Carmageddon iOS

Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
Stream On
  1. Oct 21, 2012
    70
    Carmageddon is an older game, and it shows even on a mobile device, but people don't always love old games purely because they're old. Sometimes they love them because they're fun. And despite the slippery controls, this bit of nostalgia is still very, very fun.
  2. Oct 21, 2012
    80
    Carmageddon may have lost its sheen along with its controversial edge, but it's lost none of its schlocky, multilayered charm.
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    70
    Carmageddon delivers a charming, though very frustrating, experience. The game is packed with lots of cars and tracks, and it's very fun to play, but you have to deal with some awkward controls.
  4. Nov 12, 2012
    60
    The very same game we know, being this both positive and negative. We need to mention that the control is harder on iDevices, but it's not a bad choice if you want to relive this controversial classic.
  5. Oct 26, 2012
    50
    Carmageddon on iOS is the exact same game that came out in 1997, which it doesn't get away with nowadays. It's never been a franchise about refined techniques, but revolved around pure, raw fun. To experience that fun, you'll have to get past a number of barriers, like bad controls and an awful look.
  6. Oct 21, 2012
    75
    Carmageddon may not live up to its glory days of the past, but these old cars still have a lot of fight left in them.
  7. Oct 21, 2012
    100
    Carmageddon is the '97 classic given just enough of a tweaking to make it feel at home on the iOS platform - there are still some quirks left over from the original, but smashing your way through pedestrians and vehicles alike makes for a disturbingly fun distraction.
  8. Oct 21, 2012
    60
    Carmageddon has never been a great racing game, not in 1997 and not in 2012. It is however some of the most fun you can have on four wheels in a game. I have already had more fun playing this game than I have ever had in Real Racing or Need For Speed. Sure the gameplay differs greatly, but when I play games it is about having fun. Carmageddon spits at realism, farts at proper handling and pees on fair play, and that is just how I like it.
  9. Oct 21, 2012
    80
    I have no recollection of how the original game progressed - I mainly just remember the moment-to-moment glee of splattering pedestrians - but this iOS version is a series of unlockable levels, a collection of unlockable cars, a garage full of car upgrades, and variable goals for each level. If that's not enough, leaderboards, achievements, and challenges are all supported on Gamecenter. In other words, a whole lot of incentive to drive, smash, and splatter.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. This is a great game for everyone who likes the series! Even though before I played mainly Carmageddon 2, I enjoyed very much this one on the phone! Brings me back years ago. I find the controls fine. For whoever is interested, be aware, a new Carmageddon will be coming soon for the PC Full Review »
  2. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    For this price, the ability to own one of the most fun and controversial games is a must. The gameplay in this is incredible, just like it wasFor this price, the ability to own one of the most fun and controversial games is a must. The gameplay in this is incredible, just like it was so long ago - I had so much fun with this series while back, that being able to play the first one on my smartphone is just one of the things that make me happy. I highly recommend this game to anyone, who wants to check how many barriers in games, both ethical and gameplay-wise, were able to be broken back in a day. This is an expression of pure freedom of mind, that Stainless games represent. And the feeling of people and cows running away from you with screaming, the thrill of going head on with your enemy is there again! As sick as it is, it's also extremely fun, and the weird powerups that you can collect along the way makes it clear that this is not realistic, so it's not only for sociopaths. I love that game, and if you'd approach it with an open mind, you'd love it too. You can always search for 'Carma Free' to check out the demo. It's worth it! Full Review »