Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Death Rally is based of the 1996 Windows version of the game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Apr 12, 2011
    85
    Death Rally is a remake of a 1996 game, improved in every conceivable way; a great return for one of the best Remedy games.
  2. Mar 31, 2011
    80
    Made one hell of a debut, and the promise of free content will transform this already impressive shooter into one of the iPhone and iPad's premier Apps. Lock and load, hit the track and come out firing.
  3. Apr 1, 2011
    80
    For an initial release though, Death Rally still contains a good amount of content, and it's a ton of fun to play through.
  4. Apr 11, 2011
    80
    Featuring gorgeous graphics with terrific lighting effects and combat-focused gameplay, Death Rally manages to excite and delight even after you've exhausted its limited content.
  5. May 23, 2011
    80
    Back when all games cost upwards of £30, it wasn't easy to keep up with games like Death Rally. Nowadays, you've got literally no excuse to hold off buying the best top-down racing available on mobile platforms. Better late than never.
  6. Apr 1, 2011
    75
    I didn't have too much trouble with the simplistic controls, but I do wish there were options for other players. However, in the end, Death Rally left me smiling.
  7. Apr 5, 2011
    60
    Death Rally comes back to life on iPhone and it's still an easygoing nervous arcade game. Actually, it's even better thanks to some stunning visuals. It's a shame though that some control issues, the lack of multiplayer mode and its dull Career mode keep Death Rally from being as memorable as it could be.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    I'm so excited to see this game is back and bigger and better than ever. I have been waiting for it's release for so long and now i'm a very happy camper. I love this game alot and I know it's going to be a huge hit for sure. This is a game with some help from Remedy and I'm excited about that as well. You may know of Remedy if you ever played Max Payne and Max Payne 2. This game is simply stunning all around and I'm already having alot of fun playing this one. The textures are clear and bright, and the gameplay is very solid. There are five cars to start (with more coming later), and each of them handles differently, from a huge van down to a muscle car. The weapons are also very different, and all of them are upgradeable. Spending money earned after every race can be used to improve your car's stats or push your weapons up to the next level. As you race, you also unlock various challenges, like racing against just one opponent or going around a reversed track, that mix up the gameplay. I particularly liked the little extras -- you can use your own music library on the iPod version of the game's universal build, there's full Game Center integration included, and there are a few nice IOS cameos as well. John Gore from Minigore will be one of the celebrity drivers, as will Duke Nukem and Alan Wake's Barry Wheeler. Angry Birds' Mighty Eagle is even making an appearance; if you happen to have bought that character, you can ask him to "soar in and attack other cars" for you. I'm really looking forward to the future updates with more cars, tracks, weapons and even an online multiplayer mode out very soon. YOUR GOING TO LOVE THIS ONE! Expand
  2. May 5, 2011
    10
    Death Rally
    TOUCH ARCADE SCORE 100! TOUCH ARCADE SCORE 100! TOUCH ARCADE SCORE 100! TOUCH ARCADE SCORE 100! TOUCH ARCADE SCORE 100! TOUCH
    ARCADE SCORE 100! TOUCH ARCADE SCORE 100! TOUCH ARCADE SCORE 100! NOT 80!
    NOT 80!
    Collapse
  3. May 4, 2011
    9
    ^MC admin! Pls change TouchArcade gamescore. It 100 (5 stars). Not 80. Absolutely awesome racing game! Really love it and hope that developers continue support title. Also i'd really like to see Death Rally 2 in future.

    *Sorry for bad english. It's not my native language.
    Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    This is tremendous fun - you can boot the game and have a 3 lap race in under 2 minutes. I'd really like to see multiplayer added to this game and more weapons (or more in depth weapon upgrades) Expand
  5. May 24, 2013
    7
    Back in 90's Death Rally was a Hit. The latest installment does the Classic fair justice, BUT in today's gaming world taking a hit and remaking it with new graphics is not enough. There must be something for gamers to cling onto, and the latest Death Rally just doesn't have it. On top of that it seems unfinished and hurried: why, as a blunt example, don't upgrades or weapons have descriptions? Why can't i save money and must spend all of it immediately after the race? Why story missions play no role i can complete them or ignore them what is the point of the story then? These things deter me from the game which i played for about 3 hours. Expand