• Publisher: Simogo
  • Release Date: Feb 16, 2012
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Apr 8, 2012
    85
    Puzzlegames with musical elements aren't anything new, but Beat Sneak Bandit does feel the part. The game has a delightful graphical style and easy to learn but hard to master gameplay.
  2. Feb 16, 2012
    90
    The controls could use some fine-tuning and I found being unable to 180 without hitting a barrier frustrating, even while understanding that is essential to the puzzle component. Nonetheless, Beat Sneak Bandit has style, well-blended elements from many popular gaming genres, and a unique musical aspect that make for a innovative and pulsating good time.
  3. Mar 8, 2012
    80
    There's that visual layer to it, an efficient backdrop that contributes to a kind of combined audiovisual experience. Nothing is added which isn't essential to the design.
  4. Mar 2, 2012
    80
    A very nice suprise, Beat Sneak Bandit is a quality rythm title with gorgeous visuals and demanding gameplay.
  5. Mar 1, 2012
    87
    It's not just the clever idea or the funky artdesign – it is the combination of everything, infused with a helping of Elite Beat Agents, a pinch of Rhythm Paradise and a teaspoon of Ghost Trick. Beat Sneak Bandit is as creative as intelligent.


  6. Feb 27, 2012
    100
    A true work of art, in so many ways. It's smart. It's challenging. It's gorgeous. But most importantly, it's fun - dizzying, dreamy, and delightful fun.
  7. Feb 22, 2012
    90
    Polished, challenging, wholly original and a heck of a lot of fun. It's a great example of how presentation, control and design can come together to create a cohesive and extremely fun package. Don't miss it!
  8. Feb 22, 2012
    90
    There's a remarkable consistency to the design even as the levels gets steadily bolder until, after hovering vacuums, teleporters, and levers that freeze time, Simogo throws in a climactic boss battle that is as nerve-wracking as it is joyous. It's a compliment to say that Beat Sneak Bandit feels like a Rhythm Tengoku minigame taken to its logical extreme; it's constructed with a precision and a sense of mischief – and, in its final surprise, a generosity of spirit - that echoes the best work of the WarioWare team.
  9. Feb 21, 2012
    90
    The only limitation I see is that because the music is so crucial to gameplay, you can't play with the volume muted. Still, I think that is a small limitation of the application, and the music alone makes for immersive puzzle gameplay.
  10. Feb 21, 2012
    90
    With dead-simple controls, outstanding level design, and engaging graphics and music, Beat Sneak Bandit fires on all cylinders to provide one of the more uniquely stunning experiences we've had with an iOS title.
  11. Feb 20, 2012
    100
    Beat Sneak Bandit is quite unlike any other rhythm game on the market.
  12. Feb 16, 2012
    100
    The sort of game that comes from a mad fever dream that mixes games like Trilby: The Art of Theft and Dance Dance Revolution... the end result is something that carefully balances its puzzles with a rhythm based system, sucking you right in and not letting go until you're done.
  13. Feb 16, 2012
    90
    It is disarmingly addictive, and by far the most original game to hit the App Store in ages. Even if you're a bit rubbish at it, it's impossible not to fall in love with this funky little number.
  14. Feb 16, 2012
    100
    It's rare to find a game that does something so original so well, with every element of gameplay and design falling into place. Simogo has pulled it off with Beat Sneak Bandit. In my books it's a must buy, and such a shame it would be to miss out.
  15. Feb 16, 2012
    100
    Like many success stories on the AppStore, it's the simplicity that makes Beat Sneak Bandit shine. On the face of it it looks like any other platformer, with elements from classics such as Donkey Kong, Manic Miner and Mario. But by injecting it all with rhythm, Simogo have created something truly unique.
  16. Feb 16, 2012
    90
    It's an unlikely mix for sure, but Beat Sneak Bandit's smart blend of puzzling and beat-matching proves to be an ingeniously crafted delight.
  17. Apr 17, 2012
    90
    An excellent and original rhythm puzzle game. [Apr 2012]
  18. Apr 12, 2012
    80
    There's something intoxicating about playing a game as upbeat as this one is. [May 2012, p.29]
  19. Apr 3, 2012
    91
    A wonderful little puzzler that will charm and entertain you effortlessly. [Apr 2012, p.93]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    Lovely game.Was completely addicted from the time I bought it.Concept is beautiful and patience is required at every stage.There is a joy in clearing the finale as well!! ...Great game by Simogo..Totally worth its price. Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2012
    9
    I had a ton of fun with Beat Sneak Bandit. I got hooked to it in my first few minutes playing it, and couldn't stop. It has animated, cute graphics and music which totally fits and changes often so it is not repetitive. Its difficulty is well balanced as the normal levels are easy-intermediate difficulty while the shadow levels (harder levels in which everything is a silhouette) are intermediate-hard. My only problem was that when I first started the game I had no clue when to move my character and had to rely on the top of the screen (where it shows when you can move) rather than the audio. I had a pleasant time with it, and can't wait to go back to playing it. Also, there is replay value in collecting more clocks. Full Review »
  3. Mar 29, 2012
    2
    While I can appreciate this game for it's artistic style, polish and demeanor, I simply don't enjoy it that much. It's definitely a game that I wish I liked more than I do. There's simply no hook for me in terms of gameplay. You just tap to the beat trying to synchronize your path with the rhythm, the only payoff is finishing the level perfectly, which simply doesn't feel all that great. Full Review »