The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess GameCube

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 480 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 480

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JesseR
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    As soon as I first popped Twilight Princess into my Gamecube I fell in love with it. The Hyrule of this game is arguably my favorite out of all of the games, as its huge expanses and beautiful visuals make it truly epic. While the story is somewhat odd at first and the side quest system is a little lacking, the locales, gameplay, and amazing visuals really complete the game and turn it As soon as I first popped Twilight Princess into my Gamecube I fell in love with it. The Hyrule of this game is arguably my favorite out of all of the games, as its huge expanses and beautiful visuals make it truly epic. While the story is somewhat odd at first and the side quest system is a little lacking, the locales, gameplay, and amazing visuals really complete the game and turn it into an excellent title. While it is good on the Wii, the game just seems made for the Gamecube. The mirrored world and odd controls of the Wii version, as well as the subtle but annoying (annoying to a true Zelda fan, that is) fact that Link is right handed in that incarnation, make the Gamecube the best system to play this amazing game on. Expand
  2. ShawnA.
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Excellent game with great graphics and control, the different skills you learn are great and help imensely at some points of the game, for example, the "Mortal Draw" is great for removing the Darknuts' armour while the "Back Slice" is good for when the armour is off. If you are just starting with this series, you will probably enjoy yourself very much. If you are a Legend of Zelda Excellent game with great graphics and control, the different skills you learn are great and help imensely at some points of the game, for example, the "Mortal Draw" is great for removing the Darknuts' armour while the "Back Slice" is good for when the armour is off. If you are just starting with this series, you will probably enjoy yourself very much. If you are a Legend of Zelda veteran, you will instantly see the resemblances to Ocarina of Time, But thse ill be more in the story than the graphics. Those are much better than any other 3D Zelda game out there. The action gets greater and greater to an eventual climax...and then the credits begin. This is a game that will surely go far and Zelda fans are sure love it. Expand
  3. AlexV.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    This game is really incredible. The graphics for the gamecube version really surprised me and the storyline was fantastic!
  4. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    A beautiful outro to an unforgettable video game console. Pros: Excels beyond Ocarina of Time with its stunning graphics, control, camera, and audio; varied gameplay. Cons: The Wii's excellent fishing controls is missed.
  5. AB
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    There is not a single word to describe the latest Zelda. The game is simply a masterpiece. It truly transcends each game in the entire series and stands as the greatest video game of all time. The puzzles are perfect, the graphics are gorgeous, and the story is fascinating. Unlike other Zelda games, Twilight Princess is not a simple collection of dungeons amidst a few traveling missions. There is not a single word to describe the latest Zelda. The game is simply a masterpiece. It truly transcends each game in the entire series and stands as the greatest video game of all time. The puzzles are perfect, the graphics are gorgeous, and the story is fascinating. Unlike other Zelda games, Twilight Princess is not a simple collection of dungeons amidst a few traveling missions. There is an excellent progressive story that leads the player through a breathtaking experience in a spectacular fashion. Each moment of the game is exhilarating; the characters are amazing, and they develop an emotionally effective plot. The Zelda series is arguably the best in gaming, and Twilight Princess makes it even better. Expand
  6. MarkusE.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    Attn: Robert K. did you only get halfway through the game or something? Beat the whole thing before you vote. Beginning with dungeon #4, you get fresh, new items that were never before seen in OoT and TWW. The dungeons have completely new puzzles.
  7. ZacR.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    [**SPOILERS**] I really loved this game. I've never been a HUGE Zelda fan but I did enjoy ocarina of time and wind waker alot. This game definately throws even some of the oldest Zelda fans in a loop. The puzzles are harder and The bosses are more bloodthristy than ever. It was interesting to see what happened after Wind Waker (if you notice you get the tunic of the hero chosen by [**SPOILERS**] I really loved this game. I've never been a HUGE Zelda fan but I did enjoy ocarina of time and wind waker alot. This game definately throws even some of the oldest Zelda fans in a loop. The puzzles are harder and The bosses are more bloodthristy than ever. It was interesting to see what happened after Wind Waker (if you notice you get the tunic of the hero chosen by the gods. The Wind Waker link was chosen by the gods. The Ocarina link was chosen by fate.) I was sad to see there weren't any deku trees but I guess they all died out after wind waker. I guess drinking all that water can do that to you though. I was really excited at the end when Gannon actually DIED. Before we have only seen him turn to stone or vanish. (He turns to stone in Wind Waker. In Ocarina of Time you never see a body. I suppose he runs off and trys to get his strength back. Which after happening he trys to take over hyrule only for it to be flooded and then him imprisoned untill later) It was really amazing to see that when the water leveled out that they actually tried to have him executed. The entire game was simply amazing. I can't stop trembling with excitement for the next installment and an even deadlier foe! Expand
  8. KevinB.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Twilight Princess easily nailed the game of the year. Thats not really the question. The question I really had to ask myself was whether it was the greatest game of all time or not. After alot of soul searching I concluded that Yes, it is by far the greatest game of all time.
  9. NickC.
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    Great graphics, great gameplay, good replay value, and just plain awesome from start to finish. If you like Zelda, you have to play this game. If you DON'T like Zelda, you should still play this game.
  10. MelodyC.
    Jan 30, 2008
    9
    A very fun game to play. The plot is really good and it connects with one another. It's a long adventure game and totally fun!
  11. UweP.
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    What a massive game this is! Took me just shy of 60 hours to complete, and that's excluding a lot of the optional stuff you can collect and secret areas to explore. Like previous Zeldas, though, it's the dungeons which are the main focus of the game, but this time there've been paid much more attention to unexpected, thrilling events occuring in the exquisitely designed What a massive game this is! Took me just shy of 60 hours to complete, and that's excluding a lot of the optional stuff you can collect and secret areas to explore. Like previous Zeldas, though, it's the dungeons which are the main focus of the game, but this time there've been paid much more attention to unexpected, thrilling events occuring in the exquisitely designed world of Hyrule before you gain access to the next dungeon. Only during the opening 10-15 hours of the game does it feel slightly padded out with a couple of collecting tasks, but then the game really ramps up the pace and doesn't stop until the jaw-droppingly spectacular finale. Expand
  12. BrianS.
    Dec 31, 2006
    8
    I agree with Jeff and Matt, this game has some brilliant scenes and controls are up to par with any game. However, most of this game just leaves you feeling pretty empty after defeating extremely easy bosses and solving the slightly difficult puzzles. The storyline just doesn't fit with ocrina or wind waker, but trys to hint at it with several scenes. Overall a solid game to run I agree with Jeff and Matt, this game has some brilliant scenes and controls are up to par with any game. However, most of this game just leaves you feeling pretty empty after defeating extremely easy bosses and solving the slightly difficult puzzles. The storyline just doesn't fit with ocrina or wind waker, but trys to hint at it with several scenes. Overall a solid game to run through, but just not really ground breaking on any level. Expand
  13. Megan
    Jan 12, 2007
    8
    I think almost everyone here is overating the game. It was good yes but there were quite a few problems with the game. 1st. Grahpics- I had no problem with most of the graphics, they were very detailed and amazing. 2nd-Gameplay- I was glad they finally made Link leanr moves, that was a very good improvement to this game. Some of the controls were a bit irritating and every boss in the I think almost everyone here is overating the game. It was good yes but there were quite a few problems with the game. 1st. Grahpics- I had no problem with most of the graphics, they were very detailed and amazing. 2nd-Gameplay- I was glad they finally made Link leanr moves, that was a very good improvement to this game. Some of the controls were a bit irritating and every boss in the game was immensly easy. but other then that I didnt have to much of a problem. 3rd- music This was a big dissapiontment in certain ways. some of the music I was so happy to hear because it was from OOT. It gave me old memories, but then the rest was just annoyingat times. They could have had time to make it orchestrated. 4th-Storyline- Now The storyline was the big part that cause me to have a problem with the game. mostly the ending. Of course the last boss is easy, your expecting this great ending and it starts off alright and then you see something and link runs to it and its all a nice suprise, and then the credits come. half of them are so pointless and annoying I was telling the game to hurry to the good stuff. Then It shows a cutscene and its pretty good. and then its goes bakc to credits and you see *spoiler* Ilia waiting for him, and link riding Epona back to his home town. you never find out what happens to Link or Zelda ever again as in each Zelda. There could have been so much more and this is why I gave this an a 8. Expand
  14. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    For me Twilight Princess fells like a not as good as expected, clone of OoT. Everything reminds me of OoT expect that it is not made as good as in OoT. Its comes out of the short end.
  15. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    i picked this game up the day i got my wii and man i enjoyed the hell out of it. i spent some days staying up till 4 in the morning playing it its that fun.
