The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess GameCube

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 612 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 612
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JesseR
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    As soon as I first popped Twilight Princess into my Gamecube I fell in love with it. The Hyrule of this game is arguably my favorite out of all of the games, as its huge expanses and beautiful visuals make it truly epic. While the story is somewhat odd at first and the side quest system is a little lacking, the locales, gameplay, and amazing visuals really complete the game and turn it As soon as I first popped Twilight Princess into my Gamecube I fell in love with it. The Hyrule of this game is arguably my favorite out of all of the games, as its huge expanses and beautiful visuals make it truly epic. While the story is somewhat odd at first and the side quest system is a little lacking, the locales, gameplay, and amazing visuals really complete the game and turn it into an excellent title. While it is good on the Wii, the game just seems made for the Gamecube. The mirrored world and odd controls of the Wii version, as well as the subtle but annoying (annoying to a true Zelda fan, that is) fact that Link is right handed in that incarnation, make the Gamecube the best system to play this amazing game on. Expand
  2. ShawnA.
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Excellent game with great graphics and control, the different skills you learn are great and help imensely at some points of the game, for example, the "Mortal Draw" is great for removing the Darknuts' armour while the "Back Slice" is good for when the armour is off. If you are just starting with this series, you will probably enjoy yourself very much. If you are a Legend of Zelda Excellent game with great graphics and control, the different skills you learn are great and help imensely at some points of the game, for example, the "Mortal Draw" is great for removing the Darknuts' armour while the "Back Slice" is good for when the armour is off. If you are just starting with this series, you will probably enjoy yourself very much. If you are a Legend of Zelda veteran, you will instantly see the resemblances to Ocarina of Time, But thse ill be more in the story than the graphics. Those are much better than any other 3D Zelda game out there. The action gets greater and greater to an eventual climax...and then the credits begin. This is a game that will surely go far and Zelda fans are sure love it. Expand
  3. AlexV.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    This game is really incredible. The graphics for the gamecube version really surprised me and the storyline was fantastic!
  4. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    A beautiful outro to an unforgettable video game console. Pros: Excels beyond Ocarina of Time with its stunning graphics, control, camera, and audio; varied gameplay. Cons: The Wii's excellent fishing controls is missed.
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    I have no idea why people say its bad for Zelda game! It had outstanding graphics for a gamecube game. The fighting style in this game is so much better than any other game and made me feel so bad ass. It's definitely a great new adventure and has cool new weapons and armor you wouldnt expect. The wolf parts couldve been alittle more fun but it was still an interesting addition the game,I have no idea why people say its bad for Zelda game! It had outstanding graphics for a gamecube game. The fighting style in this game is so much better than any other game and made me feel so bad ass. It's definitely a great new adventure and has cool new weapons and armor you wouldnt expect. The wolf parts couldve been alittle more fun but it was still an interesting addition the game, especially when you got to choose to be the wolf whenever you want. I'd say this is the most amazing zelda game out there, next to Oot. Expand
  6. AB
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    There is not a single word to describe the latest Zelda. The game is simply a masterpiece. It truly transcends each game in the entire series and stands as the greatest video game of all time. The puzzles are perfect, the graphics are gorgeous, and the story is fascinating. Unlike other Zelda games, Twilight Princess is not a simple collection of dungeons amidst a few traveling missions. There is not a single word to describe the latest Zelda. The game is simply a masterpiece. It truly transcends each game in the entire series and stands as the greatest video game of all time. The puzzles are perfect, the graphics are gorgeous, and the story is fascinating. Unlike other Zelda games, Twilight Princess is not a simple collection of dungeons amidst a few traveling missions. There is an excellent progressive story that leads the player through a breathtaking experience in a spectacular fashion. Each moment of the game is exhilarating; the characters are amazing, and they develop an emotionally effective plot. The Zelda series is arguably the best in gaming, and Twilight Princess makes it even better. Expand
  7. MarkusE.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    Attn: Robert K. did you only get halfway through the game or something? Beat the whole thing before you vote. Beginning with dungeon #4, you get fresh, new items that were never before seen in OoT and TWW. The dungeons have completely new puzzles.
