Many have complained about the game being too short and sailing being boring, but in my opinionWind Waker is a very fun and epic game. Many have complained about the game being too short and sailing being boring, but in my opinion sailing was relaxing and, maybe I was just stupid or did a lot of sidequests, but the game felt really long to me. The dungeons are fun and diverse, there is a lot to see and do on the Great Sea, combat was fun (although too easy for the most part), characters are mostly great and unforgettable and the story was good too. There are a few flaws, like the easiness, but I enjoyed it so much, that I'm giving it a perfect ten. Expand
  3. JonathanL.
    Apr 18, 2003
    10
    This game completely kicks *insert words here*. However it is very different but nonetheless it is amazing. The graphics are amazing the This game completely kicks *insert words here*. However it is very different but nonetheless it is amazing. The graphics are amazing the sound is also amazing and the battle style(much like the other zelda games but better)is awesome. If the rating could go higher I would rate it an amazing 1000. This has to be the greatest Zelda game ever. Those who claim the graphics are kiddy are just plain stupid and probably haven't played it. Expand
  4. MattR.
    May 9, 2003
    10
    This game is the best game on the GameCube, and is only rivalled by such titles as Final Fantasy on the PS2 and Halo on the Xbox. Every This game is the best game on the GameCube, and is only rivalled by such titles as Final Fantasy on the PS2 and Halo on the Xbox. Every GameCube owner should buy this game because it boasts perfect gameplay, a huge storyline and graphics that (although many would consider them cartoony and a downside) grow on you until you wish all your other games looked like this. It looks like Zelda has done it again. Expand
  5. Kilik
    Apr 11, 2003
    9
    Were gonna get some action yeah were gonna get some action soon trapped in a world of ordinary nightmares...blah blah cant remember-does Were gonna get some action yeah were gonna get some action soon trapped in a world of ordinary nightmares...blah blah cant remember-does anyone believe this is me i tried to tell you there is something like that more to meeeeee. I tried to tell you. Yeah this is a good game. The camera is good whoever that was that said that probably has no coordination and cant reallly use the controller. The story is good as for the guy who said it doesn't make sense go back to pre school it is very simple. a good game . play . it. now. Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2016
    9
    So you will know what type of gamer is writing this review, I'll list three of my favorite games
    .
    Atelier Totori Danganronpa Fire Emblem
    So you will know what type of gamer is writing this review, I'll list three of my favorite games
    .
    Atelier Totori
    Danganronpa
    Fire Emblem 

    THE BAD:

    So, as you may have heard, the game has blurry backgrounds. This was intentional and not many liked this. Believe me, it will bother you for the first few hours, but you quickly get used to it and won't even notice it after awhile. 

    THE GOOD:

    GRAPHICS: Great look and art style. Very unique and colorful. This is part of what made the Wind Waker such a gem. 

    MUSIC: Great music, some of the best music you will hear in a platformer.

    GAMEPLAY: In my opinion, the Wind Waker has the best gameplay of any other Zelda title because they took out much of the complexity of the puzzles that is in a usual Zelda title.
      
    CLOSING COMMENTS:

    I'm not really a platformer guy, but this game was an exception. It's the best platformer I have played and I've played quiet a few in my day. Super Mario Sunshine runs a close second, but I still have to give the prize to the Wind Waker. 

    I recommend this game to anyone under 13. It may not be a game for every adult out there. Check out some YouTube videos of this game if you still do not know if it's right for you.

    That wraps this review up, hope it helps. 
    Expand
  7. JayB.
    Sep 28, 2003
    0
    Even if this game had the best graphics in the world, this would probably be one of the most overrated, poorly designed games I have ever Even if this game had the best graphics in the world, this would probably be one of the most overrated, poorly designed games I have ever bought in my life, being made only as a result of the publicity and money made from Ocarina of Time. Stop giving this sorry game pity votes! Expand

See all 336 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.