Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. May 24, 2011
    100
    The game provides a genuine Dead Space experience while simultaneously raising the bar for triple A titles on the iPhone.
  2. Mar 6, 2011
    100
    One of the most immersive and shockingly jitter-inducing experiences we've had thus far, Dead Space is what other shooters wish they were.
  3. Jan 31, 2011
    100
    This isn't the scariest game on the planet, nor is it the best put together. The combat in particular is a black eye. But there's a lot in Dead Space to keep you engaged and there's some points of great design that I think you'll appreciate - especially if you're daring enough to play this on your sofa with the lights off and some great headphones on.
  4. Jan 27, 2011
    100
    Dead Space for iOS is just about everything we'd hoped it would be: action-packed, scary, challenging, and a total blast.
  5. Jan 27, 2011
    100
    Dead Space is the best action game I've ever played on an iOS device. It's the first time I've felt like a mobile version of a game has had as much developer love put into it as it's console counterpart.
  6. Jan 27, 2011
    100
    For what Dead Space lacks in gameplay details it manages to make up for in sheer stunning production value; a chilling shooter and a good warm-up for the upcoming sequel.
  7. Jan 27, 2011
    100
    Dead Space is the most pleasantly surprising iOS release in a long time, and it's a game-changer as far as 3D action games go on iOS platforms.
  8. Mar 1, 2011
    95
    IronMonkey Studios, hats off to you for an amazing presentation of an amazing game, replayability and controls are the only obstacles from a perfect score!
  9. Apr 6, 2011
    90
    Dead Space for Apple's devices is absolutely stunning. If you own Dead Space 2 or planning to buy Visceral's latest for the home consoles, then consider this an essential purchase!
  10. Mar 17, 2011
    90
    The fact that this is a completely original story which happens to tie in to the second game helps to make it feel far more than just a rehash of a console game on the iPhone. Thanks to the graphical flare, a fantastic control scheme and atmospheric sound, the sum of Ironmonkey's efforts come together to create a stand-out survival horror experience second to none on iOS.
  11. Jan 27, 2011
    90
    To say that Dead Space is one of the best games that we have seen in 2011 doesn't do it justice. This is one of the most immersive experiences available on the platform.
  12. Jan 27, 2011
    85
    Dead Space has good controls, great visuals, and a fun story. It may repeat itself a little too much, but the blood-soaked ride never feels bloated. While I preferred it on iPad for the bigger screen, it's also a fun iPhone play. Dead Space fans are well-served by this download.
  13. Jan 19, 2012
    84
    Dead Space for iOS is just whta you can hope: An action-packed and scary game.
  14. Feb 27, 2011
    84
    As an exclusive episode, Dead Space stands out with great graphics, good gameplay and a story that gives some more details to the fans. A slightly disappointing level design is in fact the only real minus in this impressive EA effort on the App Store.
  15. Feb 15, 2011
    80
    Those aforementioned problems melt away the second you slaughter several Necromorphs and travel deeper into the brand new story that bridges the gap between the original game and the recently released sequel. We didn't jump out of our chairs, but the wow factor is more than enough to make it worth a look.
  16. Feb 2, 2011
    80
    A definite must-have for Dead Space lovers, and worth checking out for the more casual mobile gamer, Dead Space is a great title that blasts through its interface issues to prove that console experiences can work on a mobile phone ... provided you've got the patience for it.
  17. Feb 1, 2011
    80
    Not just a copy of the console game, but a real story that will tell us what happened before the events narrated in Dead Space 2. This iOS dedicated version of the latest Visceral Games creation captures very well the atmosphere and the gameplay of the saga. Maybe it's a little more action than survival horror and sometimes is too repetitive, but in the end it's a solid game that will not disappoint Dead Space's fans.
  18. Jan 31, 2011
    80
    This apparent desire to cut to the chase means that you'll blast through the 12 chapters in about four hours; short enough for the repetition not to set in, but long enough to satisfy. As a taste of what's to come, this is not to be missed.
  19. Jan 27, 2011
    80
    Complicated controls can't stop Dead Space from entertaining with its action-packed gameplay and phenomenal presentation.
  20. Feb 8, 2011
    75
    Dead Space isn't a game that particularly stood out and isn't something that's a no-brainer Must Have in my eyes. The production values are high, and EA did a really nice job with this one. I just wasn't exactly addicted to it, and it never really grasped me from the start. But the playing atmosphere and graphics are phenomenal, and the game as a whole is quite professional.
  21. Mar 30, 2011
    55
    Dead Space for iOS is a game with a simple design born on a Procrustean bed of budgetary and technical constraints, although its creators did their best to recreate the atmosphere of the big console brethren.
  22. Feb 22, 2011
    50
    The portable edition of Dead Space is an OK game, but you really need to spend more time than you should on fighting the controls and it doesn't hurt to have the patience of an angel. In the end, it might be good looking game, but not nearly as entertaining as it looks.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    I expected Dead Space to transition really badly to iPod touch, hence ruining my favourite game of all time. However, it is a surpisingly good app! The controls are simple and easy to get used to, and before you know it, you're romping through the game just as easily as you did on the Xbox 360, PS3 and PC versions. Although it is an expensive app, it is worth the money. Full Review »
  2. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Estoy haciendo una critica de un juego de iPhone, pero lo he jugado en Android.
    Tiene un control que verdaderamente me ha sorprendido
    gratamente, excepto que para dejar de apuntar, que hay que hacer autenticos malabarismos.
    Los graficos son increibles, y la fluidez del juego es muy buena.
    Pero lo mejor de el juego sin duda alguna es el sonido, que se sale, te mete en la atmosfera de el juego y no te deja salir hasta que te lo pasas.
    En definitiva, un juego 10.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This is amazing! When i first saw it i had my doubts, but it turned out to be a really fun action game on the Iphone and almost as good as the others on the console. Wearing headphones makes it super scary!!! Defiantly worth the money i paid. Full Review »