Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 43
  2. Negative: 4 out of 43
  1. Jul 15, 2013
    100
    Deus Ex: The Fall is a must play for any iOS gamer.
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    90
    If you're a Deus Ex fan who was upset that the new game is mobile only, I still think it's worth giving a chance, and you might be pleasantly surprised. Impressions in our forums have been overwhelmingly positive, and for all future top-tier action games on iOS, the bar has been set high with the release of Deus Ex: The Fall.
  3. Jul 10, 2013
    82
    Frustrating combat aside, it’s almost astounding how successful The Fall is at distilling the core Deus Ex experience onto a mobile device. The mysterious and well-told story, steady stream of powerful new augments, and impressive game world all combined to create a mobile experience I didn’t want to put down after I started.
  4. Jul 10, 2013
    82
    I’m shocked. The Fall works. Bringing an experience as complicated as Deus Ex’s to a touchscreen should have been a mess, but I was easily sneaking, hacking, and headshotting my way through the short campaign. I don’t know if I’m ready to call myself a mobile gaming convert, but this is definitely one of the deeper experiences I’ve had on an iOS platform.
  5. Aug 5, 2013
    80
    When compared to the PC and console games, I would say there is enough material in The Fall for one, or if you really push it, maybe two chapters of a typical Deus Ex corpus.
  6. Jul 17, 2013
    80
    Deus Ex: The Fall may not have been the game we were asking for, but it’s definitely a worthy addition to the franchise. Its less-than-stellar controls and a handful of bugs keep The Fall from being truly great, but if you’re looking to hop back into the yellow-tinted world of human augmentation, seven dollars isn’t a bad price to pay for sneaking around and reading everyone’s emails.
  7. Jul 16, 2013
    80
    Though somewhat hamstrung by its control scheme, Deus Ex: The Fall is a handsome diversion for franchise fans.
  8. Jul 15, 2013
    80
    Even with these problems, Deus Ex: The Fall sets a precedent for first-person shooters on mobile. The touch controls are the best among mobile shooters, and the story does a great job complementing them.
  9. Jul 15, 2013
    80
    Deus Ex: The Fall goes to great lengths to lovingly recreate the same cybernetic corporate espionage experience of the console original, however it doesn't entirely shake that mobile game feeling.
  10. Jul 15, 2013
    80
    Replay value is pretty good, as you can play very stealthy in one playthrough while blasting baddies at will in another. Your dialogue choices can also differ from one attempt to another, warranting additional playthroughs to see how these decisions play out. The gameplay itself is fun, despite (or maybe even in response to) the somewhat awkward enemy AI that often leaves them exposed like cutouts in a shooting gallery.
  11. Jul 15, 2013
    80
    Deus Ex: The Fall is a great example of how today, with a few euros, you can have a "console" title even on a smartphone and a tablet. There are some flaws (touch controls are not perfect, gunplay is inaccurate, enemy AI is very weak), but there are many values too as great graphics, exploration, plot and deep stealth sections.
  12. Jul 12, 2013
    80
    It all adds up to an impressive effort, albeit one that’s noticeably flawed as well.
  13. Jul 12, 2013
    80
    Defying expectations, Deus Ex: The Fall is a slick-looking, enjoyable offshoot — and while it doesn't feature quite the same level of depth or versatility as other games in the series, it's still a staggering achievement for iOS.
  14. 80
    The Fall is an entertaining (almost) five hour ride and a good take on the Deus Ex universe. Even if it feels more like a light snack than a full meal compared to Human Revolution.
  15. Jul 10, 2013
    80
    An ambitious, flawed, but ultimately entertaining FPS, Deus Ex: The Fall is well worth a look.
  16. Jul 16, 2013
    79
    It's truly amazing how Eidos Montreal and N-Fusion managed to squeeze so many elements of Human Revolution in Deus Ex: The Fall, but the gunplay is so awkward you're basically forced to play it stealthy. If that's ok with you, this is the closest you can get to a full fledged console title.
  17. Jul 12, 2013
    79
    A very good recreation of the world and feeling of the Deus Ex franchise. Not on par with the home versions, but a very good portable action adventure game indeed.
  18. Jul 30, 2013
    75
    A product dedicated to the most ardent fans of the saga, or those who still want to be surprised with the huge technical potential of the tablet on the market.
  19. Jul 23, 2013
    75
    Deus Ex: The Fall is enormous for being a mobile game. It is pretty hard to take advantage of deep the control scheme by just using the touchscreen, and you will notice very soon that a stealth approach is more effective than shooting to anyone and anything. In any case, the job made by the guys at Eidos Montreal is appreciable, relevant and ambitious, and you will enjoy Deus Ex: The Fall for its depth, which is pretty unique for a mobile device game, that is for sure.
  20. Jul 22, 2013
    75
    Deus Ex: The Fall's atmosphere and complexity compensate for any small missteps.
User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    0
    Unwarranted DRM system cripples game on iPhones running non-standard OS software. No warning in the App's description. DO NOT BUY. DRMUnwarranted DRM system cripples game on iPhones running non-standard OS software. No warning in the App's description. DO NOT BUY. DRM such as this punishes legitimate users who purchased the game legally from the app store, not pirates who will have it bypassed next week or so. Full Review »
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    I've been waited for Deus Ex: The Fall, and it is fantastic game. Its design makes me think about Human Revolution, it is very easy to controlI've been waited for Deus Ex: The Fall, and it is fantastic game. Its design makes me think about Human Revolution, it is very easy to control character, there a lot of mission and sure the OST is wonderful!
    This game made my July better, it is the best present for Adam Jensens fan!
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    After purchasing the game on my jailed device and seeing the "You cannot fire on a Jailed device" message pop up, I was a bit upset. LuckilyAfter purchasing the game on my jailed device and seeing the "You cannot fire on a Jailed device" message pop up, I was a bit upset. Luckily someone had made a bypass (they are also getting rid of that message in the next update) that disabled that message. After I got passed the DRM, the game felt good (aside from the double click to move thing, you can disable it in the options). It feels like a Deus Ex:HR on mobile, which is great for me, me being a huge deus ex fan. The story is good and ties with the Human Revolution story, giving you a different prospective. Graphics are pretty good but I have seen better. Controls are a bit iffy with the tap to kill type gameplay. But overall it is a good game for any deus ex fan. Full Review »