  16. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    I loved Twilight Princess, it had some dark themes just as Majoras Mask did which i would like to see more of. The boss fights were fantastic in this one, they had a very epic feeling to them and the dungeons were modestly challenging too
  17. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    The amount of hate over the years for this game is incredible. I can't understand why so many people didn't like it. Although, I do admit the Wolf sections were pretty lame... but unique. The rest of the game shines, easily making it into my top 5 Zelda games of all time. The longest game in the series, and the darkest, Twilight Princess is a must-play for any Zelda fan or anyone who wantsThe amount of hate over the years for this game is incredible. I can't understand why so many people didn't like it. Although, I do admit the Wolf sections were pretty lame... but unique. The rest of the game shines, easily making it into my top 5 Zelda games of all time. The longest game in the series, and the darkest, Twilight Princess is a must-play for any Zelda fan or anyone who wants to get into the series. (The GC version is apparently regarded as superior to the Wii version by many... Sure, superior... because of the controls... Anything else? No? Ok then...) Expand
  18. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    I have no idea why people say its bad for Zelda game! It had outstanding graphics for a gamecube game. The fighting style in this game is so much better than any other game and made me feel so bad ass. It's definitely a great new adventure and has cool new weapons and armor you wouldnt expect. The wolf parts couldve been alittle more fun but it was still an interesting addition the game,I have no idea why people say its bad for Zelda game! It had outstanding graphics for a gamecube game. The fighting style in this game is so much better than any other game and made me feel so bad ass. It's definitely a great new adventure and has cool new weapons and armor you wouldnt expect. The wolf parts couldve been alittle more fun but it was still an interesting addition the game, especially when you got to choose to be the wolf whenever you want. I'd say this is the most amazing zelda game out there, next to Oot. Expand
  19. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Wow! Just wow!

    If you're looking for a great Zelda experience, this is it! Never have I played a more amazing Zelda titles since Ocarina of Time! This game takes the elements that we loved about Ocarina of Time and mixes it up into something completely different whil still retaining what we loved so much from the N64 masterpiece. This personally one of my favorite Zelda titles! This
    Wow! Just wow!

    If you're looking for a great Zelda experience, this is it! Never have I played a more amazing Zelda titles since Ocarina of Time! This game takes the elements that we loved about Ocarina of Time and mixes it up into something completely different whil still retaining what we loved so much from the N64 masterpiece. This personally one of my favorite Zelda titles!

    This is one of the Gamecube's masterpieces! It is a must-have, and superior to the Wii version!
    Expand
  20. May 25, 2014
    10
    This is the best Zelda game I've played, Wind Waker and Ocarina of Time (Some of the best in the series according to others) just weren't as good compared to Twilight Princess in my opinion. The dungeons were creative and fun and the puzzles weren't to easy or extremely hard. The boss battles were also not to easy or too challenging. The NPCs had personality instead of feeling bland. ButThis is the best Zelda game I've played, Wind Waker and Ocarina of Time (Some of the best in the series according to others) just weren't as good compared to Twilight Princess in my opinion. The dungeons were creative and fun and the puzzles weren't to easy or extremely hard. The boss battles were also not to easy or too challenging. The NPCs had personality instead of feeling bland. But mostly the game had a great story line and focused the game around it. I've ranked this game #2 in my Top games list, it was just that good Expand
  21. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    This is an awesome game, it has some of the strongest dungeons and bosses in the series. Midna is a character you actually care about and the story is great. The game-play is probably the best there has been and the music is as fantastic as always. I recommend this game to anyone who a Game-cube or a Wii.
  22. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    Best Legend of Zelda Game! Twilight Princess is not only creative but fun and addicting. The story is great and is easy to dive into while the whole mechanics of the game flows perfectly!
  23. AnnaJ.
    Feb 5, 2007
    9
    Yes Twilight Princess was a good game but not perfect. I died twice in all and I felt that defeating Gannondorf was too easy I was disappointed that they didnt keep the fishing music from OOT the landscaping graphics were excellent but the people was not it managed to repair the TERRIBLE shell graphics from the Windwaker but I don't think it matched OOT.
  24. RichardH.
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing, but only for people with an attention span of more than 2 seconds.
  25. DerekG.
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Amazing. The first Zelda game with a decent plot in a long time. It is a tad easy, but I can forgive that. The graphics, other than some bad textures here and there are incredible.
  26. AndrewC.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    Does Twilight Princess have flaws? Well, yes. The graphics are artistically stunning, but there are some issues with the texturing in some areas. The sound is getting a bit old-sounding - there's no reason Nintendo couldn't have recorded a orchestral soundtrack. Plus, Zelda could certainly use some voice acting by now (sans Link, of course.) But at its heart, Twilight Princess Does Twilight Princess have flaws? Well, yes. The graphics are artistically stunning, but there are some issues with the texturing in some areas. The sound is getting a bit old-sounding - there's no reason Nintendo couldn't have recorded a orchestral soundtrack. Plus, Zelda could certainly use some voice acting by now (sans Link, of course.) But at its heart, Twilight Princess is an outstanding adventure worthy of every bit of hype it's received. The dungeons are genius, the new items and weapons amazing, and the story...well, it's simply breathtaking. All flaws aside, nothing out there stands up to Twilight Princess. Not Elder Scrolls IV, not Final Fantasy XII or Okami...Zelda is, as always, right on top. Nintendo has proven it once more. Collapse
  27. JosephV.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Twilight Princess never stops delivering. As soon as you finish, you'll want to go through it all over again.
  28. SamJ.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Don't be discouraged by the walls of text nit picking every single element of Twilight Princess and putting a negative spin on it. Twilight Princess gives you everything you want from a Zelda title, a moving storyline, inspiring characters, and most importantly, hours of enjoyment. The game mechanics and design are flawless. Not once will you be forced to redo tasks to the point they Don't be discouraged by the walls of text nit picking every single element of Twilight Princess and putting a negative spin on it. Twilight Princess gives you everything you want from a Zelda title, a moving storyline, inspiring characters, and most importantly, hours of enjoyment. The game mechanics and design are flawless. Not once will you be forced to redo tasks to the point they even remotely become tiring and although Hyrule is huge, transversing it is never a chore due to all the means of transportation at your disposal. If you are still skeptical after reading this, give a rent and you will likely realize you just wasted $7 since you will in all likelyhood find yourself buying it afterwards. Expand
  29. StephenP.
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Awesome! Best storyline in gaming history, angelicly easy controls, and polished off with neat graphics. Good job, Nintendo, good job.
  30. Matthew
    Mar 24, 2007
    10
    Pros: Better battling than Wind Waker. At least 3x larger world than OoT and less wasted space than WW. Dungeons are much more sophisticated and in depth. Tonics look much better. Love the clawshots. Wolf transformation was cool too. Cons: Miss the Ocarina, Kiroki, ice/fire/light arrows, bombchues, and maybe the Goron Sword/some two handed sword. All in all I'd rate it better than WW Pros: Better battling than Wind Waker. At least 3x larger world than OoT and less wasted space than WW. Dungeons are much more sophisticated and in depth. Tonics look much better. Love the clawshots. Wolf transformation was cool too. Cons: Miss the Ocarina, Kiroki, ice/fire/light arrows, bombchues, and maybe the Goron Sword/some two handed sword. All in all I'd rate it better than WW but slightly worse than OoT. It was a lot longer of a game and much more challenging. Definitely a recommendation to all true Zelda fans and newbies. Expand
  31. ApocalypseBrown
    Mar 25, 2007
    8
    Firstly I have never been a RPG fan, so naturally I found Zelda to be far too long and repetitive! But while I was still interested in the game I found it to be a jaw dropping, cinematic experience I will never forget. It is one of the top games I have played for years but the gameplay does get too similar, and by the fifth temple I was completely frustrated! So if long RPG's are Firstly I have never been a RPG fan, so naturally I found Zelda to be far too long and repetitive! But while I was still interested in the game I found it to be a jaw dropping, cinematic experience I will never forget. It is one of the top games I have played for years but the gameplay does get too similar, and by the fifth temple I was completely frustrated! So if long RPG's are your pleasure then this is for you, otherwise stick to an short but sweet venture. Expand
  32. AdamA.
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    This truly is the greatest Zelda of all time. The creators took the greatest elements of all the Zelda games, threw in some very creative twists, brilliantly integrated the graphics with the system, and made one of the most fulfilling games ever made.
  33. AdamF.
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    Twilight Princess is nothing short of the crown jewl of the legendary Zelda series. This game has taken all the things that made other Zeldas so amazing and blown them up about tenfold. The already large worlds from other titles becomes absolutely enormous in Twilight. Link gets two forms instead of one, the oversaturated art style is breathtaking, the items and weapons are cooler than Twilight Princess is nothing short of the crown jewl of the legendary Zelda series. This game has taken all the things that made other Zeldas so amazing and blown them up about tenfold. The already large worlds from other titles becomes absolutely enormous in Twilight. Link gets two forms instead of one, the oversaturated art style is breathtaking, the items and weapons are cooler than ever, the characters seem actually alive and finally have true personalties, the dungeons are brilliant, the boss battles are more consistently entertaining than ever, and the new twilight realm makes for a very deep, well written, even tragic storyline. ANYONE who says that Twilight is "just a shadow of Ocarina of Time" or has "dated graphics" simply cannot appreciate a masterpiece when they see one in their face. This game IS everything that makes the Zelda series so great. Expand
  34. RobertV.S.
    Jul 12, 2007
    8
    This game is very fun to play , something I don't like about this game is the fact that is too easy and way too short. I would have liked something more challenging and longer.
  35. JohnB
    Jul 14, 2009
    10
    Don't listen to haters. This game beats Okami AND SotC easily, as you can see from the metascore, too.
