Castle Doombad iOS

Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
Stream On
  1. Jan 10, 2014
    100
    Castle Doombad is good fun built on top of solid mechanics. If you're a fan of trap or tower-defense games, pick this one up.
  2. Jan 9, 2014
    100
    Developer Grumpyface Studios does nearly everything right in making a highly enjoyable TD game in Castle Doombad, and you owe it to yourself to check it out.
  3. Jan 9, 2014
    95
    Castle Doombad is one of the best games I've played on the mobile platform -- full stop. It's charming, the visuals are likable and sleek, and it suits a touch-based interface perfectly. For a mere few bucks Doombad simulates the experience of many full-on retail priced trap games, and that's a pretty rare accomplishment.
  4. Jan 22, 2014
    90
    Castle Doombad subtly reinvents the tower defense genre while infusing a bunch of personality to make for a must buy that you will enjoy for a long time to come.
  5. Jan 20, 2014
    90
    I really loved Castle Doombad’s deft mixture of intricate and addictive game play. It’s a slam-bang journey that does so much good that sometimes breaking bad is the only way to go. Especially if a beautiful princess is your unwilling companion.
  6. Jan 15, 2014
    90
    Castle Doombad is an impressive tower defense game that charms and challenges in equal doses.
  7. Jan 13, 2014
    90
    Even if it isn't entirely original - and could really benefit from dropping the freemium elements - Castle Doombad is a terrific way to kick off 2014's mobile gaming season. Tower defense fans won't want to miss it, and casual fans will find a lot to like as well.
  8. Feb 3, 2014
    85
    Castle Doombad is funny, addicting and original enough to keep tower defense fans entertained for hours. If you’re looking for a new addiction, then Castle Doombad is your game.
  9. Jan 28, 2014
    85
    Castle Doombad is fun, immediate and packed with plenty of traps and levels. Undoubtedly one of the best tower defense games around.
  10. It’s a nice twist on traditional defense-style games. The strategy is surprisingly thoughtful, and the wacky traps rarely failed to bring a smile to my face.
  11. Jan 14, 2014
    80
    This is about as casual as a tower defense game gets and seems to have been designed for the individual that found Plants Vs. Zombies too complex. However, while this is a fairly basic and simple tower defense game, sometimes you can find brilliance in simplicity, and Castle Doombad comes very close to achieving just that.
  12. Jan 14, 2014
    80
    A fresh and attractive casual tower defence game that benefits from the sharp interplay between its various units.
  13. Jan 9, 2014
    80
    With any luck, a future update will help Dr. Lord Evilstein find some tolerance for your mistakes, and Castle Doombad will go on being a lively and fun tower defense game that contributes some interesting ideas to the genre.
  14. Jan 9, 2014
    80
    Castle Doombad brings many different types of tower defense together into one game.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    Very enjoyable, every TD gamer should play this game, trust me. It is a very innovative game, with a nice challenge, and will keep youVery enjoyable, every TD gamer should play this game, trust me. It is a very innovative game, with a nice challenge, and will keep you interested until there is no level to finish. Full Review »
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    I have played only 2 hours so far, but I am not disappointed. I would say the best game I have played in 2014 so far (out of 50 I guess, I amI have played only 2 hours so far, but I am not disappointed. I would say the best game I have played in 2014 so far (out of 50 I guess, I am also a video game dev). The game is well polished, the art is really good, the animations are funny, it is full of humor. I have not finished it yet, but it seems that you are not obligated to buy any IAP to progress. Full Review »
  3. Jan 19, 2014
    1
    This game sucks. If you've played plants vs zombies, i can't see how this is enjoyable. The pacing is just so, boring and frustrating. TheThis game sucks. If you've played plants vs zombies, i can't see how this is enjoyable. The pacing is just so, boring and frustrating. The achievements aren't real achievments but made to stretch the game out when you repeat the stage so you can get more money. This is not stimulating at all. I do not like this game. What a waste of 3 bucks. I hate how these critic reviews lure me in to get some games that are not very good. Maybe my standard is way higher after playing a game like Hoplite last week which has 8 bit graphics but top notch game play 10/10. Sorcery and Hero Academy are good games too. This game sucks. Do NOT waste your money. Full Review »