Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 14, 2011
    100
    You loved Angry Birds? You'll love Angry Birds Rio! Same gameplay, same principle, with new birds, new levels, boss fights... it's as addictive and fun to play as ever, and so cheap that there's no real reason not to get it.
  2. Apr 1, 2011
    100
    Anything but a quick cash-in.
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    100
    A textbook example of how to seamlessly blend a game with a movie, and with additional levels on the way, it's a must play for longtime fans as well as newcomers.
  4. Mar 23, 2011
    100
    If you're a fan of the series, absolutely pick this one up. It's just different enough from the others to make it distinct, and it's also a ton of fun.
  5. Apr 23, 2011
    90
    Its great presentation and level design and its great replay value make Angry Birds Rio a must for Apple users, both Angry Birds followers and newcomers.
  6. Apr 20, 2011
    90
    The Rio version reinforces the privileged status of compulsory purchase by those who may have access to it.
  7. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    It's just a shame that Rovio couldn't have found a way of bring more skill into the game. It's the only thing stopping it from being awesome.
  8. Mar 24, 2011
    90
    Sure, it's not a real Angry Birds sequel, but it's more of a good thing for only $0.99.
  9. Mar 23, 2011
    90
    The presentation is highly polished and little touches like the inclusion of the Rio characters as playable birds or the extra information included in the menus really help advance the core concept of Angry Birds.
  10. Mar 23, 2011
    85
    A smart, snappy new chapter for the series. The new goals – freeing birds and shattering monkeys – offer a nice reprieve from the bird-pig narrative, and the forgiving learning curve makes this a much better play than the punishing Angry Birds Seasons.
  11. May 11, 2011
    80
    As popular as the series is, some evolution needs to happen if it wants to have the long term staying power of a Mario or a Pac-Man. In Rio, we're starting to see the first glimmer of that evolution.
  12. Apr 11, 2011
    80
    If you absolutely hated the original Angry Birds, AB: Rio isn't really going to sway you into becoming a fan; but if you at least had *some* fun with the original, you should most definitely come back for more, especially at the .99 price point.
  13. Apr 11, 2011
    80
    Angry Birds Rio is a wonderful more of the same: if you're a fan of Rovio's birds, Rio won't let you down.
  14. Apr 3, 2011
    80
    Performance wise the game flows well generally, though I found there is a slight lag issue in a couple of the levels which I hope Rovio can fix soon. But overall, Angry Birds Rio is definitely worth the dollar price tag. You can finish it in probably a weekend or so given the current 60 levels.
  15. Apr 1, 2011
    80
    Angry Birds Rio is the new episode of the famous Rovio saga, dedicated to the Fox movie Rio; it's just another Angry Birds, with the same gameplay and same birds, with a new background (Rio de Janeiro) and a little graphic boost.
  16. Mar 31, 2011
    80
    If you are eager to take on new challenges with your favorite birds, then dropping $0.99 on Angry Birds Rio is a no-brainer. For those who have Angry Birds fatigue and have had their fill, there is nothing dramatically new to pull you in.
  17. Mar 30, 2011
    80
    Overall it's a missed opportunity to provide an already working formula with new ideas.
  18. Mar 23, 2011
    70
    What Angry Birds Rio lacks in new ideas and freshness, it makes up in quality gameplay and good value.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jan 5, 2012
    5
    Angry Birds Rio is just a quick moneymaker for EA Games. It's the same game but with different levels. I may not be the best marketer in theAngry Birds Rio is just a quick moneymaker for EA Games. It's the same game but with different levels. I may not be the best marketer in the world, but couldn't this have been an update to the original? It in no way deserves full recognition as an individual game. It doesn't upgrade gameplay nor evolve the graphic. The Christmas album of the Angry Birds merchandise. Any plus sides? Nice graphics and the original wasn't terrible either. Just not worth your $1. Full Review »
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    This new Angry Birds new game or flavor comes with tons of new stuff. So far they have done the Original, Xmas, Halloween, St. Patty's dayThis new Angry Birds new game or flavor comes with tons of new stuff. So far they have done the Original, Xmas, Halloween, St. Patty's day and now Rio, and to top it all a brand new movie titled "RIO". Be sure to try the ultimate time management game called MISTER MIGUEL is FREE! http://bit.ly/mrmigapp Check it out! Full Review »
  3. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    This game is great but its just like the noermal one just with birds in cages and monkeys. I was sad when I saw that we had to wait for mayThis game is great but its just like the noermal one just with birds in cages and monkeys. I was sad when I saw that we had to wait for may before any new levles :(. plus this is the first Angry Birds game with adds was it Foxs idea? Full Review »