Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 25, 2011
    90
    Back To the Future is a sacred franchise to many fans, Telltale have done well to stay true to the world of Doc and Marty without too much in the way of deviation. While re-creating their universe, Back To the Future Episode 1 produces a great story and some fun puzzles to solve.
  2. Feb 28, 2011
    90
    There's a ton to like about Back to the Future.
  3. Feb 27, 2011
    75
    Telltale's storytelling abilities are second to none, but technical problems on the iPad once again rear their ugly head.
  4. Feb 21, 2011
    70
    Strong writing and some fun scenarios save Back to the Future Ep1 HD from its control and performance issues.
  5. Feb 20, 2011
    70
    A fantastic example of an excellent story and outstanding voice acting, but suffers from a few technical issues including tricky controls and lag in some areas of the game.
  6. Feb 18, 2011
    75
    Back to the Future is a welcome surprise -- it's a movie-inspired game that doesn't suck. Instead, it pushes the characters in interesting directions and whips up a good story.
  7. Mar 22, 2011
    80
    A great experience for fans of the movies, but there isn't much to go back to after the story ends. If you're a fan of point-and-click style games, and if you even remotely enjoy Back to the Future, then this game is great purchase.
  8. Mar 21, 2011
    75
    Overall, this is a solid, if not utterly spectacular, adventure game carefully wrapped up with a beloved license.
  9. Feb 20, 2011
    80
    You can plow through Episode 1 in a couple of hours, but it's still time well spent, and the impressive presentation and story will keep you glued to the screen the whole time. Back to the Future can't escape its issues, but Telltale did what few publishers manage to achieve: do a movie franchise justice. Now give us Episode 2.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    I absolutely loved this game. What i liked best about it was that the story. Also it was amazing to revisit those characters that i loved whenI absolutely loved this game. What i liked best about it was that the story. Also it was amazing to revisit those characters that i loved when i was a child. I recommend this game to anyone who either love back to the future ir adventure games. Full Review »