Dead Space Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: AN ALL-NEW DEAD SPACE STORY – AVAILABLE ONLY ON THE APP STORE. Immerse yourself in events that set the stage for the action-horror storyline of Dead Space 2. Featuring a hardcore game experience and a rich audio environment specifically designed for your iPhone & iPod touch, this is an original vision of the acclaimed franchise and a true landmark game on the App Store.

    THE FIRST DEAD SPACE STORYLINE EVER DEVISED FOR iOS
    Three years have passed since the destruction of the Marker in the first Dead Space story. Now, experience first-hand the events that unleash the Necromorph hordes once again. You’ll find yourself on a mission of uncertain purpose in the Mines of Titan. Soon, however, the truth of your situation will become grotesquely clear…

    A CHARGED SENSORY EXPERIENCE WITH VIVID SOUND AND VISCERAL GRAPHICS
    Featuring a fully voice-acted stereo soundtrack, plus a movie-quality score and sound effects, we recommend experiencing the game with headphones for full immersion. Hear every footstep in the empty passages and feel the tension build as you are pulled deeper into danger. With cutting-edge visuals, rich in effects and atmospheric lighting, Dead Space reproduces the cinematic horror of the console experience and sets a new benchmark for graphical fidelity on the iOS platform.

    SPECIALLY DESIGNED CONTROLS KEEP YOU FOCUSED ON THE ACTION
    Intuitive controls have been conceived to maximize the immersive experience of the game on iPhone & iPod touch. The on-screen HUD is seamlessly integrated into the game environment. Navigate 6 varied environments and battle Necromorphs with simple swipe and tap controls that offer accessibility without sacrificing depth. Nothing will break the spell of the story’s adrenaline-driven suspense.

    INTRODUCING 2 EXCLUSIVE WEAPONS & FEATURING CLASSIC MODULES
    Access the ALL-NEW Plasma Saw and Core Extractor, plus 3 more weapons from the Dead Space universe – and get on with the business of strategic dismemberment. In addition, utilize true physics-based Kinesis and Stasis Modules well-known to players of the original Dead Space console game.

    BUY AND DOWNLOAD UPGRADES IN THE IN-GAME STORE
    Built into the context of the Dead Space environment, the in-game Store enables you to instantly purchase and download upgrades to help you survive the Necromorph onslaught. Get additional Power Nodes to enhance weapons at the Bench or to unlock sealed doors. Increase your offensive and defensive capabilities with Weapon Output and Armor Integrity Modules. Or get the Credit Booster to scavenge more credits from dismembered Necromorphs.

    ALSO LOOK FOR A SPECIAL UNLOCK IN DEAD SPACE 2 FOR CONSOLE
    Don’t forget to register your Dead Space game for iPhone & iPod touch. A special unlock awaits you in Dead Space 2 for Xbox 360, PLAYSTATION 3, or PC!
    _______________________________________
    ** DON'T MISS OUR OTHER EXCITING GAMES! ** SCRABBLE, The Sims™ 3, TETRIS®, MONOPOLY, Madden NFL by EA Sports™, Pogo Games FREE, ROCK BAND® Reloaded, Need for Speed™ Hot Pursuit & Surviving High School FREE

    COMING SOON: Coconut Dodge

    GIFT THIS APP: Click the “Buy App” arrow on the iTunes® App Store

    Be the first to know! Get inside EA info on great deals, plus the latest game updates, tips & more…
    VISIT US: ea.com/iphone
    FOLLOW US: twitter.com/eamobile
    LIKE US: facebook.com/eamobile
    WATCH US: youtube.com/eamobilegames
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 27, 2011
    100
    Dead Space is the best action game I've ever played on an iOS device. It's the first time I've felt like a mobile version of a game has had as much developer love put into it as it's console counterpart.
  2. Jan 31, 2011
    100
    This isn't the scariest game on the planet, nor is it the best put together. The combat in particular is a black eye. But there's a lot in Dead Space to keep you engaged and there's some points of great design that I think you'll appreciate - especially if you're daring enough to play this on your sofa with the lights off and some great headphones on.
  3. May 24, 2011
    100
    The game provides a genuine Dead Space experience while simultaneously raising the bar for triple A titles on the iPhone.
  4. Jan 27, 2011
    85
    Dead Space has good controls, great visuals, and a fun story. It may repeat itself a little too much, but the blood-soaked ride never feels bloated. While I preferred it on iPad for the bigger screen, it's also a fun iPhone play. Dead Space fans are well-served by this download.
  5. Feb 27, 2011
    84
    As an exclusive episode, Dead Space stands out with great graphics, good gameplay and a story that gives some more details to the fans. A slightly disappointing level design is in fact the only real minus in this impressive EA effort on the App Store.
  6. Feb 2, 2011
    80
    A definite must-have for Dead Space lovers, and worth checking out for the more casual mobile gamer, Dead Space is a great title that blasts through its interface issues to prove that console experiences can work on a mobile phone ... provided you've got the patience for it.
  7. Feb 22, 2011
    50
    The portable edition of Dead Space is an OK game, but you really need to spend more time than you should on fighting the controls and it doesn't hurt to have the patience of an angel. In the end, it might be good looking game, but not nearly as entertaining as it looks.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Estoy haciendo una critica de un juego de iPhone, pero lo he jugado en Android.
    Tiene un control que verdaderamente me ha sorprendido
    gratamente, excepto que para dejar de apuntar, que hay que hacer autenticos malabarismos.
    Los graficos son increibles, y la fluidez del juego es muy buena.
    Pero lo mejor de el juego sin duda alguna es el sonido, que se sale, te mete en la atmosfera de el juego y no te deja salir hasta que te lo pasas.
    En definitiva, un juego 10.
    Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    There is no doubt that Dead Space, compared to other games on bigger platforms like PC or PS3, is not much of an amazing game. On the other hand, to see a game so polished on an IOS is amazing. Most games on the app store are mediocre, but dead space shows that if you try hard, you can make a wonderful game. Truly amazing. Collapse
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This is amazing! When i first saw it i had my doubts, but it turned out to be a really fun action game on the Iphone and almost as good as the others on the console. Wearing headphones makes it super scary!!! Defiantly worth the money i paid. Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    When I heard dead space was on the tracks heading to iOS, I was more than excited to see how this would hold up, and the answer is well indeed, the graphics are very well displayed, over the shoulder view, in clear sight of the space port your about to be scared witless. You begin by learning the basics as usual, and before long your blasting alien limbs left, right, and centre. It's a nice addition to the collection of dead space, and the sounds create the kind of wow you would expect, plug in your earphones, sit back, and enjoy. If their is one negative, more a niggle if any, the controls don't exactly feel the best, when your needing to move on the spot, and move around, but ts just good enough, to adapt, I did say it was a niggle. However all in all, considering the adaption to the touchscreen, it's a welcome title that all will enjoy. Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    Graphics: For IPAD 10.

    Sound: Creepy sounds, amazing voice acting. I thought the developers at first were being lazy with the main
    protagonist’s voice until the surprise ending, epic! 10.

    Gameplay: Never played such an amazing game on such a device that I once despised. Yes, I am a hater of Apple products, but no longer of the IPAD 3. Dead Space plays as good as the first Dead Space, only with nicely added motion/touch controls. I cannot find a fault in this game, other than it feels way too linear. 9.

    Story: The story and twist is fantastic, it doesn’t dive deep into anything else, and it’s just the surprised ending that gets you. It could have a better story in between the game, but it’s still okay. 9.

    Lasting Appeal: About a 4 hour experience on normal, felt longer for some reason though. There are additional modes such as a survival mode. The game was bought for 99 cents on a sale deal, worth it! 10.

    Overall Score: 9.6 out of 10.
    Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    It's the same good as PS3, Xbox 360, and PC, but this game is very challenging on iPad. Shooting the deadly aliens with a simple touch. It was the best TPS game on iPad, certainty. Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    I expected Dead Space to transition really badly to iPod touch, hence ruining my favourite game of all time. However, it is a surpisingly good app! The controls are simple and easy to get used to, and before you know it, you're romping through the game just as easily as you did on the Xbox 360, PS3 and PC versions. Although it is an expensive app, it is worth the money. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews