User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 463 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 463

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 18, 2011
    0
    "For Zelda is only 1 game with a 'Million' Dresses," - Ben Yahtzee Crosshaw

    I ahve to agree, sometimes there's a water mechanic, a 3d machanic, a sidescrollin' mechanic, a transformation mechanic, a music machanic, a 1st person mechanic, ECT ECT, But by this point we've seen all the dressed and now they're just old ugly peices of fabric that no-one wants to look at it anymore, and when I
    "For Zelda is only 1 game with a 'Million' Dresses," - Ben Yahtzee Crosshaw

    I ahve to agree, sometimes there's a water mechanic, a 3d machanic, a sidescrollin' mechanic, a transformation mechanic, a music machanic, a 1st person mechanic, ECT ECT, But by this point we've seen all the dressed and now they're just old ugly peices of fabric that no-one wants to look at it anymore, and when I was going to recap this game so I could review, I beat it within 7 hours and didn't bother caring about anything, so I can't give a Game I didn't give a **** about a score, can I?
    Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    3
    The concept is there, the world is there. but the feeling isn't... I mean good story and grapichs? Go buy a movie guys... The sound is amazing as always and it's a big world but nothing to discover. It could just have been a savanah or a desert. wouldn't make any difference. Earlier Zelda games you could discover so much more and get rewarded for it. I don't feel like I'm getting rewardedThe concept is there, the world is there. but the feeling isn't... I mean good story and grapichs? Go buy a movie guys... The sound is amazing as always and it's a big world but nothing to discover. It could just have been a savanah or a desert. wouldn't make any difference. Earlier Zelda games you could discover so much more and get rewarded for it. I don't feel like I'm getting rewarded at all. And the mini games aren't so amusing either.... Just a shame to it's name. To easy, to boring. Nothing to do. The story is great and the idé of darkness it's all there yet so empty. Expand
  3. RobertK.
    Aug 1, 2007
    4
    The game feels like an Ocarina of Time remake with only a quarter of the charm. The good things about this game are the same things that made OoT so compelling - good dungeons, a fun story, interesting items and a decent story. However, the game falls down on two main fronts that make it an absolute bore to play. The items are the same as OoT. It is no longer exciting to use the The game feels like an Ocarina of Time remake with only a quarter of the charm. The good things about this game are the same things that made OoT so compelling - good dungeons, a fun story, interesting items and a decent story. However, the game falls down on two main fronts that make it an absolute bore to play. The items are the same as OoT. It is no longer exciting to use the boomerang. We did it in OoT and WW. Let it retire. The puzzles in the dungeons are the same. Lighting spider webs with fire is now second nature, not problem solving. And finally, the story is the same, even down to smaller details like Zora's Domain freezing over. Even the locations are the bloody same. It is a rehash, but without the fun of time travel or the ocarina. The fun is gone - even playing OoT now is still as fun an experience as ever and all the games since just seem to be lacking the spark that made it so good. To truly enjoy a new Zelda game it needs to be distinct from OoT, like WW, but TP just feels so similar, but so much less. Also, the game environments are unnecessarily big. Traveling around involves traversing miles of boring countryside. This is annoying at best, but if you are engaged in one of the games many collect-a-thon's it is excruiating (especially when doing the third tears of light misson). I feel like Nintendo's boasting about the game taking 70 hours to complete is accurate, but I'd wager at least 30 of those hours are spent getting from point A to B rather than actually doing anything captivating. My final complaint about the game is that the pacing is off - despite starting with Epona, it takes far too long to get items and acquire skills. As a result of the pacing, TP takes hours (literally) to get anywhere significant in the game - for the most part you will feel handicapped by the lack of things at your disposal. Oh, and playing as a wolf is totally boring. Having no items severely limited the amount of puzzles Nintendo could think of and as a result it got old after about 20 minutes. All in all, I can't understand why it took Nintendo 4 years to make the same game over. It was probably programming the overly filtered graphics. PS, Link runs like his back is braced by a steel rod. Motion captured my butt. Expand
  4. JefF.
    Dec 10, 2006
    1
