User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 463 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 463

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JesseR
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    As soon as I first popped Twilight Princess into my Gamecube I fell in love with it. The Hyrule of this game is arguably my favorite out of all of the games, as its huge expanses and beautiful visuals make it truly epic. While the story is somewhat odd at first and the side quest system is a little lacking, the locales, gameplay, and amazing visuals really complete the game and turn it As soon as I first popped Twilight Princess into my Gamecube I fell in love with it. The Hyrule of this game is arguably my favorite out of all of the games, as its huge expanses and beautiful visuals make it truly epic. While the story is somewhat odd at first and the side quest system is a little lacking, the locales, gameplay, and amazing visuals really complete the game and turn it into an excellent title. While it is good on the Wii, the game just seems made for the Gamecube. The mirrored world and odd controls of the Wii version, as well as the subtle but annoying (annoying to a true Zelda fan, that is) fact that Link is right handed in that incarnation, make the Gamecube the best system to play this amazing game on. Expand
  2. ShawnA.
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Excellent game with great graphics and control, the different skills you learn are great and help imensely at some points of the game, for example, the "Mortal Draw" is great for removing the Darknuts' armour while the "Back Slice" is good for when the armour is off. If you are just starting with this series, you will probably enjoy yourself very much. If you are a Legend of Zelda Excellent game with great graphics and control, the different skills you learn are great and help imensely at some points of the game, for example, the "Mortal Draw" is great for removing the Darknuts' armour while the "Back Slice" is good for when the armour is off. If you are just starting with this series, you will probably enjoy yourself very much. If you are a Legend of Zelda veteran, you will instantly see the resemblances to Ocarina of Time, But thse ill be more in the story than the graphics. Those are much better than any other 3D Zelda game out there. The action gets greater and greater to an eventual climax...and then the credits begin. This is a game that will surely go far and Zelda fans are sure love it. Expand
  3. AlexV.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    This game is really incredible. The graphics for the gamecube version really surprised me and the storyline was fantastic!
  4. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    A beautiful outro to an unforgettable video game console. Pros: Excels beyond Ocarina of Time with its stunning graphics, control, camera, and audio; varied gameplay. Cons: The Wii's excellent fishing controls is missed.
  5. AB
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    There is not a single word to describe the latest Zelda. The game is simply a masterpiece. It truly transcends each game in the entire series and stands as the greatest video game of all time. The puzzles are perfect, the graphics are gorgeous, and the story is fascinating. Unlike other Zelda games, Twilight Princess is not a simple collection of dungeons amidst a few traveling missions. There is not a single word to describe the latest Zelda. The game is simply a masterpiece. It truly transcends each game in the entire series and stands as the greatest video game of all time. The puzzles are perfect, the graphics are gorgeous, and the story is fascinating. Unlike other Zelda games, Twilight Princess is not a simple collection of dungeons amidst a few traveling missions. There is an excellent progressive story that leads the player through a breathtaking experience in a spectacular fashion. Each moment of the game is exhilarating; the characters are amazing, and they develop an emotionally effective plot. The Zelda series is arguably the best in gaming, and Twilight Princess makes it even better. Expand
  6. MarkusE.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    Attn: Robert K. did you only get halfway through the game or something? Beat the whole thing before you vote. Beginning with dungeon #4, you get fresh, new items that were never before seen in OoT and TWW. The dungeons have completely new puzzles.