  8. ZacR.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    [**SPOILERS**] I really loved this game. I've never been a HUGE Zelda fan but I did enjoy ocarina of time and wind waker alot. This game definately throws even some of the oldest Zelda fans in a loop. The puzzles are harder and The bosses are more bloodthristy than ever. It was interesting to see what happened after Wind Waker (if you notice you get the tunic of the hero chosen by [**SPOILERS**] I really loved this game. I've never been a HUGE Zelda fan but I did enjoy ocarina of time and wind waker alot. This game definately throws even some of the oldest Zelda fans in a loop. The puzzles are harder and The bosses are more bloodthristy than ever. It was interesting to see what happened after Wind Waker (if you notice you get the tunic of the hero chosen by the gods. The Wind Waker link was chosen by the gods. The Ocarina link was chosen by fate.) I was sad to see there weren't any deku trees but I guess they all died out after wind waker. I guess drinking all that water can do that to you though. I was really excited at the end when Gannon actually DIED. Before we have only seen him turn to stone or vanish. (He turns to stone in Wind Waker. In Ocarina of Time you never see a body. I suppose he runs off and trys to get his strength back. Which after happening he trys to take over hyrule only for it to be flooded and then him imprisoned untill later) It was really amazing to see that when the water leveled out that they actually tried to have him executed. The entire game was simply amazing. I can't stop trembling with excitement for the next installment and an even deadlier foe! Expand
  9. KevinB.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Twilight Princess easily nailed the game of the year. Thats not really the question. The question I really had to ask myself was whether it was the greatest game of all time or not. After alot of soul searching I concluded that Yes, it is by far the greatest game of all time.
  10. NickC.
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    Great graphics, great gameplay, good replay value, and just plain awesome from start to finish. If you like Zelda, you have to play this game. If you DON'T like Zelda, you should still play this game.
  11. MelodyC.
    Jan 30, 2008
    9
    A very fun game to play. The plot is really good and it connects with one another. It's a long adventure game and totally fun!
  12. UweP.
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    What a massive game this is! Took me just shy of 60 hours to complete, and that's excluding a lot of the optional stuff you can collect and secret areas to explore. Like previous Zeldas, though, it's the dungeons which are the main focus of the game, but this time there've been paid much more attention to unexpected, thrilling events occuring in the exquisitely designed What a massive game this is! Took me just shy of 60 hours to complete, and that's excluding a lot of the optional stuff you can collect and secret areas to explore. Like previous Zeldas, though, it's the dungeons which are the main focus of the game, but this time there've been paid much more attention to unexpected, thrilling events occuring in the exquisitely designed world of Hyrule before you gain access to the next dungeon. Only during the opening 10-15 hours of the game does it feel slightly padded out with a couple of collecting tasks, but then the game really ramps up the pace and doesn't stop until the jaw-droppingly spectacular finale. Expand
  13. BrianS.
    Dec 31, 2006
    8
    I agree with Jeff and Matt, this game has some brilliant scenes and controls are up to par with any game. However, most of this game just leaves you feeling pretty empty after defeating extremely easy bosses and solving the slightly difficult puzzles. The storyline just doesn't fit with ocrina or wind waker, but trys to hint at it with several scenes. Overall a solid game to run I agree with Jeff and Matt, this game has some brilliant scenes and controls are up to par with any game. However, most of this game just leaves you feeling pretty empty after defeating extremely easy bosses and solving the slightly difficult puzzles. The storyline just doesn't fit with ocrina or wind waker, but trys to hint at it with several scenes. Overall a solid game to run through, but just not really ground breaking on any level. Expand
  14. Megan
    Jan 12, 2007
    8
    I think almost everyone here is overating the game. It was good yes but there were quite a few problems with the game. 1st. Grahpics- I had no problem with most of the graphics, they were very detailed and amazing. 2nd-Gameplay- I was glad they finally made Link leanr moves, that was a very good improvement to this game. Some of the controls were a bit irritating and every boss in the I think almost everyone here is overating the game. It was good yes but there were quite a few problems with the game. 1st. Grahpics- I had no problem with most of the graphics, they were very detailed and amazing. 2nd-Gameplay- I was glad they finally made Link leanr moves, that was a very good improvement to this game. Some of the controls were a bit irritating and every boss in the game was immensly easy. but other then that I didnt have to much of a problem. 3rd- music This was a big dissapiontment in certain ways. some of the music I was so happy to hear because it was from OOT. It gave me old memories, but then the rest was just annoyingat times. They could have had time to make it orchestrated. 4th-Storyline- Now The storyline was the big part that cause me to have a problem with the game. mostly the ending. Of course the last boss is easy, your expecting this great ending and it starts off alright and then you see something and link runs to it and its all a nice suprise, and then the credits come. half of them are so pointless and annoying I was telling the game to hurry to the good stuff. Then It shows a cutscene and its pretty good. and then its goes bakc to credits and you see *spoiler* Ilia waiting for him, and link riding Epona back to his home town. you never find out what happens to Link or Zelda ever again as in each Zelda. There could have been so much more and this is why I gave this an a 8. Expand
  15. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    i picked this game up the day i got my wii and man i enjoyed the hell out of it. i spent some days staying up till 4 in the morning playing it its that fun.