    [***SPOILERS***] It is a good game, and a horrible Zelda game. Half of all the other Zelda games involves talking to people and helping them. In this game there are very few people and the only time you need to help them is to keep the main plot going. Very few distractions (heart pieces, fishing, bugs, poes, thats it) and the distractions are tedious. It was easy and fast to finish and [***SPOILERS***] It is a good game, and a horrible Zelda game. Half of all the other Zelda games involves talking to people and helping them. In this game there are very few people and the only time you need to help them is to keep the main plot going. Very few distractions (heart pieces, fishing, bugs, poes, thats it) and the distractions are tedious. It was easy and fast to finish and my biggest dissapointment was that I was hoping for fierce diety to be in here somewhere. Its the twilight and the darkness, why couldn't they have put in a quasi evil link - it would have been perfect! I was even hoping that zant would bE some kind of incarnation of oni link, but no, hes just a wierd guy that has gannon's power. and why did Gannondorf die at the end. He can't die if he is in the wind waker. The ending didn't make sense. The plotline was banal. Very few twists that were exciting. Very few new opportunities in this game (though fighting that guy on the bridge on top of epona was cool) overall, step up your game Nintendo! Your getting lazy! Expand
  5. BenL.
    Mar 12, 2007
    0
    I have played this game before haven't I? You wait years for them to come up with a new Zelda game and they use the same story as they have used before! Surely they can come up with some new ideas? Waste of Money.
  6. DanW.
    Jan 6, 2008
    4
    Zelda needs to mature. Repitition, uninspired design and twisted storyline that reminds me off a bad disney movie make this game fall flat on its face. The wolf segments were a shameless Okami ripoff without the joy or creativity and the gamein general just felt like if OoT had lost its lustre. A pathetic attempt. To be honest, I've lost faith in Miyamoto, Shadow of the Colossus has Zelda needs to mature. Repitition, uninspired design and twisted storyline that reminds me off a bad disney movie make this game fall flat on its face. The wolf segments were a shameless Okami ripoff without the joy or creativity and the gamein general just felt like if OoT had lost its lustre. A pathetic attempt. To be honest, I've lost faith in Miyamoto, Shadow of the Colossus has made me remember that fantasy games can be good, and don't have to have an overblown ego. You know you've seen everything when Sony starts making better fantasy games than Nintendo. Expand
  7. HenkB.
    Jun 17, 2007
    2
    why is it that people like this game so much. i've played trough it and in one word: repetive it's just the same lame thing after the other and when i ask friends why they like it so much they say: 'it's zelda man! Zelda!' Ok, sorry Zelda but i don't like your game, wan't a cookie now?
  8. JackH
    Jun 17, 2008
    4
    I absolutely agree with Dan W.'s review of this game. It was exactly what i was screaming (not literally) whenever i first became the wolf in LoZ: TP...an uninspired Okami rip-off in this regard...too little too late. Had this game come out before Okami it would have been more revolutionary. Also just watching the intro to the game (where link rides on his horse across a regularly I absolutely agree with Dan W.'s review of this game. It was exactly what i was screaming (not literally) whenever i first became the wolf in LoZ: TP...an uninspired Okami rip-off in this regard...too little too late. Had this game come out before Okami it would have been more revolutionary. Also just watching the intro to the game (where link rides on his horse across a regularly sized bridge) i couldn't help but laugh in disappointment. Shadow of the Colussus....which did a far better job of creating a since of adventure, peril, and horsebacking through a lush landscape. Again i reitterate...too little too late. This was not true zelda fans from back in the regular nintendo era & beyond deserve. I didn't even bother finishing this game because it was such a disappointment. In today's world flooded with games, you have the right to be choosey and not settle for less. Play Okami and SotC instead. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. It's still the most cinematic, engrossing Zelda we've ever played, and as such, deserves nothing but the absolute highest recommendation. Flaws are present, sure, but we'll burn our entire library of games before we say Twilight Princess is anything but incredible.
  2. 90
    But the moment the opening symphony plays until the concluding credits, all fear and doubt quickly vanishes like the cool whispering of an autumn's breeze. Though not flawless, Nintendo have once again demonstrated masterful craftsmanship, challenging design and imaginative artistry.
  3. This game is more or less the latest version of a realm that has been long established and already seen. Yes, the story is darker, longer, and more character driven than anything before it. Yes, the dungeons and sidequests are remarkably well crafted. That doesn't mean that both seasoned Zelda fans and newcomers alike will enjoy the lacking difficulty and the other small problems that plague the game.