• Publisher: Beamdog
  • Release Date: Dec 7, 2012
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    100
    Overhaul has done the seemingly impossible and brought one the most important RPGs ever to the iPad. Better yet, they did an amazing job.
  2. Dec 24, 2012
    90
    So should you buy this game? Well, that depends on your answer to two questions. First – do you have time on your hands? Second – are you willing to play one of the best RPGs ever? If so, take it from me – three weeks, two days, and 95 hours later, I'm still loving this game. You'll love the new upgrades to the original content, and don't be surprised if the game makes you rethink what you thought you enjoyed about RPGs.
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    As much as I love everything about the game's mechanics, story, and artwork, this specific port does not work as well as it could have.
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    Baldur's Gate: Enhanced Edition knows who it's aiming for and hits the mark almost perfectly, but as a result, gamers yet to enjoy the deep complexity of such an RPG may be quickly overwhelmed and even put off by its clunky design.
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    80
    As a precursor to games such as the Mass Effect or Dragon Age series, it's an immensely important game and one that's aged well.
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    80
    More a re-release than an enhancement, but still a fascinating reminder of how engaging a good role-player can be even without modern graphics.
  7. Dec 10, 2012
    80
    With a steep entry price of $9.99, this probably isn't the game for anyone unsure about whether an unashamedly hardcore, old-school RPG is the right fit for them. If, on the other hand, you played and loved Baldur's Gate back in the day then you already know what to do, and let's be honest you've probably already had your money's worth from the last weekend alone.
  8. Jan 30, 2013
    70
    A flawed but admirable port of a game that fundamentally isn't touch-friendly. If you're still on the fence, just know that this game requires commitment. There's gold here, but Baldur's Gate keeps its treasure for the dedicated and does not tolerate dabblers.
  9. Apr 1, 2013
    69
    Play it on the PC if you haven't done so. If, like me, you're an old dude that has played this so many times you know almost everything by heart, you'll enjoy having it to take with you wherever you go.
  10. Dec 18, 2012
    60
    If you're not a fan of the original, you'd be best to give this muddled revamp a miss.
  11. Dec 14, 2012
    60
    The iPad version suffers from terribly cumbersome and unresponsive controls for getting through doorways and looting that make the simplest tasks as challenging as any battle.
  12. Feb 9, 2013
    45
    It's a wonderful game, but the mod-friendly PC is original is the one to plump for. [March 2013, p.87]
  13. Dec 10, 2012
    39
    Neither visuals nor controls of this once epic adventure are optimized for the tablet. Add to that numerous bugs and crashes and the only advice that I can give you, is to stay away from this.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    A terrific rendition of a seminal RPG. Beamdog deserve an almighty thank you for raising the bar even higher on what can be achieved onA terrific rendition of a seminal RPG. Beamdog deserve an almighty thank you for raising the bar even higher on what can be achieved on today's IOS. Using the index finger may not the perfect interface but its pretty damn close much better than I expected - and I'm real fussy. I have the PC ver too but choose to play exclusively on my IPad. Its just better. The game is as brilliant and re-playable as it ever was and its barely crashed in over 8 hours of play. The save system is subtle and intuitive and the graphics and sound are exactly as they should be. There's weeks of play in here for like 7 quid. Wow. What more could you ask for? Amazing stuff. Just buy it and roll on BG II & Planescape Torment Full Review »
  2. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    I've seen a lot of complaints about the controls, and although there are minor snags, I'm not unhappy with the state of the touch controlsI've seen a lot of complaints about the controls, and although there are minor snags, I'm not unhappy with the state of the touch controls as-is. This is mostly due to the "peek" button that they've added, that serves to highlight all interact-able objects in the room. I do wish I could zoom in further to help with picking up small items (a single ring on the ground is pretty tough to "click" on currently), but it's not impossible or game breaking. Also, I'd go so far as to say the IGN review made it apparent that the reviewer either hadn't played through the entire game as he said, or somehow missed the "peek" button that was staring him in the face for 100 hours. All in all, I'm excited to play through the game again. The iPad adaptation is ABSOLUTELY worth the $10 price tag. Full Review »
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    The game is pretty okay. I have not played the original Baldurs gate but have finihsed Baldurs gate 2. So far I like what I see. I alsoThe game is pretty okay. I have not played the original Baldurs gate but have finihsed Baldurs gate 2. So far I like what I see. I also enjoyed the fact they put additional gaming content.

    Overall a polish game. I have spend 15 hrs in the game so far I have not encountered any major real glitches. Though I have heard people using Intel GPU are having a terrible time.
    Full Review »