  36. ErikM.
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    I disagree with Matt and Jeff. It is an amazing game, with quite a few twists and turns, and awesome new weapons that make the game move. I love how the hookshot was redone into the clawshot. There are tons of side quests, yes most include the bugs, hearts, and Poe's, but its different for almost every one you aquire. The essence of Zelda stays until the end. The characters are I disagree with Matt and Jeff. It is an amazing game, with quite a few twists and turns, and awesome new weapons that make the game move. I love how the hookshot was redone into the clawshot. There are tons of side quests, yes most include the bugs, hearts, and Poe's, but its different for almost every one you aquire. The essence of Zelda stays until the end. The characters are awesome, and the voice acting (sounds the characters make) and animations are very entertaining. You can finally use your sword, bow, and even clawshot on horseback, and fighting as a wolf is also very cool. The final battle is fantastic as well. Expand
  37. RandyM.
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    Prepare to be stunned by the sheer brilliance that Nintendo has pulled off. Twilight Princess is easily the best Zelda game, and one of the greatest games ever made. Period.
  38. FrankC.
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    Return of great memories (from N64), however need somewhat of a different premise (storyline) and evolution. Hard to beat N64 Ocarina. Hopefully we'll get a surprise in the next upcoming version. Enjoying this one for now.
  39. ZackeryA.
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    This is the most greatest game that I have ever played! It has good graphics and story!
  40. Niall
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    Well i think that any zelda, or nintendo game for that fact, deserve 8+ (well if they include the likes of mario, link, etc.) and thats why i give this an 9 and if i could it would be 9.5. Now if it was a brand new game, as in not a sequal i'd give it a 10 but it is sort of like the OoT,which i loved, but i wanted something different but still amazing. But the big plus for zelda Well i think that any zelda, or nintendo game for that fact, deserve 8+ (well if they include the likes of mario, link, etc.) and thats why i give this an 9 and if i could it would be 9.5. Now if it was a brand new game, as in not a sequal i'd give it a 10 but it is sort of like the OoT,which i loved, but i wanted something different but still amazing. But the big plus for zelda games are the puzzles and, wel, the amount of puzzles were great and the puzzles themselves were great as was the whole game. Expand
  41. ShelbyG.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    One of hte best LoZ games made to date, some of the items were reused from other games, but they did throw in a handfull of new stuff. Also the sword fighting from the back of Epona added another unique element to this great game.
  42. MarkB
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    Absolutely spectacular! The best game ever on the mighty little 'cube, and one of my all time fave video games in 30 years of playing 'em. Took me 83 hours playing over 14 months, and I enjoyed every minute of it - well, apart from the occassional obligatory ultra-hard boss fights. The best story and characterisations yet in a Zelda game, and lots to see and do and collect and Absolutely spectacular! The best game ever on the mighty little 'cube, and one of my all time fave video games in 30 years of playing 'em. Took me 83 hours playing over 14 months, and I enjoyed every minute of it - well, apart from the occassional obligatory ultra-hard boss fights. The best story and characterisations yet in a Zelda game, and lots to see and do and collect and smash. Probably a bit easier than previous Zelda games, but that meant I didn't end up throwing my pad across the room in rage, or scratching my balding head in confusion as to what the hell I was supposed to be doing next. Games are meant to be challenging I know, but fun is more important! The sound and graphics are gorgeous with often mind-bending effects and enormous landscapes, plus highly effective depth-of-field, antialiasing and multitexturing the like I've not seen in a 'cube game before. It's amazing what they manage to squeeze into one mini-DVD disk and out of the console's modest little hardware package, but then the 'cube was always underrated IMHO. As soon as I'd finished the game (shedding a tear at the cutscenes during the credits of course) I wanted to play it all over again... but I might just invest in a Wii so I can appreciate it all the more in glorious widescreen, and have fun fishing with the Wiimote. Expand
  43. MelidaP.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    I don't understand why this game is getting so many bad reviews. ): True, it's repetitive and much like the other Zelda games, but the features that are the same as the others makes it a game for the Zelda series...uh hence the name? I loved this game, the plot was better than usual, Link actually gave facial expressions, and the game is a little darker and more mature than some I don't understand why this game is getting so many bad reviews. ): True, it's repetitive and much like the other Zelda games, but the features that are the same as the others makes it a game for the Zelda series...uh hence the name? I loved this game, the plot was better than usual, Link actually gave facial expressions, and the game is a little darker and more mature than some of the previous titles. True, the princess doesn't have a huge role where Link's entire goal is to save her, but that should be an aspect that more people should enjoy. I'm sort of tired of the helpless princess persona myself. All in all it's a great game and definitley lives up to it's predecessors. Expand
  44. PeeD
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    This is a spectacular game built on a fantastic story and glorious graphics and visuals that seem to leap from their 2-D origins and excite the senses (both gamer and human). The story itself is a dark and morphed twist on the original Zelda story that many long-time lovers will welcome with open arms. And for those who have not yet experienced the wonder of the Zelda series, it is a fun This is a spectacular game built on a fantastic story and glorious graphics and visuals that seem to leap from their 2-D origins and excite the senses (both gamer and human). The story itself is a dark and morphed twist on the original Zelda story that many long-time lovers will welcome with open arms. And for those who have not yet experienced the wonder of the Zelda series, it is a fun and simple game that does not require too much previous skill. Cheers! Expand
  45. AlbertoM.
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Thank you very much, Shigeru Miyamoto San... Twilight Princess teaches us that video games still evolve and inspire generations... Tijuana, Baja California.
