• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As Sam Fisher, Third Echelon's most skilled Splinter Cell operative, you are assigned to execute a hazardous series of operations to investigate and eliminate a new source of information attacks originating in North Korea. At your disposal is a lethal array of tactics ranging from Combat Knife techniques to experimental prototype weapons skills and more-radical hand-to-hand techniques such as the Inverted Chokehold. Experience the intensity of acting as a lone operative fighting tomorrow's threats in the field and of cooperating online with a partner to accomplish crucial missions. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. No longer is there just one way to solve a treacherous night mission before the enemy picks up your audio signature: stealth will pay off just as well as good old-fashioned ultraviolence.
  2. In all things small and epic, from the palpable graininess of the game's predominantly poorly lit environments, to the endlessly thrilling second installment of the spies vs. mercenaries online competitions, Theory does not disappoint. [May 2005, p.44]
  3. For all the new moves and multiplayer modes, it's still the same old Splinter Cell it's always been. Still tense, still frustrating, still endearing, still maddening.
  4. Yes, it is a well-designed, immersive game, but there's no reason the graphics shouldn't be better. [June 2005, p.94]
  5. The entire time I played the game, I wondered why it didn't compel me as much as I knew such a well-designed game should. I have come to the conclusion that it is because I've seen three of these games in the last couple of years.
  6. If you can't play the game on another console, it's still a great buy.
  7. The single-player campaign holds its own, no doubt, but once those short ten hours or so are up, there's nothing left for GameCube owners to do -- except to sit back and wait for another Splinter Cell game.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. JuanR.
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    this is a very good game and i must to say that i enjoy it very much, so you need to proove it.
  2. TimM.
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    Great game.
  3. Geckat
    Jun 3, 2005
    9
    Alright, I'll admit that it could have been a lot better for the GCN. The graphics to excel in my opinion over the PS2, but the Xbox did pwn it once again. Although the GCN version has some nice little extras (I love the water kill), it doesn't make up for the repetitive lack of multiplayer. But if you only own a GameCube, it'll tie over nicely, and there's always the co-op :-) . Collapse
  4. DavidA.
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    It's a cool game, I like that you can save anytime you want. I also like that you have more freedom, you don't have to complete the objectives in order and four alarms don't make you end a mission you just loose mission rating and I don't give a F**ck about that.Thight game, if you like stealth games this is a must have. Expand
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory is not a game for everyone, and not in the way of most people doing bad, but in the way of everyone wanting to do good. Splinter Cell makes everyone a perfectionist by the time they put down the controller and reap their rewards. For there is not a single game more rewarding than this. I've seriously never played a game in which I wanted to do so good. Playing this game I can play a level over and over again till I beat it without getting caught, without setting an alarm or dying etc. I can do this because the game works, and there is not a single better Stealth game out there. You'll be shooting sticky cameras, hanging from pipes, neutralizing enemies, disabling lights and so on. There is so much to do that the controller is riddled with combos in order to fit the complexity to your finger tips.The game is in Third Person and is all about being a spy and getting through a level without getting caught by your enemies. The enemies are also decently intelligent, and will do well to get your heart racing in moments. The gameplay is very much so slow, and doesn't let you switch things up with a firefight. It's all stealth, all the time. There are multiple places of entry into pretty much every room, and there are loads of ways to take out the enemy. The majority of the time you do better to either sneak around or neutralize them (you get more points this way). Everything is there and everything works perfectly, and it should because unlike Shooters and everything else, things are much more frustrating in a game where you lose whence getting caught once, or so it was in your mind. The Gamecube version looks great, probably the best of the three, but it's not the one worth buying for it doesn't offer the multiplayer experience. Best bets are on buying the Xbox version. The lasting appeal just isn't there for the Gamecube version like it is with the Xbox and PS2 versions. Though the campaign is worth beating multiple times. Oh yeah the story..... It's really really boring, but that's not what this game is about. It's a simple concept, wrapped in Tom Clancy complexity and does absolutely nothing in the way of interesting character development. I saved that for the last because if you want a good or interesting story in gaming, you can find a lot in a lot of other places. This is pure hardcore gameplay at it's finest. Expand
  6. SteveS.
    Apr 14, 2005
    7
    Grow up and get an XBox. This game sucks on GC compared to the Ps2, and the Xbox makes it look like pure crap. I love Zelda and RE4 as much as anyone, but you guys really need to get a Next-Gen by Sony or MIcrosoft. Theya re better systems. Who cares about touching? I care about realistic graphics, and playing beautiful game. Nintendo, and the Gamecube turned the best game to the year so far into total crap. Expand
  7. KarlMarx
    May 16, 2005
    7
    RE4 has proved that the cube can hold its own against the best of the competition, so why the shoddy PS2 port? If you are in the 10% of xbox owners that have live then get that version instead. It's good that 3rd party titles are availible on the cube but at least make them comparrible with unique features as in Soul Caliber 2. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: "Splinter Cell Conviction" and Other Tom Clancy Games

    Ranked:
    Published: April 13, 2010
    How does the newest Splinter Cell game compare to previous titles in the series, and to other Tom Clancy games? Check out our rankings.