Broken Sword: Director's Cut iOS

Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
Stream On
  1. Feb 4, 2011
    100
    This classic murder mystery adventure has undergone a facelift in visuals, sound, and interface while keeping the excellent story and gameplay intact.
  2. Feb 4, 2011
    100
    We were swept up by this intelligent, intriguing story with lots of likable characters.
  3. Feb 4, 2011
    100
    Even though I've never been a huge fan of point-and-click adventure games, the story and all around high-quality production values of Broken Sword sucked me in like a good book.
  4. Mar 20, 2011
    90
    A brilliant entry point for others who have yet to embark on such adventures.
  5. Mar 11, 2011
    90
    If you haven't played Broken Sword before, its delightful -if occasionally idiosyncratic- puzzling and terrific script should send it hurtling to the top of your 'must download' list.
  6. Feb 4, 2011
    90
    Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars is one of those immortal classics that everybody should play at least once in their life: if you hadn't the chance to live this amazing adventure don't skip this app.
  7. Feb 4, 2011
    90
    An extraordinary example of how to properly remake a classic, Broken Sword: Director's Cut remasters the original with wise alterations that galvanise rather than degrade.
  8. Feb 4, 2011
    80
    Nice work, Revolution. With BASS and now Broken Sword, the developer has proved that the iPhone can handily support some of the best classic adventure games.
  9. Feb 4, 2011
    80
    But I was surprised how much it drew me in with it's great visuals, sound, and well implemented interface. The winner here though is the story, which much like a good book can keep you glued to your little screen.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jul 18, 2017
    10
    The original is my all time favourite game, i don't think the directors cut adds much. An exciting story with plenty of suspense and lots ofThe original is my all time favourite game, i don't think the directors cut adds much. An exciting story with plenty of suspense and lots of amazing puzzles. Full Review »
  2. Jul 28, 2014
    9
    Well like most people I had the original Broken Sword when I was younger, I had it on the ps1. I don't believe I ever finished it as I wasWell like most people I had the original Broken Sword when I was younger, I had it on the ps1. I don't believe I ever finished it as I was just a child but I still have fond memories of the game. Broken Sword is unlike most other games, technically it is a simple 2D point and click adventure game. It is a perfect game to play on a tablet (I played on Nook HD+ 10 inch). I imagine it could be quite fiddly on a smaller device like a phone.

    So what makes Broken Sword such a classic? There are many reasons such as the brilliant storyline and puzzles, the amazing 2D scenery, the locations, the adventure, the characters etc. The puzzles are probably harder than most other games, hence I never completed this as a child. Generally if you get stuck just try everything no matter how obscure it may seem. The locations and scenery are beautiful to say the least. Just goes to show what can be done, even though Broken Sword was first released many years ago. This may be an old game but it is better than the vast majority of modern games. Parts of the game I will always remember such as Hotel Ubu, the part in Lochmarne (Ireland) and Spain. There are so many memorable moments and brilliant characters.

    This is probably in the best handful of games ever made. I plan to pick up Broken Sword 2 on the tablet before moving onto the newer versions at some stage. Obviously BS5 The Serpent's Curse has recently been released. Glad the series is continuing as it is one of the best. Overall a brilliant and classic game.

    I give 9 out of 10.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    I know I gave it a 10 but this game is so amazing. I can't wait to finish the first one so I can get to the second and third. The art work,I know I gave it a 10 but this game is so amazing. I can't wait to finish the first one so I can get to the second and third. The art work, puzzles and gameplay are amazing. I can't stop playing. I want to see a remake of Phantasmaoria or Full Throttle. Full Review »