  46. DannyL.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    Jeff F. really doesn't appreciate what great game this is. How can you expect so many things? How can everything go right in your way? Why don't you expect that Spiderman is in this game? You're expecting way too much and you aren't giving Nintendo the credit they deserve. They've been planning and making this game for more than 4 years. You should show respect. Jeff F. really doesn't appreciate what great game this is. How can you expect so many things? How can everything go right in your way? Why don't you expect that Spiderman is in this game? You're expecting way too much and you aren't giving Nintendo the credit they deserve. They've been planning and making this game for more than 4 years. You should show respect. This game was great. I cannot believe that a Gamecube just pulled this off. No doubt it Zelda did it's best and used the Gamecube's full potential. I loved this game. Expand
  47. Tony
    Dec 25, 2006
    10
    Best Zelda game period it totally recreates Hyrule and it's the most epic Zelda yet.
  48. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Twilight Princess is a hallmark in game design, Hyrule is huge, and the people appear to carry out everyday activities, and it looks stunning. She controls are spot on, as they flow nicely with great precision, and the story is decisively darker, and the game benefits greatly from it. Twilight Princess is the best game since Ocarina of Time.
  49. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    Better than the Wii version, which the wiimote didn't work as well as I'd hoped for. This is a darker grittier zelda game and absorbs you in its fantasy.
  50. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, the best zelda game, and for that matter, the best game ever created. I have played every game in the series but Twilight Princess beats them all by FAR. It had the best story and there was much more focus on it than in other games. The characters were amazing aswell, most especially Midna. Finally a helper that's got not only a good personality but a real backstory andIn my opinion, the best zelda game, and for that matter, the best game ever created. I have played every game in the series but Twilight Princess beats them all by FAR. It had the best story and there was much more focus on it than in other games. The characters were amazing aswell, most especially Midna. Finally a helper that's got not only a good personality but a real backstory and character development. The cutscenes and the music are both absolutley terrific. Several times i found myself having goosebumps due to the sheer brilliance of certain cutscenes. This is the only game that has got to me so intently. Not even other Zelda games can match up to it. The wolf sections and the concept of Twilight are two things that i especially enjoyed alot. On top of all this, it's also got the best graphics and enemy/character design of any game in the series. The main reason for why none of the other Zelda games can match up to TP in my opinion is the lack of story focus. In OoT for example you get a handful of words and then you set out to several temples. Wind Waker had the same problem, cutscenes were too few. The only Zelda game that can somewhat compare to TP would be Majora's Mask. Expand
  51. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    This is probably one of my favorites if not my favorite game of all time, this is the game that convinced me that Nintendo was still alive and kicking. Great Story, Great Combat, Great Characters, Memorable dungeons, Lengthy, lots of exploring to do in dungeons, a truly great game.
  52. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    Great game, great story. Kind of what I expect in a Zelda game. Though, it's no match to Ocarina of Time or The Wind Waker. One of the games that you can't miss. What was special about this game though were the natural controls. It feels very natural - also an element that most Zelda games have, though this Wii-experience particularly stood out.
  53. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    After years of taking mediocre zelda games like Wind Waker we finally get to see a Zelda game the way it was meant to be seen. The game is just as epic as Ocarina of Time, including great dungeons, puzzles, atmosphere, and an incredible story. The game is also very long, possibly the longest Zelda game of all. The music is incredible and match with it's beautiful environment. If youAfter years of taking mediocre zelda games like Wind Waker we finally get to see a Zelda game the way it was meant to be seen. The game is just as epic as Ocarina of Time, including great dungeons, puzzles, atmosphere, and an incredible story. The game is also very long, possibly the longest Zelda game of all. The music is incredible and match with it's beautiful environment. If you are a fan looking for a game that meets the expectations of Ocarina of Time, then this is a must own game. Expand
  54. Sep 3, 2015
    10
    Hands down, the best game I have ever played. Engaging, exciting and beautiful. This game develops a strong emotional bond with the player. The roleplaying is top notch perfect, you will see yourself as Link and you will be proud of what you achieve in game and how you protect your friends and fight your foes. This is the only game to make me cry when it ended. I've never enjoyed a gameHands down, the best game I have ever played. Engaging, exciting and beautiful. This game develops a strong emotional bond with the player. The roleplaying is top notch perfect, you will see yourself as Link and you will be proud of what you achieve in game and how you protect your friends and fight your foes. This is the only game to make me cry when it ended. I've never enjoyed a game anywhere near as much as I enjoyed this, and I've always felt this way about it, ever since I played it in December 2006. Expand
  55. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Great game with good pacing, beautiful landscapes, well made story, exciting and interactive open world, and a good balance in dungeon/side quest difficulty!
