Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. May 2, 2011
    100
    It's easy to pick up, easy to put down, easy to resume, and a blast to play wherever. But more important than its breeziness, Coin Drop rocks.
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    100
    Coin Drop is our new favourite action puzzle game and I can see this game taking pride of place on my iPad for a long time to come. It has just the right level of giddy day-glo presentation, coupled with a great physics engine and addictive gameplay.
  3. Apr 25, 2011
    100
    Featuring Peggle-like gameplay mixed with a variety of alternate collection bonuses, Coin Drop creates a compelling case for a swift ascent up the app store charts.
  4. Apr 21, 2011
    100
    Comparisons aside, Coin Drop! is a fun game to play and watch while remaining addictive enough to keep you coming back for more; just the right mix for gamers on the go.
  5. Apr 21, 2011
    100
    Coin Drop is a gorgeous game that's a perfect fit on the iPhone.
  6. May 16, 2011
    91
    While the game resembles Peggle in that it's also clearly inspired by pachinko, levels of Coin Drop! are more complex than anything in PopCap's game.
  7. May 11, 2011
    90
    Coin Drop may take inspiration from Peggle but it's far off from a cut-paste job. At $0.99, Full Fat's platformer is a fun little game that will bring smile on anyone's face, and should not be missed.
  8. Apr 29, 2011
    90
    Coin Drop may seem pretty simple at first, but it's a blast and will keep most players entertained for quite some time.
  9. Apr 26, 2011
    90
    The mix of the art style, the level of polish throughout the game, and the highly addictive gameplay turn Coin Drop into a must-have for players of all ages. It takes some elements from Peggle and adds a ton of new elements into the mix, turning it into a casual orgy of color and sweet highscore lust.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Apr 28, 2011
    0
    Coin Drop is a glorified flash game that doesn't deserve anywhere near a "100" on Metacritic. Personally I think they should remove mobile games from the "Top Games" list until the reviewers actually use reviewing standards as opposed to giving a 10/10 to anything that entertains them for 10 minutes. Full Review »
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    5
    Don't buy this as a gamer expecting the depth of a triple A title. It's a bit of fun for fifteen minutes on public transport, good for killing boredom, that is all. A ten out of ten score represents a game that will endure the test of time and stay in peoples memories. This application will be forgotten about in a few months. Full Review »
  3. Z-U
    May 3, 2011
    10
    moarx is wrong on this one. This is not simply a glorified flash game at all. Its a very nice blend of skill and luck that culminates in something deeply fun and if you like games like thing s like Peggle, Coin Dozer and even a little bit of Angry Birds thrown into the mix, then you'll get this. Throughly enjoyable and worth the asking price no question. Shame that some trolls who have a massive down on the whole "phone games aren't real game" nonsense can't see past the idea that maybe all I want is a ten minute blast. Actually this has hours of satisfying game play so don't get hung up on this "Core Gamer vs Non-Core Gamer" lark. I'm marking this a 10 because I need to counter the 0 given by moarx. But in reality its an 8-9. $1.00? Well worth it. Congratulations to full fat games. Lovin' your work. Right - I'm going to have a blast at "Flick Golf" too. Full Review »