  7. ZacR.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    [**SPOILERS**] I really loved this game. I've never been a HUGE Zelda fan but I did enjoy ocarina of time and wind waker alot. This game definately throws even some of the oldest Zelda fans in a loop. The puzzles are harder and The bosses are more bloodthristy than ever. It was interesting to see what happened after Wind Waker (if you notice you get the tunic of the hero chosen by [**SPOILERS**] I really loved this game. I've never been a HUGE Zelda fan but I did enjoy ocarina of time and wind waker alot. This game definately throws even some of the oldest Zelda fans in a loop. The puzzles are harder and The bosses are more bloodthristy than ever. It was interesting to see what happened after Wind Waker (if you notice you get the tunic of the hero chosen by the gods. The Wind Waker link was chosen by the gods. The Ocarina link was chosen by fate.) I was sad to see there weren't any deku trees but I guess they all died out after wind waker. I guess drinking all that water can do that to you though. I was really excited at the end when Gannon actually DIED. Before we have only seen him turn to stone or vanish. (He turns to stone in Wind Waker. In Ocarina of Time you never see a body. I suppose he runs off and trys to get his strength back. Which after happening he trys to take over hyrule only for it to be flooded and then him imprisoned untill later) It was really amazing to see that when the water leveled out that they actually tried to have him executed. The entire game was simply amazing. I can't stop trembling with excitement for the next installment and an even deadlier foe! Expand
  8. KevinB.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Twilight Princess easily nailed the game of the year. Thats not really the question. The question I really had to ask myself was whether it was the greatest game of all time or not. After alot of soul searching I concluded that Yes, it is by far the greatest game of all time.
  9. NickC.
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    Great graphics, great gameplay, good replay value, and just plain awesome from start to finish. If you like Zelda, you have to play this game. If you DON'T like Zelda, you should still play this game.
  10. MelodyC.
    Jan 30, 2008
    9
    A very fun game to play. The plot is really good and it connects with one another. It's a long adventure game and totally fun!
  11. UweP.
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    What a massive game this is! Took me just shy of 60 hours to complete, and that's excluding a lot of the optional stuff you can collect and secret areas to explore. Like previous Zeldas, though, it's the dungeons which are the main focus of the game, but this time there've been paid much more attention to unexpected, thrilling events occuring in the exquisitely designed What a massive game this is! Took me just shy of 60 hours to complete, and that's excluding a lot of the optional stuff you can collect and secret areas to explore. Like previous Zeldas, though, it's the dungeons which are the main focus of the game, but this time there've been paid much more attention to unexpected, thrilling events occuring in the exquisitely designed world of Hyrule before you gain access to the next dungeon. Only during the opening 10-15 hours of the game does it feel slightly padded out with a couple of collecting tasks, but then the game really ramps up the pace and doesn't stop until the jaw-droppingly spectacular finale. Expand
  12. BrianS.
    Dec 31, 2006
    8
    I agree with Jeff and Matt, this game has some brilliant scenes and controls are up to par with any game. However, most of this game just leaves you feeling pretty empty after defeating extremely easy bosses and solving the slightly difficult puzzles. The storyline just doesn't fit with ocrina or wind waker, but trys to hint at it with several scenes. Overall a solid game to run I agree with Jeff and Matt, this game has some brilliant scenes and controls are up to par with any game. However, most of this game just leaves you feeling pretty empty after defeating extremely easy bosses and solving the slightly difficult puzzles. The storyline just doesn't fit with ocrina or wind waker, but trys to hint at it with several scenes. Overall a solid game to run through, but just not really ground breaking on any level. Expand
  13. Megan
    Jan 12, 2007
    8
    I think almost everyone here is overating the game. It was good yes but there were quite a few problems with the game. 1st. Grahpics- I had no problem with most of the graphics, they were very detailed and amazing. 2nd-Gameplay- I was glad they finally made Link leanr moves, that was a very good improvement to this game. Some of the controls were a bit irritating and every boss in the I think almost everyone here is overating the game. It was good yes but there were quite a few problems with the game. 1st. Grahpics- I had no problem with most of the graphics, they were very detailed and amazing. 2nd-Gameplay- I was glad they finally made Link leanr moves, that was a very good improvement to this game. Some of the controls were a bit irritating and every boss in the game was immensly easy. but other then that I didnt have to much of a problem. 3rd- music This was a big dissapiontment in certain ways. some of the music I was so happy to hear because it was from OOT. It gave me old memories, but then the rest was just annoyingat times. They could have had time to make it orchestrated. 4th-Storyline- Now The storyline was the big part that cause me to have a problem with the game. mostly the ending. Of course the last boss is easy, your expecting this great ending and it starts off alright and then you see something and link runs to it and its all a nice suprise, and then the credits come. half of them are so pointless and annoying I was telling the game to hurry to the good stuff. Then It shows a cutscene and its pretty good. and then its goes bakc to credits and you see *spoiler* Ilia waiting for him, and link riding Epona back to his home town. you never find out what happens to Link or Zelda ever again as in each Zelda. There could have been so much more and this is why I gave this an a 8. Expand
  14. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    For me Twilight Princess fells like a not as good as expected, clone of OoT. Everything reminds me of OoT expect that it is not made as good as in OoT. Its comes out of the short end.