  56. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    I love this game of the series. I enjoyed it so much that I even played it over and over again. I know there are some that hate this game because of how dark it was. I understand, but its good to explore new things, and those new things made this great game. A Link To The Past was dark, and was an all time favorite as well. Same as Majoras Mask was dark as well. I say this game is justI love this game of the series. I enjoyed it so much that I even played it over and over again. I know there are some that hate this game because of how dark it was. I understand, but its good to explore new things, and those new things made this great game. A Link To The Past was dark, and was an all time favorite as well. Same as Majoras Mask was dark as well. I say this game is just amazing. I love the combat, bosses, enemies, SCENERY, and most of all the story. Sorry about this but, WHY MIDNA WHY. Anyways the story was so great in my opinion. I loved the bosses, they were too easy(HATED THAT PART), but they were si freaking fun to fight. I made copies of profiles so that when I wanted to, I could fight them again. They game never seems to bore me. I hope to see more successful Zelda games like this in the future. Great job Nintendo. Expand
  57. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The legend of zelda twilight princess it is one of the best zelda game ever made you control link as usual and you know that you are the chosen one of the master sword the blade that gets sh't done then after you are attacked by some monsters you know midna a twili and from then it is very predictable, this game kicks ass, the new mechanics are the horseback combat, a dark tone pitch black graphics, a incredible story that is very dark, it is a T game so that makes it even cooler, difficult puzzles as usual, more items, side activities you can be a wolf, this game has everything thrown in it, just buy it you won't regret it. Expand
  58. Aug 14, 2014
    10
    After Ocarina of Time my second favorite Zelda game. I really like the improved combat system and the dark design of this Zelda. A mixture of Ocarina of Time and Twilight Princess would make the perfect Zelda game.
  59. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    Twilight Princess offers the quintessential Zelda experience. It has adventure. It has secrets. A large world worth exploring with characters that breath life into the world. Control wise, Twilight Princess handles well as any other Zelda game. It is the same z-targeting and timing passed gameplay since Ocarina of Time though it improves on it by adding an additional input method,Twilight Princess offers the quintessential Zelda experience. It has adventure. It has secrets. A large world worth exploring with characters that breath life into the world. Control wise, Twilight Princess handles well as any other Zelda game. It is the same z-targeting and timing passed gameplay since Ocarina of Time though it improves on it by adding an additional input method, finishing moves. In a similar way that the counter move in Wind Waker adds to combat in it, the finishing moves add style and satisfaction with every battle. The finishing moves also a form of progression of Link's power as each finishing move is more and more powerful than the last. It's a wonderful method to make combat get more impressive.

    In Twilight Princess exploration offers plenty of extra hours to the experience and the feeling of discovering that last collectable or that last heart piece is a wonderful moment. However, it is unfortunate that in a similar way to Wind Waker, Twilight Princess has very little content density in large portions of the map. So much of certain areas feel empty and meaningless beyond an intersection between two content dense areas, which tend to be temples. It makes the world feel fragmented and less whole. Another problem lies in some of the items, certain items are useless outside their temple and unfortunately in this game it seems to be more apparent then usual.

    Regardless with a standard Zelda story, new and old loveable characters, Twilight Princess offer a grand experience into the land of Hyrule.
    Expand
  60. Sep 28, 2014
    10
    My favorite Zelda game. It has best graphic, story, and everything in the Zelda series. Well people may have different opinion but for me It's one of the last gem in the Gamecube era.
  61. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    this game is awesome and never get old. the graphics are good and the bosses are a challenge. one of the best games ever. and turning into a wolf is genies and it is fun to scare people XD pretty cool game
  62. Nov 27, 2014
    10
    For this game I rated 10 because I felt that this Zelda title had the perfect amount difficulty. It was not too hard, not too difficult which was amazing. Furthermore the game-play is perfect and the boss battles were undoubtedly the best in Zelda history, so overall it was a fun experience every time I beat. Definitely a must try for all gamers into action-adventures.
