Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Oct 14, 2012
    70
    Amazing Alex has a nice idea, but the levels are far too easy. Most of them can be completed without any thought whatsoever. Alex itself is one of the most annoying know-it-alls in recent memory and the game would be more enjoyable without his smug little face. [Sept 2012]
  2. Aug 24, 2012
    83
    A cunning slice of mind exercising wrapped up in lovingly crafted visuals. [Oct 2012, p.94]
  3. Aug 11, 2012
    90
    Amazing Alex is a fascinating product that demonstrates why smartphone games have gained immense popularity. It's fun, simple and inventive.
  4. Aug 3, 2012
    70
    Manipulate everyday objects, like skateboards, balls or pipes to achieve your goals. It looks great and is quite fun, but don't expect a hit of such magnitude as Rovios more known series.
  5. Aug 2, 2012
    70
    The most satisfying stages give you a generous toolset with which to experiment, but one too many involves painstaking repositioning of a few items.
  6. Jul 28, 2012
    60
    Amazing Alex is not as brilliant as Armadillo Run, or charming like Crayon Physics Deluxe.
  7. Jul 27, 2012
    60
    It has a cool concept, and when you finally set up your domino effect and see your work play out perfectly, it makes you want more. Those moments are few and far between, and the difficulty ramps up to a point where you're dreading each incoming level, as opposed to looking forward to a new challenge.
  8. Jul 26, 2012
    75
    Amazing Alex is an interesting puzzle game. With a lot of different ways to solve each puzzle and a load of content, Amazing Alex has what it takes to keep you entertained for hours. The only downside is the limitations of the level editor.
  9. Jul 25, 2012
    80
    What it lacks in originality, being a plain copy of Casey's Contraptions, Amazing Alex delivers in polish: everything works smoothly, the level design is great and sharing and downloading levels couldn't be easier.
  10. Jul 22, 2012
    70
    Just ignore the uninspired, meaningless and simply unnecessary main character and you´ll find a cute and entertaining puzzle-game, in which it is still up to Rovio and the community to discover the full potential.
  11. Jul 20, 2012
    60
    When I recall my time with Amazing Alex I can only really remember throwing a couple of tennis balls down a pipe. And that's not really that amazing, is it?
  12. Jul 18, 2012
    80
    Amazing Alex is a fun puzzle-game, has a tons of levels thanks to the editor and is quite challenging.
  13. Jul 17, 2012
    80
    An entertaining, replayable and complete game with a great multiplayer mode that has proven a success. Although it is a game quite similar to other games like Angry Birds or Cut the Rope, it has enough personality to differenciate itself from them.
  14. Jul 17, 2012
    85
    Amazing Alex is pretty amazing. The puzzle game quickly gets a hold of you and makes you feel smart – even if you haven't got a clue on how to solve certain puzzles. An intelligent rating-system that reminds of Cut the Rope and a level editor will keep you invested in this game extra long.
  15. Jul 17, 2012
    70
    It may not be fair to compare it to Angry Birds, but it is fair to say this is a slick but slightly listless clone of The Incredible Machine.
  16. Jul 16, 2012
    80
    The been-there-done-that feeling of Amazing Alex is understandable for iPad owners who already have Casey's Contraptions, but for new-comers (including iPhone users) it's another cute, but still addictive physics puzzler to add to your collection.
  17. Jul 16, 2012
    75
    While we mourn the passing of Casey a bit, Amazing Alex retains the same creative and enjoyable gameplay and even sports a few refinements over the earlier game.
  18. Jul 16, 2012
    80
    Amazing Alex is a very engaging and challenging game, and presents all the proof needed that Rovio isn't just a one-trick birdy.
  19. Jul 16, 2012
    80
    The core puzzles are identical to last year's game, so Cassie's Contraptions fans may not feel the need to buy the same game again, but brainteaser fans will enjoy the creativity from the community-built stages.
  20. Jul 13, 2012
    90
    It may have lost a little bit of its personal touch, but for better or worse, Casey's Contraptions is Amazing Alex now. And with the same great gameplay, a dauntingly endless set of custom levels, and a company behind that has the resources to churn out tons of free content? I'd say that's better. Amazing, even.
  21. Jul 13, 2012
    80
    A great game. The physics are well done, it looks good, sounds good and is easy to pick up and learn. That being said, it did not grab me as much as some puzzle games out there, and part of that is the lack of motivation.
  22. Jul 12, 2012
    100
    Amazing Alex is indeed amazing, and should appeal to any puzzle fan or anyone that likes games that make you think. Get ready to spend hours on your iPhone or iPad with this one.
  23. Jul 12, 2012
    70
    While it was always going to get squashed under the weight of post-Angry Birds expectation, Amazing Alex does a decent job. It might not be Rovio's finest work, but it shows there's life in the company outside of pigs and disgruntled birds.
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    Just awesome! It is a tricky, relaxing and challenging Game, all in one, just great!. The Graphics are fantastic and i really love the Music!Just awesome! It is a tricky, relaxing and challenging Game, all in one, just great!. The Graphics are fantastic and i really love the Music! One of the best and perfect fitting games for iPhone. Hats off! Full Review »
  2. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    This game is horrible. It is not fun nor interesting, I can't believe I got this game and I deleted it straight away. You don't do anythingThis game is horrible. It is not fun nor interesting, I can't believe I got this game and I deleted it straight away. You don't do anything fun, its just boring boring boring Full Review »
  3. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    The game is just not amazing as it sounds, I'm starting to think the creative ideas are depleted at Rovio. I'm afraid the studio is beginningThe game is just not amazing as it sounds, I'm starting to think the creative ideas are depleted at Rovio. I'm afraid the studio is beginning to look like a 1 hit wonder that will be only known for Angry Birds. So much for the guys that think they'll become bigger than Disney. Full Review »