Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    100
    Agricola is a superlative port of an equally exceptional game. Just don't mistake the cute styling for simple mechanics. Even in "family mode", Agricola is both challenging and competitive.
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    90
    Manage a farm in this colorful iOS port of this popular worker-placement board game.
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    90
    The Californian devteam Playdek digitized the tabletop appropriately in terms of visuals and mechanics. Newcomer and veterans alike will enjoy this almost perfect board game conversion.
  4. Jul 14, 2013
    80
    As a single-player game, the AI acquits itself admirably (one of my favorite things about ports of Euro games like this is that purer math lends itself to artificial intelligence). I’m less enamoured of Agricola as a multiplayer game. It works fine, and developer Playdek knows better than to leave you high, dry, and solitaire only. But heck if I can remember what I was going to do when my turn finally rolls around again. This isn’t a knock against the Agricola port so much as a fact of its gameplay.
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    80
    The differences between Agricola the board game and Agricola the app are largely stylistic, but I much prefer the artistic rendering of the iOS version to the real-world board. There is also the benefit of avoiding the tedium involved with assembling the game, but I know there are gamers who enjoy setup nearly as much as play. For me, being able to jump in and out of a few rounds is a major benefit.
  6. Jun 28, 2013
    80
    A very entertaining board game port with a decent interface. Agricola should keep players busy for a long time.
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    80
    It's not simple and it's not soft, but Agricola will give you hours and hours of fun if you can get to grips with it.
  8. Jun 17, 2013
    80
    Bringing Agricola to the small screen was a very tough task. Playdek has tried extremely hard and managed to come up with something that’s a lot of fun, but does fall down in a couple of key areas. But for experienced gamers wanting to play online, fans of the solitaire variant, or those who simply want to find out what all the fuss is about, this most-talked-about board game should be picked up without question.
  9. Jun 20, 2013
    75
    Agricola tries to be faithful to the board game it’s based on, but some fun got lost in the translation.
  10. Jun 17, 2013
    75
    Raising a family in 17th century Europe may never supplant my love for dungeons (or dragons), but next time someone asks me to help farm their land, maybe I’ll stay awhile.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 29, 2014
    5
    This is one of the many fantastic board games that PlayDek has remade for the iOS. Being a big fan of board games and impressed by PlayDek'sThis is one of the many fantastic board games that PlayDek has remade for the iOS. Being a big fan of board games and impressed by PlayDek's other games, I got this and was slightly disappointed. The stylistic difference makes the iOS version feel messy compared to the board game. However, you can be assured that the turn sequence and resource top-up would be accurate. Full Review »
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    Always wanted the board game, but was afraid no one around my house would play, I was probably right about that. A relatively easy game toAlways wanted the board game, but was afraid no one around my house would play, I was probably right about that. A relatively easy game to learn, but with so many possible decisions each turn, finding a winning strategy is always a challenge. If you like complex Euro style board games, this one takes the cake. Highly recommended. Full Review »