  15. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    i picked this game up the day i got my wii and man i enjoyed the hell out of it. i spent some days staying up till 4 in the morning playing it its that fun.
  16. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    I loved Twilight Princess, it had some dark themes just as Majoras Mask did which i would like to see more of. The boss fights were fantastic in this one, they had a very epic feeling to them and the dungeons were modestly challenging too
  17. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    The amount of hate over the years for this game is incredible. I can't understand why so many people didn't like it. Although, I do admit the Wolf sections were pretty lame... but unique. The rest of the game shines, easily making it into my top 5 Zelda games of all time. The longest game in the series, and the darkest, Twilight Princess is a must-play for any Zelda fan or anyone who wantsThe amount of hate over the years for this game is incredible. I can't understand why so many people didn't like it. Although, I do admit the Wolf sections were pretty lame... but unique. The rest of the game shines, easily making it into my top 5 Zelda games of all time. The longest game in the series, and the darkest, Twilight Princess is a must-play for any Zelda fan or anyone who wants to get into the series. (The GC version is apparently regarded as superior to the Wii version by many... Sure, superior... because of the controls... Anything else? No? Ok then...) Expand
  18. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    I have no idea why people say its bad for Zelda game! It had outstanding graphics for a gamecube game. The fighting style in this game is so much better than any other game and made me feel so bad ass. It's definitely a great new adventure and has cool new weapons and armor you wouldnt expect. The wolf parts couldve been alittle more fun but it was still an interesting addition the game,I have no idea why people say its bad for Zelda game! It had outstanding graphics for a gamecube game. The fighting style in this game is so much better than any other game and made me feel so bad ass. It's definitely a great new adventure and has cool new weapons and armor you wouldnt expect. The wolf parts couldve been alittle more fun but it was still an interesting addition the game, especially when you got to choose to be the wolf whenever you want. I'd say this is the most amazing zelda game out there, next to Oot. Expand
  19. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Wow! Just wow!

    If you're looking for a great Zelda experience, this is it! Never have I played a more amazing Zelda titles since Ocarina of Time! This game takes the elements that we loved about Ocarina of Time and mixes it up into something completely different whil still retaining what we loved so much from the N64 masterpiece. This personally one of my favorite Zelda titles! This
    Wow! Just wow!

    If you're looking for a great Zelda experience, this is it! Never have I played a more amazing Zelda titles since Ocarina of Time! This game takes the elements that we loved about Ocarina of Time and mixes it up into something completely different whil still retaining what we loved so much from the N64 masterpiece. This personally one of my favorite Zelda titles!

    This is one of the Gamecube's masterpieces! It is a must-have, and superior to the Wii version!
    Expand
  20. May 25, 2014
    10
    This is the best Zelda game I've played, Wind Waker and Ocarina of Time (Some of the best in the series according to others) just weren't as good compared to Twilight Princess in my opinion. The dungeons were creative and fun and the puzzles weren't to easy or extremely hard. The boss battles were also not to easy or too challenging. The NPCs had personality instead of feeling bland. ButThis is the best Zelda game I've played, Wind Waker and Ocarina of Time (Some of the best in the series according to others) just weren't as good compared to Twilight Princess in my opinion. The dungeons were creative and fun and the puzzles weren't to easy or extremely hard. The boss battles were also not to easy or too challenging. The NPCs had personality instead of feeling bland. But mostly the game had a great story line and focused the game around it. I've ranked this game #2 in my Top games list, it was just that good Expand
  21. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    This is an awesome game, it has some of the strongest dungeons and bosses in the series. Midna is a character you actually care about and the story is great. The game-play is probably the best there has been and the music is as fantastic as always. I recommend this game to anyone who a Game-cube or a Wii.
  22. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    Best Legend of Zelda Game! Twilight Princess is not only creative but fun and addicting. The story is great and is easy to dive into while the whole mechanics of the game flows perfectly!
  23. CraigD.
    Jan 6, 2007
    6
    Decent is the perfect word. Not something you would expect from Zelda. I think most people who give this game a 10 are just way too excited that a new Zelda game was released. No matter who you are, you have to admit that the creators could have been a little more creative on this one. I hope there will be much more to the next Zelda game.
  24. DanW.
    Jan 6, 2008
    4
    Zelda needs to mature. Repitition, uninspired design and twisted storyline that reminds me off a bad disney movie make this game fall flat on its face. The wolf segments were a shameless Okami ripoff without the joy or creativity and the gamein general just felt like if OoT had lost its lustre. A pathetic attempt. To be honest, I've lost faith in Miyamoto, Shadow of the Colossus has Zelda needs to mature. Repitition, uninspired design and twisted storyline that reminds me off a bad disney movie make this game fall flat on its face. The wolf segments were a shameless Okami ripoff without the joy or creativity and the gamein general just felt like if OoT had lost its lustre. A pathetic attempt. To be honest, I've lost faith in Miyamoto, Shadow of the Colossus has made me remember that fantasy games can be good, and don't have to have an overblown ego. You know you've seen everything when Sony starts making better fantasy games than Nintendo. Expand
  25. RobertK.
    Aug 1, 2007
    4
    The game feels like an Ocarina of Time remake with only a quarter of the charm. The good things about this game are the same things that made OoT so compelling - good dungeons, a fun story, interesting items and a decent story. However, the game falls down on two main fronts that make it an absolute bore to play. The items are the same as OoT. It is no longer exciting to use the The game feels like an Ocarina of Time remake with only a quarter of the charm. The good things about this game are the same things that made OoT so compelling - good dungeons, a fun story, interesting items and a decent story. However, the game falls down on two main fronts that make it an absolute bore to play. The items are the same as OoT. It is no longer exciting to use the boomerang. We did it in OoT and WW. Let it retire. The puzzles in the dungeons are the same. Lighting spider webs with fire is now second nature, not problem solving. And finally, the story is the same, even down to smaller details like Zora's Domain freezing over. Even the locations are the bloody same. It is a rehash, but without the fun of time travel or the ocarina. The fun is gone - even playing OoT now is still as fun an experience as ever and all the games since just seem to be lacking the spark that made it so good. To truly enjoy a new Zelda game it needs to be distinct from OoT, like WW, but TP just feels so similar, but so much less. Also, the game environments are unnecessarily big. Traveling around involves traversing miles of boring countryside. This is annoying at best, but if you are engaged in one of the games many collect-a-thon's it is excruiating (especially when doing the third tears of light misson). I feel like Nintendo's boasting about the game taking 70 hours to complete is accurate, but I'd wager at least 30 of those hours are spent getting from point A to B rather than actually doing anything captivating. My final complaint about the game is that the pacing is off - despite starting with Epona, it takes far too long to get items and acquire skills. As a result of the pacing, TP takes hours (literally) to get anywhere significant in the game - for the most part you will feel handicapped by the lack of things at your disposal. Oh, and playing as a wolf is totally boring. Having no items severely limited the amount of puzzles Nintendo could think of and as a result it got old after about 20 minutes. All in all, I can't understand why it took Nintendo 4 years to make the same game over. It was probably programming the overly filtered graphics. PS, Link runs like his back is braced by a steel rod. Motion captured my butt. Expand
  26. JefF.
    Dec 10, 2006
    1
    [***SPOILERS***] It is a good game, and a horrible Zelda game. Half of all the other Zelda games involves talking to people and helping them. In this game there are very few people and the only time you need to help them is to keep the main plot going. Very few distractions (heart pieces, fishing, bugs, poes, thats it) and the distractions are tedious. It was easy and fast to finish and [***SPOILERS***] It is a good game, and a horrible Zelda game. Half of all the other Zelda games involves talking to people and helping them. In this game there are very few people and the only time you need to help them is to keep the main plot going. Very few distractions (heart pieces, fishing, bugs, poes, thats it) and the distractions are tedious. It was easy and fast to finish and my biggest dissapointment was that I was hoping for fierce diety to be in here somewhere. Its the twilight and the darkness, why couldn't they have put in a quasi evil link - it would have been perfect! I was even hoping that zant would bE some kind of incarnation of oni link, but no, hes just a wierd guy that has gannon's power. and why did Gannondorf die at the end. He can't die if he is in the wind waker. The ending didn't make sense. The plotline was banal. Very few twists that were exciting. Very few new opportunities in this game (though fighting that guy on the bridge on top of epona was cool) overall, step up your game Nintendo! Your getting lazy! Expand
  27. BenL.
    Mar 12, 2007
    0
    I have played this game before haven't I? You wait years for them to come up with a new Zelda game and they use the same story as they have used before! Surely they can come up with some new ideas? Waste of Money.
  28. ZachL.
    Nov 6, 2007
    6
    I am a huge Zelda fan, i have all of them, but with TP I think they could have done better, my number one complaint is that you get an item like a slingshot, use it for one dungeon and then get a bow and arrow that used for the rest of the game, you find yourself never using that first item again, same with the rod that controls statues, i only used it in that one dungeon (temple of I am a huge Zelda fan, i have all of them, but with TP I think they could have done better, my number one complaint is that you get an item like a slingshot, use it for one dungeon and then get a bow and arrow that used for the rest of the game, you find yourself never using that first item again, same with the rod that controls statues, i only used it in that one dungeon (temple of time), which was the easiest dungeon ever (hate to say it). Another thing is that this game took 4 years to make. It took Oblivion for the 360 only 3. And look at the difference between the two. I still like playing it it is good fun, but it is a let down in my opinion. It became to si-fi such as a city in the sky and a twilight world with monsters that explode into squares when they die. The colors of the world were way to muddy and gritty, no deep blue water and dark green forests. There were a few good music soundtracks, but the rest still sounded like i was playing a super NES zelda. I hated the red suit of armor that you could only wear for a few minutes because you ran out of coins so fast. Dumb idea. What about a zelda with like six different tunics (green, red, blue, yellow, black white whatever) each with special abilities and consequences much the zora outfit of TP, and a bunch different swords(fire,ice) and so on. Expand
  29. RytangoM.
    Jan 27, 2008
    6
    I love all the bad reviews of this game, because well, they are right. my biggest disappointment was how HUGE the world is, but there is very little to do. also Zelda being a surprisingly minor character was a let down. i liked the swordsman idea, but i rarely used any of the special moves i learned. there were so many dungeons but not one gave me a challenge or sense of accomplishment. I love all the bad reviews of this game, because well, they are right. my biggest disappointment was how HUGE the world is, but there is very little to do. also Zelda being a surprisingly minor character was a let down. i liked the swordsman idea, but i rarely used any of the special moves i learned. there were so many dungeons but not one gave me a challenge or sense of accomplishment. Zelda TP gives you something to do, but once i beat it, i never felt compelled to go through it again like OoT or LttP. Expand
  30. MikeK
    Oct 7, 2009
    7
    This game is horribly overrated. It's a decent game, but the whole world feels empty and deserted, most of the dungeons are horribly linear with little to no interesting puzzles or challenge, and the bosses are outright pathetic. I enjoyed the ride, but I wouldn't bother playing it again.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. It's still the most cinematic, engrossing Zelda we've ever played, and as such, deserves nothing but the absolute highest recommendation. Flaws are present, sure, but we'll burn our entire library of games before we say Twilight Princess is anything but incredible.
  2. 90
    But the moment the opening symphony plays until the concluding credits, all fear and doubt quickly vanishes like the cool whispering of an autumn's breeze. Though not flawless, Nintendo have once again demonstrated masterful craftsmanship, challenging design and imaginative artistry.
  3. This game is more or less the latest version of a realm that has been long established and already seen. Yes, the story is darker, longer, and more character driven than anything before it. Yes, the dungeons and sidequests are remarkably well crafted. That doesn't mean that both seasoned Zelda fans and newcomers alike will enjoy the lacking difficulty and the other small problems that plague the game.