  16. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    I loved Twilight Princess, it had some dark themes just as Majoras Mask did which i would like to see more of. The boss fights were fantastic in this one, they had a very epic feeling to them and the dungeons were modestly challenging too
  17. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    The amount of hate over the years for this game is incredible. I can't understand why so many people didn't like it. Although, I do admit the Wolf sections were pretty lame... but unique. The rest of the game shines, easily making it into my top 5 Zelda games of all time. The longest game in the series, and the darkest, Twilight Princess is a must-play for any Zelda fan or anyone who wantsThe amount of hate over the years for this game is incredible. I can't understand why so many people didn't like it. Although, I do admit the Wolf sections were pretty lame... but unique. The rest of the game shines, easily making it into my top 5 Zelda games of all time. The longest game in the series, and the darkest, Twilight Princess is a must-play for any Zelda fan or anyone who wants to get into the series. (The GC version is apparently regarded as superior to the Wii version by many... Sure, superior... because of the controls... Anything else? No? Ok then...) Expand
  18. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Wow! Just wow!

    If you're looking for a great Zelda experience, this is it! Never have I played a more amazing Zelda titles since Ocarina of Time! This game takes the elements that we loved about Ocarina of Time and mixes it up into something completely different whil still retaining what we loved so much from the N64 masterpiece. This personally one of my favorite Zelda titles! This
    Wow! Just wow!

    If you're looking for a great Zelda experience, this is it! Never have I played a more amazing Zelda titles since Ocarina of Time! This game takes the elements that we loved about Ocarina of Time and mixes it up into something completely different whil still retaining what we loved so much from the N64 masterpiece. This personally one of my favorite Zelda titles!

    This is one of the Gamecube's masterpieces! It is a must-have, and superior to the Wii version!
    Expand
  19. May 25, 2014
    10
    This is the best Zelda game I've played, Wind Waker and Ocarina of Time (Some of the best in the series according to others) just weren't as good compared to Twilight Princess in my opinion. The dungeons were creative and fun and the puzzles weren't to easy or extremely hard. The boss battles were also not to easy or too challenging. The NPCs had personality instead of feeling bland. ButThis is the best Zelda game I've played, Wind Waker and Ocarina of Time (Some of the best in the series according to others) just weren't as good compared to Twilight Princess in my opinion. The dungeons were creative and fun and the puzzles weren't to easy or extremely hard. The boss battles were also not to easy or too challenging. The NPCs had personality instead of feeling bland. But mostly the game had a great story line and focused the game around it. I've ranked this game #2 in my Top games list, it was just that good Expand
  20. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    This is an awesome game, it has some of the strongest dungeons and bosses in the series. Midna is a character you actually care about and the story is great. The game-play is probably the best there has been and the music is as fantastic as always. I recommend this game to anyone who a Game-cube or a Wii.
  21. May 30, 2015
    10
    This version is so much better than the Wii version just for the fact you're able to use an actual GameCube controller. I'm a big time fan of the Zelda series and this game is one of the best Zelda games aside from OOT, Majoras Mask, Wind Waker, and Skyward sword. I liked how the hyrule field was 20x bigger than the original zelda games. The actual gameplay itself is a masterpiece. ItThis version is so much better than the Wii version just for the fact you're able to use an actual GameCube controller. I'm a big time fan of the Zelda series and this game is one of the best Zelda games aside from OOT, Majoras Mask, Wind Waker, and Skyward sword. I liked how the hyrule field was 20x bigger than the original zelda games. The actual gameplay itself is a masterpiece. It starts off with a slow pace in the beginning but once you pull the Master Sword out, uncover the plot and what's going on in Hyrule that you'll actually love the game for what it's worth. It has one badass ending and Gannondorf is finally back with one of the best endings for a Zelda game. I've personally liked the showdown with Gannondorf/Gannon aside from the N64 classic. I like this version better because the Wii motion controls for the game just feels very gimmicky. Expand
  22. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    Best Legend of Zelda Game! Twilight Princess is not only creative but fun and addicting. The story is great and is easy to dive into while the whole mechanics of the game flows perfectly!
  23. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    For me Twilight Princess fells like a not as good as expected, clone of OoT. Everything reminds me of OoT expect that it is not made as good as in OoT. Its comes out of the short end.
