Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Sep 2, 2013
    82
    A fulfiller of nail-biting needs. [Oct 2013, p.78]
  2. Jul 19, 2013
    80
    Elements from several of the most popular (and beloved) modern tactical franchises come together to create something no strategy fan should be without.
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    80
    Replay value is very good, as there are plenty of unlockables and mixing up your loadouts can have an impact on how the battles play out. Additionally, enemy placement varies from one effort to the next, so that helps to keep things fresh.
  4. Jul 18, 2013
    75
    Breach & Clear falls somewhat short of being all that it could be.
  5. Jul 22, 2013
    70
    Breach & Clear isn’t the perfect game, but it packs quite a strategic punch for such a low price making it worth the price of admission.
  6. Jul 18, 2013
    70
    Breach & Clear is a short-lived but smartly designed tactics game with impressive military authenticity.
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    70
    This compelling and appealingly hard-edged strategy is a few tactical adjustments away from achieving its goals. Worth a look.
  8. Jul 18, 2013
    65
    Breach & Clear's monetization scheme doesn't interfere with the gameplay, and although strategy plays less of a role than I would like, combat is still fun. However, the progression system and customization options fall flat, and the game needs more than one simple mode and 15 maps to remain entertaining.
  9. Jul 18, 2013
    63
    It’s hard to recommend Breach & Clear in its current state for anyone but the most devoted of tactical players or military fanboys. Maybe the upcoming modes and maps will add some variety, but as it stands now, it’s a pretty empty and shallow experience.
  10. Aug 6, 2013
    60
    Breach & Clear is still a serviceable strategy game, and has the potential to become much more if the upcoming DLC modes infuse the mission structure with some much-needed variety.
  11. Jul 31, 2013
    60
    It may lack the roundness and heft of Frozen Synapse or X-Com: Enemy Unknown (both heavyweight strategy games that launched on iOS this year) but it also has an appeal that's distinct from these titles: the thrill of arranging a trap and then watching from the sidelines as its various components trigger.
  12. Jul 23, 2013
    60
    Overall the game's a good time but has a couple issues, the least of which are those boring cubicles. Most importantly, we feel the touchscreen controls don't work as they should.
  13. Jul 22, 2013
    60
    If I was more aware of the missing content this review may have been a bit easier to swallow. But expectations are everything, and if Breach & Clear expected what little it gave us to be OK for now… it expected wrongly. Sadly, though, some of us also expected the wrong thing.
  14. Jul 23, 2013
    50
    Breach & Clear is a game that does a lot of little things right, but once the gameplay hits, almost all of that is thrown out the window. The customization alone may be more than enough to keep some players invested for a short while. On the other hand, the bare-bones gameplay will be a huge turn-off to both hardcore strategy fans and users looking for a new mobile game.
  15. Jul 30, 2013
    40
    It's an experience that only lives up to its name in one way; it makes you want to get in and out as quickly as possible.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    If you're a PC gamer and you like SWAT series, Rainbow Six series, new XCom strategy you absolutely have to buy this Breach and Clear game. It's mandatory!!

    Short version:
    + amazing tactical gameplay
    + tons of customization options for guns and uniform
    + ability to fully create a team (name, country, type of army forces, fully create characters)
    + possibly one of the best monetisation system I've seen (it is easy to earn in-game cash by doing missions instead of real life money)

    - silent perks and attachments for guns have no point in currently available kill 'em all mode
    - no way for a soldier to automatically turn and shoot unless it's return fire time or you manually tell them to go here while looking in other direction
    - needs permadeath and hardcore mode!

    And here is my full version :)

    Right after you start Breach and Clear you're being asked to do one of my favorite things in games create your squad and create each and every character! You can enter name, select face and class. Each class has some distinct features, so most likely you're going to have more balanced team in second squad.

    So when team of you and 3 of your friends created it is time to make the world a better place! And oh my there is a lot of tools for it! Rifles (customizable scopes, triggers gas system camos, foregrips, suppressors, muzzle flashes and so on), grenades, flashbangs, UAV, lockpicks, breach charges, list can go on forever! Bottom line there are plenty of choices here. You can create either slow moving tanks or fast ninjas with guns (SAS black uniform especially fits perfectly for this task).

    OK OK. You have a team of you and your friends, fully equipped and eager to end lives of terrorists! Currently there are 15 missions with 5 difficulty levels, meaning you're gonna run over 75 missions! Each difficulty level doesn't bring yet another 5 stars. They balanced perfectly and by the time toughest difficulty pops-up your guys and you will be ready to pretty much anything (and yet terrorists will still give you a great fight and will question your every tactical decision!). Levels themselves are different. There are simple offices, streets, bazaars, ships, ports and more! Each has unique visual style. Which is a plus.

    Later on new feature was added. It allows player to record gameplay without unnecessary UI elements to save those precious moments of justice delivery "on tape" and share moments of glory with other people on Facebook and Twitter. After I saw its implementation this feature is mandatory to every other game I'll be playing on iOS!

    Game also has option for you to buy in-game cash, but in this case that popular saying "you can play in our game without single purchase and achieve success" is 200% true. You can however and pretty much have to buy those charity ribbons! As for normal in-game money it's easy to acquire them through missions.

    There are some minor issues here and there. For example if my guy is strafing and looking in a direction where no one was spotted why can't he automatically turn and shot a terrorist standing on his side. I have to either manually set direction for that that to happen or hoping that return fire will be spot on.

    One other problem is when soldier of freedom and terrorist are in full cover. Most of the times they can shoot on each other turn after turn and nothing happens. It's kinda annoying sometimes when there is no way to flank an enemy.

    This one is big. For me it is the biggest problem with this game. I don't see any point in silencers. Currently only objective available kill them all. And if your units are in amazing tactical position it probably a good idea to make some noise, so terrorists can hear it and come check what's going on and greet my bullets with their heads. Developers promise updates with new modes like hostage rescue... so it looks like my biggest issue will be irrelevant hopefully soon!

    Another issue is probably better be called a suggestion special hardcore mode with permadeath. That'll add a great twist into planning! Lets hope developers read these ideas and at least take them into consideration!
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    I really admire how the combat has been distilled into this simple core of move and aim, breach and clear.
    If you need an overall appraisal
    of the game, Search AppsGoer to get a full review. Full Review »
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    This is a very solid game, and surprisingly addictive. I've never played anything like it on the iOS. Kind of reminds me of XCOM lite, or maybe the planning stages from the old Rainbow Six games. Really good stuff. Graphics are great for iOS, nothing ground breaking though. Music is really good, absolutely adore the main theme. Needs a few more stages, a little more meat, but otherwise, great game. Full Review »