Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Feb 2, 2012
    96
    If you are a fan of the Call of Duty zombie games then Black Ops Zombies is a must-own addition to your iPad library, if for no other reason than Dead-Ops Arcade. I've easily logged twice as many hours in that mode as the main FPS game, but that will likely change when new maps start to drop.
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    80
    Now that we've actually been able to advance past the menus and delve into the gameplay, we are reminded why we enjoyed their previous release so much.
  3. Dec 11, 2011
    80
    Overall, the concept is very fun.
  4. Dec 4, 2011
    80
    An enjoyable game, despite a few niggles. Of course, more maps would have been welcome, but what's included will keep the player busy for quite a while.
  5. Dec 4, 2011
    80
    Some niggles with the controls and pricing aside, Call of Duty: Black Ops: Zombies is a fine port of the entertaining survival mode.
  6. Dec 4, 2011
    75
    Despite a few drawbacks, Call of Duty: Black Ops Zombies is a very fun FPS.
  7. Dec 4, 2011
    70
    World at War Zombies was simply revolutionary for its time and, while Black Ops Zombies certainly improves on nearly every aspect of its predecessor, our expectations of what makes a great game have certainly changed. It's not enough to simply add a new map and a better visual paintjob and call it a day.
  8. Dec 22, 2011
    69
    Call of Duty: Black Ops Zombies is no doubt a good port as it comes with some very nice graphics and a solid gameplay. The game suffers from several problems, though: cumbersome controls, lack of maps, online issues. Better wait for the next updates.
  9. Dec 5, 2011
    60
    Call of Duty: Black Ops Zombies almost succeeds in transplanting the console version of the game to the iOS platform, but balance issues, network problems, and a serious lack of variety make it hard to swallow the price of entry.
  10. Dec 4, 2011
    60
    At $6.99, Call of Duty: Black Ops Zombies is a tough sell. Plenty of other games offer more content for that price (or less). What's more, having just one map and no online play definitely hurts this title's appeal. Worth the dough if you're a high roller. Otherwise, wait for additional maps and online co-op.
  11. 50
    It may look like Zombies but it certainly doesn't play like it, in a portable conversion that copies all the features but delivers none of the fun.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    Everything about Black Ops Zombies is awesome, for the other reviewers, they obviously haven't went deep into the story of Black Ops ZOMBIES.Everything about Black Ops Zombies is awesome, for the other reviewers, they obviously haven't went deep into the story of Black Ops ZOMBIES. The final conclusion (The Moon Easter Egg!) Is nothing shory of epic... The only problem I have is that it gets boring around 33 Full Review »
  2. Dec 18, 2014
    7
    This is a good zombies app for iOS. It has good graphics, good menus, and all of the guns from the XBOX 360 and PS3 game. However, I recentlyThis is a good zombies app for iOS. It has good graphics, good menus, and all of the guns from the XBOX 360 and PS3 game. However, I recently purchased this game for the iPhone 6, and it just flat out doesn't work. It starts off with a pink screen and says loading and just crashes. Please fix this!!!!! Although this is probably due to the lack of updates. 7/10 (good) Full Review »
  3. Sep 4, 2014
    3
    -Maps are well replicated and fun
    -Retains the Call of Duty feel
    -Interesting Comic-book styled menus -Fair Controls Cons: -Little to no
    -Maps are well replicated and fun
    -Retains the Call of Duty feel
    -Interesting Comic-book styled menus
    -Fair Controls
    Cons:
    -Little to no challenge
    -Terrible Sound
    -Mediocre Graphics
    -Not enough dialogue from the Zombie Crew
    -Underpowered Raygun

    Call of duty zombies was a rip roaring success on ios, and demonstrated the iPhone's capabilities as a gaming device. It was astounding to see an iOS device port a console FPS game. Due to it's popularity, it was not surprising to see Black Ops Zombies enter the App Store, but unfortunately the game took more steps back then it did forward. Activision put a good effort into the map design, but there are too many flaws to make this game as enjoyable as the World at War version, let alone the console version.

    To start on a semi-positive note, the menu layout is fantastic. Set up in a comic book style, the menu was interesting and easy to use. A neat addition to the menu is the ability to chose characters in your loadout. I grew weary of hearing Tank Dempsey's voice from WAW Zombies, so this was a nice add-on.

    I also found the control scheme well constructed. A lot of people seemed to critique this part of the game, but I had no trouble using them. The only issue came from firing weapons. Instead of tapping a button to fire, you must tap on the right side of the screen, the same side used to control your character's vision. Because of this, I would sometimes fire my weapon by mistake.

    The map selection is great. There are a total of four maps full of detail and areas to explore. Kino der Toten is a simple but sweet map which is easy to navigate and unlock areas. Dead Ops Arcade offers a zany side to the gameplay, playing from the birds-eye view of a soldier, you must fight off zombies in an arcade styled battle, with lots of treasure to collect and over a 100 areas to explore. Then there is Ascension, a medium sized rocket launch map with platforms to fly on. Lastly there is Call of the Dead, my personal favorite and the largest map of the game which includes some fun zip lines, catapults and slides to mess around with. The maps themselves are well designed and surprisingly all fit at only around 800 mb, however the gameplay on these maps are flawed.

    For starters the sound quality is terrible. The SFX is grainy, especially the voices of the zombie crew. The Zombie Crew have very few quotes compared to the console version, so they will constantly repeat themselves. After hearing "Nikolai can not die! Hey that rhymes!" for the 3rd time in a row, I turned off the audio in annoyance.

    The graphics also aren't on par with most fps games on mobile devices. The gib system also isn't as great as its predecessor.

    But probably the worst flaw of this game is how easy it is. Even on the game's veteran mode, you can easily make it to high rounds. The zombies' heads can be easily shot off, no matter what weapon you are using. I experimented how easy it would be to shoot off a zombies head with weak weapons on high rounds. I was able to shoot them clean off with a pistol on round 40. Not only are there issues with the zombies' health, but the zombies also have a long respond time. The zombies take a longer time to strike you, making it easy to weave through waves of them. The auto aim feature is also way too overpowered.

    Some other issues include the ray gun being underpowered. When shot at a zombie, the zombies will only split in half (and only one zombie can be hit from the ray) even on a headshot. You'll then have to use another bullet to finish off the split zombie, which eats up a lot of ammo.

    It's a real shame that BOZ wasn't a success. The maps were ported almost flawlessly, but the gameplay itself was below satisfactory. If you're looking for a Call of Duty equivalent for ios, try World at War Zombies or Modern Combat instead.
    Full Review »