  63. Dec 10, 2014
    10
    When I first picked this game up and played it, it blew me away completely. The graphics and scenery of the game is breathtaking and the story will keep you on the edge of your seat the entire ride. One thing different from most Legend of Zelda games at the time is that you grow attracted to character much more and learn a lot of Link's personal life, which makes him so heroic and braveWhen I first picked this game up and played it, it blew me away completely. The graphics and scenery of the game is breathtaking and the story will keep you on the edge of your seat the entire ride. One thing different from most Legend of Zelda games at the time is that you grow attracted to character much more and learn a lot of Link's personal life, which makes him so heroic and brave throughout the game. It's worth every penny you spend on it and is an instant classic within the Zelda universe. Expand
  64. Jan 11, 2015
    10
    This game is one of the few games out there deserving to be called a masterpiece. It's dark and moody art style fits perfectly with the dark theme of the game and it's beautiful music fits perfectly. The enemies are creative and fantastic and the dungeons and their bosses are truly epic and well designed. All the gear you obtain will be used regularly as well unlike the other zelda gamesThis game is one of the few games out there deserving to be called a masterpiece. It's dark and moody art style fits perfectly with the dark theme of the game and it's beautiful music fits perfectly. The enemies are creative and fantastic and the dungeons and their bosses are truly epic and well designed. All the gear you obtain will be used regularly as well unlike the other zelda games where half of the items you get can only be of any use in one or two areas.

    Combat is fluid and easy to pick up and is fun and the boss battles actually require a little thought. overall this game is simply amazing and is honestly one of the last things that nintendo actually did right. You would have to be a tasteless reject to not love this game.
    Expand
  65. Feb 3, 2015
    9
    Twilight Princess and RE4 are the only reason I've ever touched a GC.
    And it worth it, this game is just beautiful in every aspect.
    It's not only its graphics, story and music but the puzzles and difficulty this game has. You will enjoy it from beginning to the very end. The only reason this is not a 10, it's because this game is not the best of the Zelda franchise. That place belongs
    Twilight Princess and RE4 are the only reason I've ever touched a GC.
    And it worth it, this game is just beautiful in every aspect.
    It's not only its graphics, story and music but the puzzles and difficulty this game has.
    You will enjoy it from beginning to the very end.
    The only reason this is not a 10, it's because this game is not the best of the Zelda franchise.
    That place belongs to Zelda: Ocarina of time.
    Expand
  66. Aug 5, 2015
    10
    It has some flaws that are Zelda-typical mostly, like the overworld in between settlements being a little too empty for its size or that it's too easy - although you can counter the latter by not collecting heart containers from bosses (you can collect them later, they're staying in the boss room forever) or the "3 heart challenge".

    Other than that it's a great Zelda title. The story
    It has some flaws that are Zelda-typical mostly, like the overworld in between settlements being a little too empty for its size or that it's too easy - although you can counter the latter by not collecting heart containers from bosses (you can collect them later, they're staying in the boss room forever) or the "3 heart challenge".

    Other than that it's a great Zelda title. The story and storytelling is just as the soundtrack epic, the art style is one of the most enjoyable in this series and the characters are really likeable, too. Especially Midna and her uncommon personality. The dungeons are of high quality and one of them (desert one) is one of my favourites all time. Without making a spoiler, the highlights are the item you get there and the boss fight.

    I wish that there'll be a remake one day correcting the existing flaws like being way too easy and adding more life to the vast overworld. Also improving the graphic to HD. It would truly make this game one of the best Zelda experiences ever.
    Expand
  67. May 30, 2015
    10
    This version is so much better than the Wii version just for the fact you're able to use an actual GameCube controller. I'm a big time fan of the Zelda series and this game is one of the best Zelda games aside from OOT, Majoras Mask, Wind Waker, and Skyward sword. I liked how the hyrule field was 20x bigger than the original zelda games. The actual gameplay itself is a masterpiece. ItThis version is so much better than the Wii version just for the fact you're able to use an actual GameCube controller. I'm a big time fan of the Zelda series and this game is one of the best Zelda games aside from OOT, Majoras Mask, Wind Waker, and Skyward sword. I liked how the hyrule field was 20x bigger than the original zelda games. The actual gameplay itself is a masterpiece. It starts off with a slow pace in the beginning but once you pull the Master Sword out, uncover the plot and what's going on in Hyrule that you'll actually love the game for what it's worth. It has one badass ending and Gannondorf is finally back with one of the best endings for a Zelda game. I've personally liked the showdown with Gannondorf/Gannon aside from the N64 classic. I like this version better because the Wii motion controls for the game just feels very gimmicky. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. It's still the most cinematic, engrossing Zelda we've ever played, and as such, deserves nothing but the absolute highest recommendation. Flaws are present, sure, but we'll burn our entire library of games before we say Twilight Princess is anything but incredible.
  2. 90
    But the moment the opening symphony plays until the concluding credits, all fear and doubt quickly vanishes like the cool whispering of an autumn's breeze. Though not flawless, Nintendo have once again demonstrated masterful craftsmanship, challenging design and imaginative artistry.
  3. This game is more or less the latest version of a realm that has been long established and already seen. Yes, the story is darker, longer, and more character driven than anything before it. Yes, the dungeons and sidequests are remarkably well crafted. That doesn't mean that both seasoned Zelda fans and newcomers alike will enjoy the lacking difficulty and the other small problems that plague the game.