Chaos Rings Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: ----- Two weeks only! To commemorate the release of CHAOS RINGS for iPad, all Square Enix games are on sale! ----- From the makers of FINAL FANTASY and FINAL FANTASY II comes a brand new RPG masterpiece for the iPhone and iPod touch!! CHAOS RINGS takes full advantage of the iPhone and iPod touch’s capabilities. Using a classic game system that any RPG fan will enjoy, it presents an epic tale consisting of four different scenarios, all brought to you with gorgeous sound and unbelievably smooth 3D graphics.

    The story revolves around a tournament where combatants fight for their lives: the Ark Arena. Upon choosing a pair of characters, one male and one female, you will then have to fight against the other pairs. Each pair has their own story, and the truth behind the Ark Arena will not be revealed until each story is completed.


    Game Features;
    -Amazingly smooth 3D graphics

    -Gorgeous sound that takes full advantage of the iPhone and iPod touch’s powerful hardware

    -A deep story with unique twists for every pair and multiple endings

    -Traditional game and battle systems polished to perfection

    -Hours upon hours of gameplay, complete with hidden bosses, secret weapons, and more


    Media reviews;
    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/24/arts/television/24chaos.html
    - The New York Times

    Chaos Rings is the only title I will be playing for quite some time, outside of my normal review requirements.
    - 148Apps

    The turn-based fighting is gratifying and never got old, and the story and character development remains immersive even in short play sessions.
    - Touch Arcade

    The iPhone finally has its own triple-A Square Enix RPG that actually reaches the heights of a Final Fantasy or Chrono Trigger.
    - Slide to Play

    The story, and characters found within Chaos Rings are the most interesting and intriguing I have come across for the iPhone, and perhaps I have to go back to Final Fantasy VII to find it’s equal.
    - TouchGen
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feb 1, 2011
    100
    We had always hoped Square Enix would deliver an original, Final Fantasy-caliber series to the iPhone, and they've finally delivered.
  2. Feb 1, 2011
    100
    I do not hesitate to claim that Chaos Rings has the potential to change iDevice gaming as we know it, and for the better.
  3. Feb 1, 2011
    100
    In the end, it's not really about how Chaos Rings does anything especially new, but rather how it takes all the pieces of a traditional role-playing game and packages it together in a way that feels natural to the platform.
  4. Feb 1, 2011
    90
    The first premium title for the iPhone is an awesome game reinventing the action RPG genre fully. With marvellous visuals, great controls, deep gene magic system and four intriguing story lines there is no better way to spend your first days of spring.
  5. Feb 1, 2011
    90
    A marriage of great graphics and solid role-playing, Chaos Rings works through minor hitches to provide enjoyable gameplay.
  6. Feb 1, 2011
    80
    The best thing that I can say about Chaos Rings is that, unlike other ports of RPGs that have been brought to the iPhone, (like the original Final Fantasy remakes or Korean cell phone games like Zenonia and Across Age) this is a game that was made for the platform, and it shows.
  7. Mar 4, 2011
    80
    It's beautifully made with attention paid to every aspect of its visual and musical presentation.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    Yes it is expensive for an Iphone game but it is worth it. It is a long game with a unique story and it has lots of cool characters to play as as well. The entire time I played the game all I could think is I can't believe this is an Iphone game. Chaos Rings is good in pretty much every way. It looks amazing for being on the Iphone, the combat is like Final Fantasy but with a twist and the music is really good too. It's a great game with lots to do and it's pretty long too which is another bonus. Expand
  2. May 30, 2011
    10
    Anyone who has purchased Square Enix apps knows that, though they are always top notch, they are a little pricy compared to the rest of the App Store content. It is for that exact reason that for the longest time, I was aversed to purchasing this game. However, eventually a discount day arose where I purchased this title for 4.99 because the price had finally become, in my eyes, reasonable and fair. However, now having played through this title, I can say with the utmost certainty that this game would've been worth the purchase if I had bought it full price. Story: 10/10 I would go into detail, but doing so would ruin it :( sorry! All I will say is that it is complex, engrossing, and part of the finest Square Enix has to offer.

    Gameplay: 9/10

    In all honesty, there's nothing new. Everything from roaming the overworld to the constant battles and grinding that you'll do feels VERY Final-Fantasy esque. Why the 10 then? Because the formula works, and it's been MUCH improved on. All actions are fluid; battles are engrossing with plenty of new features; random encounters aren't as bothersome now that you have the ability to turn encounters on and off and a richly detailed overworld makes it engrossign to explore. The only negative part of the game is the slow-paced 'Puzzle' sections that you are forced to endure, but these are never long and you get rewarded with currency, so it isn't a big deal.

    Sound 9/10

    In my opinion, this game has THE best gane soundtrack on the Ipod, and one of the BEST game soundtracks of ALL TIME! Period. The sound effects, while nothing impressive, work well, so no complaints. In fact, all this would make me rate this a 10 if it wasn't for the lack of voice acting. OMG! This game is one of those games that NEEDS skilled English voice acting because the dialogue is so engrossing and well-written. Yet, we get NOTHING! Nothing at all! True, we'll be getting an update soon that will give us some Japanese voice acting for the characters, but I would PREFER English! If Square Enix fixes this, I'll be happy to change this to a 10. Design: 10/10

    Holy crap, I didn't even know that iPod games could be so detailed! Everything from the character models to the backgrounds to the cutscenes is so detailed that it almost matches that of systems like PSP! Look at a picture or video of this game- then you'll know what I'm talking about.

    Replayability factor: 10/10

    This is one of those games that NEEDS to be replayed! Firstly; you have 4 groups of characters with 4 different methods of combat and unique stories. That's good enough to make you want to go through each one individually, and you put in about 5 hours per story. THEN there's the fact if you REPLAY the game with a character, you unlock the TRUE ENDING along with even more difficult and unique boss fights. Then if you do them ALL, there's one MORE true ending where you defeat the ultimate enemy, and.... wow... completionists will put it a LOT of time to unlock everything

    Overall: 10/10

    While it may seem expensive for an iPod game, it's worth buying for sure. As was said by IGN I believe, this is not just a great iPod RPG, but an epic RPG for ANY system- period, and is much cheaper then RPGS for other systems. If you want a fun RPG, look no further then Chaos Rings. P.S: If you're a Square Enix fan, PLEASE check out Hills and Rivers Remain- the $5 game also on IOS! It's not as epic as this game, but it is quite fun and worth checking out!
    Collapse

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2010

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2010  Image
    Published: December 21, 2010
    Whether you are a longtime iPhone user or you just received an iPad from Santa, you're probably looking for something fun to do with your Apple device. Here are this year's best-reviewed games available in the App Store.