  24. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    After years of taking mediocre zelda games like Wind Waker we finally get to see a Zelda game the way it was meant to be seen. The game is just as epic as Ocarina of Time, including great dungeons, puzzles, atmosphere, and an incredible story. The game is also very long, possibly the longest Zelda game of all. The music is incredible and match with it's beautiful environment. If youAfter years of taking mediocre zelda games like Wind Waker we finally get to see a Zelda game the way it was meant to be seen. The game is just as epic as Ocarina of Time, including great dungeons, puzzles, atmosphere, and an incredible story. The game is also very long, possibly the longest Zelda game of all. The music is incredible and match with it's beautiful environment. If you are a fan looking for a game that meets the expectations of Ocarina of Time, then this is a must own game. Expand
  25. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    Twilight Princess is one of my all time favorite games period! Even though the Zelda franchise has multiple masterpieces, Twilight Princess defines that word in a newer more unique way that sets apart from the others. Many of its dungeons, bosses and minibosses are arguably some of the very best in the entire series. It undoubtedly has the best fight mechanics for example you being able toTwilight Princess is one of my all time favorite games period! Even though the Zelda franchise has multiple masterpieces, Twilight Princess defines that word in a newer more unique way that sets apart from the others. Many of its dungeons, bosses and minibosses are arguably some of the very best in the entire series. It undoubtedly has the best fight mechanics for example you being able to bash enemies in the face with your shield or swing your sword while on horseback. And you can even ride giant boars in some places! It has likely the most breathtaking landscapes and sceneries. One of the largest and most immersive worlds in the series, filled with plenty of secrets. It literally has the best items as well as the easiest & quickest way to equip them. It has many of the best minigames. Most of all it has some of the best characters and Midna is UNDENIABLY the best companion to Link out of all the Zelda games. Best of all you get to turn into a wolf for a long list of reasons and uses that I won't go into. I could go on and on about what I love about this game. This game will truly stand the test of time. And let it be noted that whatever nitpicky problems anyone has with this game, they can expect them to be fixed in the remake. Which substantial evidence shows is almost certainly being made, despite Nintendo neither confirming or denying it. If only I owned a Wii U I would say that I can't for them to make it. Expand
  26. May 17, 2016
    10
    There was a GameCube version of Twilight Princess? Oh well, at least it joins with the Wii version to make the ultimate 10 combo and it makes a great Zelda game to pick up for playing. GameCube or Wii, doesn't matter.
  27. AnnaJ.
    Feb 5, 2007
    9
    Yes Twilight Princess was a good game but not perfect. I died twice in all and I felt that defeating Gannondorf was too easy I was disappointed that they didnt keep the fishing music from OOT the landscaping graphics were excellent but the people was not it managed to repair the TERRIBLE shell graphics from the Windwaker but I don't think it matched OOT.
  28. RichardH.
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing, but only for people with an attention span of more than 2 seconds.
  29. DerekG.
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Amazing. The first Zelda game with a decent plot in a long time. It is a tad easy, but I can forgive that. The graphics, other than some bad textures here and there are incredible.
  30. AndrewC.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    Does Twilight Princess have flaws? Well, yes. The graphics are artistically stunning, but there are some issues with the texturing in some areas. The sound is getting a bit old-sounding - there's no reason Nintendo couldn't have recorded a orchestral soundtrack. Plus, Zelda could certainly use some voice acting by now (sans Link, of course.) But at its heart, Twilight Princess Does Twilight Princess have flaws? Well, yes. The graphics are artistically stunning, but there are some issues with the texturing in some areas. The sound is getting a bit old-sounding - there's no reason Nintendo couldn't have recorded a orchestral soundtrack. Plus, Zelda could certainly use some voice acting by now (sans Link, of course.) But at its heart, Twilight Princess is an outstanding adventure worthy of every bit of hype it's received. The dungeons are genius, the new items and weapons amazing, and the story...well, it's simply breathtaking. All flaws aside, nothing out there stands up to Twilight Princess. Not Elder Scrolls IV, not Final Fantasy XII or Okami...Zelda is, as always, right on top. Nintendo has proven it once more. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2006
#1 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2006
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. It's still the most cinematic, engrossing Zelda we've ever played, and as such, deserves nothing but the absolute highest recommendation. Flaws are present, sure, but we'll burn our entire library of games before we say Twilight Princess is anything but incredible.
  2. 90
    But the moment the opening symphony plays until the concluding credits, all fear and doubt quickly vanishes like the cool whispering of an autumn's breeze. Though not flawless, Nintendo have once again demonstrated masterful craftsmanship, challenging design and imaginative artistry.
  3. This game is more or less the latest version of a realm that has been long established and already seen. Yes, the story is darker, longer, and more character driven than anything before it. Yes, the dungeons and sidequests are remarkably well crafted. That doesn't mean that both seasoned Zelda fans and newcomers alike will enjoy the lacking difficulty and the other small problems that plague the game.