• Publisher: Beamdog
  • Release Date: Dec 7, 2012
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Jan 30, 2013
    70
    A flawed but admirable port of a game that fundamentally isn't touch-friendly. If you're still on the fence, just know that this game requires commitment. There's gold here, but Baldur's Gate keeps its treasure for the dedicated and does not tolerate dabblers.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    69
    Play it on the PC if you haven't done so. If, like me, you're an old dude that has played this so many times you know almost everything by heart, you'll enjoy having it to take with you wherever you go.
  3. Dec 18, 2012
    60
    If you're not a fan of the original, you'd be best to give this muddled revamp a miss.
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    60
    The iPad version suffers from terribly cumbersome and unresponsive controls for getting through doorways and looting that make the simplest tasks as challenging as any battle.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    A terrific rendition of a seminal RPG. Beamdog deserve an almighty thank you for raising the bar even higher on what can be achieved onA terrific rendition of a seminal RPG. Beamdog deserve an almighty thank you for raising the bar even higher on what can be achieved on today's IOS. Using the index finger may not the perfect interface but its pretty damn close much better than I expected - and I'm real fussy. I have the PC ver too but choose to play exclusively on my IPad. Its just better. The game is as brilliant and re-playable as it ever was and its barely crashed in over 8 hours of play. The save system is subtle and intuitive and the graphics and sound are exactly as they should be. There's weeks of play in here for like 7 quid. Wow. What more could you ask for? Amazing stuff. Just buy it and roll on BG II & Planescape Torment Full Review »
  2. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    I've seen a lot of complaints about the controls, and although there are minor snags, I'm not unhappy with the state of the touch controlsI've seen a lot of complaints about the controls, and although there are minor snags, I'm not unhappy with the state of the touch controls as-is. This is mostly due to the "peek" button that they've added, that serves to highlight all interact-able objects in the room. I do wish I could zoom in further to help with picking up small items (a single ring on the ground is pretty tough to "click" on currently), but it's not impossible or game breaking. Also, I'd go so far as to say the IGN review made it apparent that the reviewer either hadn't played through the entire game as he said, or somehow missed the "peek" button that was staring him in the face for 100 hours. All in all, I'm excited to play through the game again. The iPad adaptation is ABSOLUTELY worth the $10 price tag. Full Review »
  3. Jan 21, 2015
    10
    Thank you, Beamdog, for bringing the sexy classics back!

    BGEE has been out for more than 2 years already and during this time I've spent
    Thank you, Beamdog, for bringing the sexy classics back!

    BGEE has been out for more than 2 years already and during this time I've spent next to 500 hours in this game.

    Not only BGEE does provide the most fluent experience of BG1 for me, it also gives the most detailed UI with all the information I need about my characters' attacks, THACO and damage, provides the Quick loot bar, lets me use unique and interesting kits such as the Shadowdancer and the Blackguard.

    BGEE looks wonderful on my big monitor and from time to time I change the level of zoom for more control of the battle.

    I approve the new NPCs: they have their own unmatched personality and good voice-acting. Dorn has become an essential part of any evil group of mine. I like his style and the abilities he brings. Mark Meer's work on voice-acting of Rasaad and Baeloth should be awarded. Neera brings the chance to finally see wild surges with flying cows and summoning demons right in the centre of a peaceful tavern.

    Beamdog has been constantly improving the game after its launch and has been trying to fix even the slightest inconsistencies players report. I appreciate the level of communication between the players and the developers. On a daily basis we can speak with CamDawg, Phillip Daigle and other developers on our feature requests and different bug reports via the forum.

    The multiplayer mode runs fine and has let me and my wife complete BGEE together in what will be remembered as the funniest playthrough for us ever.

    If you ask me, what does BGEE lack, I would answer that an expansion or a DLC would really finish the job. I've read Beamdog has been working on this, so I predict my wish would be fulfilled.

    I could install the SCS mod, the BG2 Tweaks and the BG 1 NPC Project on BGEE so I never ever wished to return to the vanilla version of the game.

    I can advice anyone who's thinking about acquiring BG1 game to choose BGEE.
    Full Review »