Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    100
    For those who have never played Bastion, you have no excuse now. It's a steal – $4.99 for the full game – and it's a beautiful, clever, absolutely one-of-a-kind experience.
  2. Sep 3, 2012
    85
    Colorful, charming and full of atmosphere: The fluid rhythm of fighting, looting and upgrading has been a hit on the 360 and PC and is as convincing on the iPad.
  3. Sep 2, 2012
    100
    The breathtaking action title Bastion is born again on the App Store, complete with all new controls that suit the large touchscreen almost perfectly; if you haven't played it yet, don't hesitate to grab it now.
  4. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    Bastion on iPad features all the same surreal artwork, frantic battling and clever dialogue found in its original console & PC release, with the added bonus of streamlined touch-powered controls. It is as solid as iOS ports come.
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    This is without question one of the most entertaining and smartly designed adventures we've seen for the iPad, a game brimming with visual splendor and old school dungeon crawling.
  6. Sep 10, 2012
    90
    Supergiant Games did a great job adapting the controls and creating a perfect tablet version for an already wonderful action RPG.
  7. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    Immeasurably enhanced by a beautifully realised universe and an original narrative, Bastion is one of the best action-adventure games on the iPad.
  8. Apr 21, 2013
    92
    As I led off by saying, if you enjoy action RPGs and have an iOS device, you should buy Bastion. It's a little pricier than many games in the mobile market, but it is absolutely worth the money.
  9. Aug 31, 2012
    100
    Bastion is simply astounding. This is an action RPG that deserves a spot on every gamer's iPad.
  10. Sep 3, 2012
    90
    The new version of Bastion for iPad 2 and New iPad is gorgeous, the control system is great and the graphics are simply a masterpiece.
  11. Sep 2, 2012
    100
    Minor control issues notwithstanding, Bastion for iPad is just as good, if not better than its console brethren. Every element that made the game so amazing and fascinating returns and the subtle refinements to various features in making the jump to iOS simply add to the experience.
  12. Sep 2, 2012
    90
    It proves that quality titles can make it on Apple's mobile devices without compromising gameplay, graphics, audio, or any other aspect that makes them fit for consoles or the PC/Mac.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    Originally I purchased this game for the PC but I got it again so I could experience it on the Ipad and support the developers, who deserve every penny. is one of the best games I have ever played. Right from the start of the game we have an amazing narrator convey the games story and explain our actions to us. As the game progresses the characters will be fleshed out and we'll discover a vast world with it's own history, culture and politics. Not to spoil anything but I would recommend it on the story alone.. and the narrator of course. The Gameplay is solid with a decent array of weapons which allow us to develop our own playing styles, using two weapon combinations. Many will complain about the difficulty of this game but this game has it's own unique difficulty system which in my mind is quite revolutionary. Instead of choosing "Easy", "Normal", "Hard", etc we all start out the same but as the game continues idols can be found, which allow to raise the difficulty ever so slightly, such as enemies becoming transparent randomly or enemies regenerating health. With all idols activated the game is incredibly challenging. Full Review »
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    1
    Nothing to see here, just another bad port. I have had countless hours of enjoyment with this game on PC, but when I played the ipad version, I almost broke the thing in frustration. Incompetent controls and bad graphics plague this port, and just serves as a reminder to me that gaming on an ipad will never be a suitable way to play games. Stick to the pc version instead. Full Review »
  3. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    While the controls of the game take some getting used to, it is worth the time getting adjusted. It is almost as good as the PC version, but the story and game itself is amazing and needs to be played. The graphics look great and the sounds are all very impressive for a mobile device. Full Review »