True Crime: Streets of LA Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As Nick Kang, your brutal reputation and lethal skills have landed you a nasty job: heading up an undercover task force to stop the Chinese and Russian gangs from terrorizing Los Angeles. Drive, fight, and blast your way through a massive array of unpredictable missions, using stealth techniques, martial arts moves, and an ask-questions-later arsenal. True Crime features a branching storyline that gives you the freedom to complete missions as you choose and face the consequences later. The hardcore streets of L.A. have met their match. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 58
  2. Negative: 2 out of 58
  1. The shooting control takes some getting used to, but stick with it and you’ll advance through a solid plot laced with a meaty hip-hop soundtrack, celebrity voices, and…drumroll…a playable Snoop Dogg! You’ll never need MapQuest in L.A. again.
  2. 90
    Striking a balance between cinematic, story-based gaming and free-roaming fun is harder than most people realize, and True Crime manages to pull it off in a way that brings excitement, challenge, and even a few laughs here and there (some of the voice work, particularly that of one Mr. Walken, is priceless).
  3. 85
    Too bad it's so short, but there's plenty to do in the city of L.A. once the story is over. This is the first game that treats the "GTA" model as inspiration rather than a quick ticket to the bank.
  4. 80
    Despite gameplay bordering on being shallow, True Crime is still very worthwhile of your time because of the experience of brings. It’s a Hollywood cop movie where you’re in the driver’s seat, and it has the acting to back you up.
  5. 75
    What does this action game packed with guns, cars and crooks have that "Vice City" doesn't? The voice talent of Christopher Walken and Gary Oldman as characters, for one thing. [Oct 2003, p.37]
  6. 72
    It's so-so styleless graphics fail to impress, and the whole thing's too short and easy. [Jan 2003, p.107]
  7. 40
    Half the game it should have been. Whoever came up with the inventive level structuring or spent months mapping LA has every reason to be furious with the lacklustre implementation of their ideas. [Christmas 2003, p.106]

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. TrevinS.
    Nov 8, 2003
    10
    I loved this game its so fun to play and even watch sometimes. my mom even got mad at me because i was up all night playing it.
  2. StefanF.
    Nov 8, 2003
    10
    Very good i like the combintation reaaaaal much.
  3. 8u6u77777777u86
    Jan 26, 2004
    10
    It's like vice city but the driving, gun fights and fighting is a lot better.
  4. Sep 17, 2012
    8
    Its a very fun game that is worth playing if you are a fan of the open world genre. Its almost as good as GTA 3. The great things about this game include an excellent targeting system for precise shooting, a very accurate representation of L.A., nice graphics for 2003 standards, an occasional sense of humor, and a nice little story. There are even alternate endings for the game, which keep you playing longer. The not-so good things here include a few glitches, an occasional spike in difficulty, and not nearly as many missions as GTA 3. Overall though, you should enjoy it if you can get past a few technical issues. Expand
  5. Heath
    Dec 5, 2003
    7
    This is no GTA. the load times suck, and there are far too many of them. whereas in GTA III or vice city driving to your destination is part of the mission, many of true crime's missions are driving to other missions, with load times in between every minute or two of gameplay. also, i'm no hard core gamer, but the lack of polish in the controls and camera are very aggravating when you're expected to take out an army of terrorists with two pistols (try running for the automatics and see what happens). i liked the characters of the story, in this aspect true crime holds its weight with grand theft auto. nick lang is just cheeky enough to be amusing. i also liked the music, the hip hop to cruise to, and the rock to fight to. again gta's radio stations were much more entertaining with lazlo, et al. where the rockstar duo each easily earn a 10 apiece, i have to give true crime a respectable 7. Expand
  6. DrewtheNetherlands
    Apr 10, 2004
    4
    I think this is just so a bad game, it's so boring after capturing thiefs all the time and the missions aren't better. Just spend your money on a good game like GTA vice city, you will have lots more fun and you will know that you see fun for your money because this is BULLSH.T. Expand
  7. KevinF
    Dec 12, 2003
    2
    Horrible game, i felt sick as soon as i saw the intro and the comments that kang makes every time you reach a goal or climb into a car don't help in the slightest. controls and graphics are dreadful, and this has more bugs than enter the matrix. you dissapear into walls left right and centre and i'll spare you all from my opinions of the storyline. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews