Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Apr 4, 2012
    90
    This new Angry Birds Space is as addictive as ever, all the while revising its core gameplay mechanics thanks to the Space Theme. Gravity and other tricks renew the formula beyond expectations, and the very low price of the game is all the more convincing, given that it's brilliantly designed.
  2. Apr 23, 2012
    69
    Angry Birds Space introduces enough changes to avoid being called stale, but, ultimately, it's more of the same.
  3. Apr 9, 2012
    90
    Rovio did it again. The "Space" edition of Angry Birds is so addictive that you'll constantly need a charger for your iOS device.
  4. Mar 29, 2012
    80
    It is the same formula of previous Angry Birds game, but improved and adding the gravitational forces of the planets, which makes things different enough to renovate the gameplay. As fun as ever, although a bit short in content.
  5. Mar 28, 2012
    80
    Rovio's latest is an evolution that feels considerably more ambitious than previous updates.
  6. Mar 27, 2012
    80
    Angry birds Space is a very simple game, but still fun.
  7. Mar 27, 2012
    90
    Angry Birds Space gives a fresh take to the franchise with excellent physics and lots of funny puzzle gameplay.
  8. Mar 27, 2012
    80
    Effortlessly shows why Rovio is currently on top.
  9. Mar 26, 2012
    90
    There has always been a reason that Angry Birds is THE mobile game, and that is because it does what it does extremely well indeed. My own personal iPhone has a folder for "Essentials" on the first page, and it is in to this very folder that I have put Angry Birds Space.
  10. Mar 26, 2012
    80
    When it comes to Angry Birds, you know what to expect, but Angry Birds Space tweaks things just enough to make that statement almost entirely obsolete; sporting brand new mechanics, birds and a host of fun and challenging levels, it's the sequel the series warranted.
  11. Mar 26, 2012
    80
    The gravity element adds more flavor to the classic Angry Birds gameplay, giving you the chance to hit the pigs from different angles. The presence of some new birds is also welcome.
  12. Mar 26, 2012
    86
    If you loved Angry Birds you'll love this one too. New mechanics and new levels for a highly polished videogame.
  13. Mar 26, 2012
    82
    The basic concept might be a bit outdated by now but it still is as addictive as it is simple. And with the addition of gravity and indirect hits it gains a lot of creativity, although luck plays a bigger part than ever before.
  14. Mar 23, 2012
    85
    Angry Birds Space's more aggressive pricing and somewhat random physics results are disappointing, but neither issue detracts from the game's overall quality or fun factor. Space takes the basic Angry Birds experience and adds a twist just big enough to once again reinvigorate the franchise.
  15. Mar 23, 2012
    90
    I enjoy Angry Birds, and understand why so many have grown to love it, but personally I never felt compelled to play more than a few levels. With Angry Birds Space, I was disappointed when I made it to the end. I wanted more. It offers an experimental take on the original game's concepts, and surpasses them in most respects. It's a better game than Angry Birds, and I can't wait to play more of it with the inevitable update that Rovio is probably already planning.
  16. Mar 23, 2012
    80
    There is real craft on show in Angry Birds Space. The merchandise and spin-offs may be ubiquitous, but the gameplay still feels fresh, with enough new elements to reawaken the addiction for players of the previous versions.
  17. Mar 23, 2012
    50
    Rovio, please, stop it.
  18. Mar 23, 2012
    80
    I've been converted! Don't expect me to start wearing Angry Birds T-Shirts all of a sudden, or going back and playing the original. But who knew that sticking an already strange pairing of birds and pigs, and launching them into an off-worldly environment, would turn me around. But, unfortunately for me, it has.
  19. Mar 22, 2012
    70
    It's not as significant a departure from the original games as it first appears but the gravity gimmicks help ensure a series best for the world's most successful video game.
  20. Mar 22, 2012
    80
    With inventive gravity-based puzzles and new birds to fling, Angry Birds Space is a fresh take on a familiar formula.
  21. Mar 22, 2012
    100
    Background music is surreal and intense, which brings back memories of Star Wars & the Twilight Zone with a dash of Angry Birds.
  22. Mar 22, 2012
    100
    Angry Birds is the Super Mario Brothers of mobile devices, and Angry Birds Space is so successful in redefining the Angry Birds formula that everyone should give it a try.
  23. Mar 22, 2012
    100
    It's clear that a lot of thought has gone into these levels, and the overall graphical design feels clean and simple, just like a mobile game should. Even if you thought your interest in Angry Birds had peaked, Angry Birds Space adds enough new gameplay incentives to make it a Must Have app.
  24. Mar 22, 2012
    80
    A great new release from the Angry Birds stable. It adds plenty of great new features to entice players in, both old and new alike. Fans in particular will be delighted, even if they will wonder where all their free time has vanished to.
  25. Mar 22, 2012
    80
    One small catapult for a bird, one adequately sized leap for Rovio's world beating series, Angry Birds Space is as much fun as its predecessor, and adds enough new concepts to keep even the hardiest fans entertained.
  26. Mar 22, 2012
    80
    As far as sequels go, Angry Birds Space straddles that fine line between familiarity and progress exceptionally well – but there's no question that it leans more in the direction of the former than the latter. If you're already a fan of the series (and who isn't?), picking up Rovio's latest release is a no brainer.
  27. Apr 27, 2012
    78
    For 69p, Angry Birds still represents a great bargain for five minute bursts of play. [June 2012, p.84]
  28. 80
    If you ignore the game's pushing for in-app purchases, you'll find 60 levels that revitalizes Angry Birds in ways we didn't think were possible. Angry Birds remains the king of physics puzzlers.
  29. Apr 17, 2012
    88
    Hopefully the public will see the gravity of this situation, because the newest Angry Birds game is the best of the bunch. The concept is more hardcorish than before and the space brings its own physics to the game. This is so addictive! [Apr 2012]
  30. Apr 8, 2012
    85
    Angry Birds Space is a refreshing new take on a well known concept. Figuring out how to launch the birds most effectively has become much more challenging due to the importance of gravity. The game feels fresh and is at least as addicting as its predecessors.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Wow, I don't understand what is the reason for that Angry Birds be popular, is the same game, but I love all the versions. Is one of the mostWow, I don't understand what is the reason for that Angry Birds be popular, is the same game, but I love all the versions. Is one of the most addictive games, and this version, space, is amazing. Angry Birds Space is awesome. Full Review »
  2. Sep 3, 2012
    1
    Angry Birds' goal is mainly wasting as much of your time as it possibly can....and it succeeds completely in fulfilling this need! I thinkAngry Birds' goal is mainly wasting as much of your time as it possibly can....and it succeeds completely in fulfilling this need! I think that's why they went to the stock market. Angry birds must be the most lame game in history. They are "the" only one in their category "strategic non-action" ...impressive! Full Review »
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Despite being bored with the concept of the original angry birds, this game managed to bring me right back. Even people who didn't findDespite being bored with the concept of the original angry birds, this game managed to bring me right back. Even people who didn't find interest in the original Angry Birds will be delighted by this. The visuals are wonderful, the game mechanics are very smart and creative sometimes giving you a big smile or even a shock. Background music is nice and catchy, you can't go wrong with this one. Great mobile game, games like this come few and far in between. Full Review »