Avernum: Escape From the Pit HD Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "Avernum: Escape From the Pit is an amazing game which will provide hours of fun. I would even go so far as to say it’s a nearly perfect example of a role-playing game." -AppleTell"8/10" - Inside Mac GamesAvernum: Escape From the Pit HD is an epic, indie fantasy"Avernum: Escape From the Pit is an amazing game which will provide hours of fun. I would even go so far as to say it’s a nearly perfect example of a role-playing game." -AppleTell"8/10" - Inside Mac GamesAvernum: Escape From the Pit HD is an epic, indie fantasy role-playing adventure. It is optimized for the iPad and features an enormous world, a fascinating story, and 30+ hours of gameplay. Avernum is the first chapter in an epic tale, the story of imprisonment, rebellion, and the struggle for freedom against overwhelming odds.Avernum: Escape From the Pit features:Epic fantasy adventure in an enormous underworld.Huge outdoors and eighty towns and dungeons.Three separate game-winning quests. Seek safety, escape or revenge. Do just one of them or all three!Unique races and settings make Avernum different from any adventure out there.Dozens of side quests and hundreds of magical artifacts.Rich game system with over 50 spells and battle disciplines and a multitude of beneficial character traits to choose from.The Story: You have been banished to the underworld, never to see the light of day again.The surface is ruled by the cruel Emperor Hawthorne, master of the Empire. All of the known lands are subject to his brutal command. Everyone who speaks out, who misbehaves, who doesn’t fit in is cast into the dark, volcanic pits of Avernum, far below the surface. There, you are expected to die, a victim of starvation, horrible monsters, or simple despair.But not all of the Avernites have surrendered. With magic and steel, they are forging a new nation deep underground. You can join them and fight for safety. Or freedom. Or even, if you dare, revenge on the surface-worlders who tried to destroy you. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 13, 2012
    100
    Avernum is a stunning game of massive depth and amazing gameplay. You will lose yourself for hours upon hours, but you'll have a heck of a fun time doing it.
  2. Apr 18, 2012
    90
    The storytelling, customization, and sheer amount of content make this RPG a true powerhouse on iOS.
  3. Apr 11, 2012
    80
    Avernum: Escape From The Pit provides plenty of bang for the buck in a world that's both impressively vast and well realized. Trying to escape a horrifying fate has rarely been this enjoyable.
  4. May 23, 2012
    80
    Avernum: Escape from the Pit HD will be quite an epic experience for anyone who enjoys this older style of RPG. The storyline is interesting, combat system is complex and enjoyable, and the graphics and music fit this type of game well.
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    77
    For devoted RPG fans looking for a traditional RPG, this could be worth a look, but for myself, I will keep waiting unfortunately.
  6. Nov 3, 2012
    70
    This is still a huge, fun to play, absolutely sprawling game in the tradition of classic RPGs of yesteryear, and is really only one of a very few of its kind available on the iPad.
  7. May 23, 2012
    60
    If you can't get enough old-school RPGs, Avernum is indeed what you are looking for. Even in light of my negative experiences with the game from a technical perspective, I cannot deny the satisfying tactical depth and rewarding RPG hooks built into Avernum's core.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    I'm really loving this game. I have tried loads of different RPG titles on my ipad and this one beats them all by a mile. Anyone who lovesI'm really loving this game. I have tried loads of different RPG titles on my ipad and this one beats them all by a mile. Anyone who loves Fallout games or Elder Scrolls games is going to love this as well as the other games made by Spiderweb (Avadon: The Black Fortress and Avernum 6). It takes the form of classic PC RPG titles, much like the style of Fallout and Fallout 2, where your view is from a 90 degree angle. If your looking for beautiful graphics then your going to be disappointed, but then if thats the case you're not really an RPG fan. The gameplay is perfect for the type of game that it is, its the type of game you can spend hours playing, with lots of dungeon crawling, huge open world, collecting items and in depth character levelling. Pure RPG brilliance! Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    If you love old school isometric RPGs and have an iPad then you absolutely MUST get this game. By far the best game I've played on the iPad soIf you love old school isometric RPGs and have an iPad then you absolutely MUST get this game. By far the best game I've played on the iPad so far (and even more enjoyable than many recent console games I've played). I really can't recommend it enough and hope Spider Software bring more of their games to the iPad. Collapse
  3. Aug 13, 2013
    9
    The best RPG I've played on the iPad hands down. Nothing else comes even close and I've played many. That's not to say that the game isThe best RPG I've played on the iPad hands down. Nothing else comes even close and I've played many. That's not to say that the game is perfect but it is very good and a refreshing exception to the Dungeon Hunters and other such "RPGs" that are out there for iPad. Expand