• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Every level is a rhythmical puzzle loop that repeats itself. All actions in the game is performed to the beat - automatic doors open and close to the beat, security lights turn on and off rhythmically and guard patrol routes are choreographed like dance routines!

    Conduct massive rescue
    operations with a helping hand from snipers, artillery crews, orbital bombardments, and more. Experience the tactical richness of fully-destructible environments and procedurally-generated campaigns.

    It takes both cunning and rhythmical timing to solve the puzzles. Listen and watch the rhythms to learn the patterns, then tap to the beat to sneak and figure out how to get every clock on the level by timing your steps correctly. But be careful - if your taps are off beat, clocks will self-destroy!
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    100
    A true work of art, in so many ways. It's smart. It's challenging. It's gorgeous. But most importantly, it's fun - dizzying, dreamy, and delightful fun.
  2. Feb 16, 2012
    100
    Like many success stories on the AppStore, it's the simplicity that makes Beat Sneak Bandit shine. On the face of it it looks like any other platformer, with elements from classics such as Donkey Kong, Manic Miner and Mario. But by injecting it all with rhythm, Simogo have created something truly unique.
  3. Feb 16, 2012
    100
    The sort of game that comes from a mad fever dream that mixes games like Trilby: The Art of Theft and Dance Dance Revolution... the end result is something that carefully balances its puzzles with a rhythm based system, sucking you right in and not letting go until you're done.
  4. Feb 16, 2012
    90
    It's an unlikely mix for sure, but Beat Sneak Bandit's smart blend of puzzling and beat-matching proves to be an ingeniously crafted delight.
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    90
    The only limitation I see is that because the music is so crucial to gameplay, you can't play with the volume muted. Still, I think that is a small limitation of the application, and the music alone makes for immersive puzzle gameplay.
  6. Feb 16, 2012
    90
    The controls could use some fine-tuning and I found being unable to 180 without hitting a barrier frustrating, even while understanding that is essential to the puzzle component. Nonetheless, Beat Sneak Bandit has style, well-blended elements from many popular gaming genres, and a unique musical aspect that make for a innovative and pulsating good time.
  7. Mar 2, 2012
    80
    A very nice suprise, Beat Sneak Bandit is a quality rythm title with gorgeous visuals and demanding gameplay.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    Lovely game.Was completely addicted from the time I bought it.Concept is beautiful and patience is required at every stage.There is a joy in clearing the finale as well!! ...Great game by Simogo..Totally worth its price. Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Man, I so adore this wonderfully charming little game! Blending the very best that puzzle, platform, and rhythm genre's have to offer, Beat Sneak Bandit is right up there (with World of Goo, Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP, Machinarium, and The World Ends With You), as one of my top five games on the entire iOS platform. Yes, this utterly fabulous, addict-a-thon is really *that* good. The graphics, the art, the music, the level design, and even the sense of humour that Simogo brings to the table are all absolutely top drawer.

    Oh, and if Simogo are listening, I have one simple request - PLEASE, please (pretty please?) bring Beat Sneak Bandit, Bumpy Road, and Kosmo Spin to Playstation Vita. Okay, that's more like three (not so) simple requests, but you get the gist. A 'Simogo HD Collection' on PSN or even a 'Simogo 3D Collection on Nintendo's 3DS eShop would comfortably be one of the standout highlights of 2013. For me at least. Go on Simogo, you know it makes sense!
    Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2012
    9
    I had a ton of fun with Beat Sneak Bandit. I got hooked to it in my first few minutes playing it, and couldn't stop. It has animated, cute graphics and music which totally fits and changes often so it is not repetitive. Its difficulty is well balanced as the normal levels are easy-intermediate difficulty while the shadow levels (harder levels in which everything is a silhouette) are intermediate-hard. My only problem was that when I first started the game I had no clue when to move my character and had to rely on the top of the screen (where it shows when you can move) rather than the audio. I had a pleasant time with it, and can't wait to go back to playing it. Also, there is replay value in collecting more clocks. Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2012
    5
    this game is fun to play a couple of times but afterwards it gets boring. the music is nice and fun but the game is simply not as addictive as you would hope it to be Collapse
  5. Mar 30, 2012
    4
    If it weren't for it being TO simply - I'd love this game.
    It got cool, upbeat music, appealing style but no sense to hook you with it's
    gameplay.

    After 10-15 minutes I'm already bored. I wish it could give me something else.
    But hey - try it out at least. Hopefully you'll enjoy it more then I did.
    Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2012
    2
    While I can appreciate this game for it's artistic style, polish and demeanor, I simply don't enjoy it that much. It's definitely a game that I wish I liked more than I do. There's simply no hook for me in terms of gameplay. You just tap to the beat trying to synchronize your path with the rhythm, the only payoff is finishing the level perfectly, which simply doesn't feel all that great. Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2012
    0
    Please stop boring me with childish **** 10-15 minutes I'm already bored. I wish it could give me something else. You just tap to the beat trying to synchronize your path with the rhythm, the only payoff is finishing the level perfectly, which simply doesn't feel all that great. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2012

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2012 Image
    Published: December 20, 2012
    Find out which iOS titles finished the year as 2012's best in our annual look at the top games for Apple mobile devices.