Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    80
    It's amazing how fresh a classic puzzle game can feel with a little change in perspective. Dream of Pixels successfully revitalizes one of the most popular styles of puzzle, turns it on its head, and changes the rules while still keeping everything familiar.
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    100
    If you're in the mood for a fantastic falling blocks puzzle game, then I highly recommend you drop everything that you're doing right now and buy Dream of Pixels. In fact, if you can only get one game this week, make it this one. You won't regret it.
  3. Jan 25, 2013
    80
    You'd think such a concept as reverse Tetris would be as easy to grasp as it would be trite, but Dream of Pixels is neither, delivering an engaging puzzle game with a unique concept.
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    90
    We cannot understate this: had Nintendo published Dream of Pixels in the 90s as some follow-up to Tetris, the publisher would have sold at least a million more Game Boys. It's that phenomenal.
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    An interesting and engaging puzzler, Dream of Pixels isn't revolutionary, but it's an enjoyable beast all the same.
  6. Dec 4, 2012
    100
    Regardless of the mode, Dream of Pixels is a fresh and fun take on the tried-and-true falling blocks game.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    90
    The only potential flaws or suggestions I have for Dream of Pixels would be to allow players to switch out their tetromino or see upcoming tetrominoes for tactical strategies. Maybe it's not necessary, but seeing multiple pieces only in the puzzle mode's HUD made me miss them when they weren't in the others.
  8. Dec 28, 2012
    70
    A great puzzle game. It doesn't necessarily rewrite the book on puzzle games, but all in all, it's a solid package that is well worth a look if you are into the genre; especially Tetris-like puzzlers.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    This game made the Tetris genre addicting again by turning the whole mechanic upside down. It's been years, that I've been so amazed by and addicted to a Tetris type game. The presentation is flawless, controls work perfectly. There are different game modes, that get unlocked bit by bit. I don't have a single complaint and just LOVE to fire this game up. Therefore a shining 10! Full Review »
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    Dream of pixels takes you to another state of mind. The vanishing cloud underneath your fingers feels in looks magical, and while it does take another form of the well known game, it is just a whole new experience with a whole "dreamy" touch... Full Review »
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    4
    It's obvious, that reviews below me were written by developers. What state of mind? Some guys almost 30 years ago already did all your work. It's just Tetris in reverse. This game is too familiar and totally overrated in my humble opinion. Full Review »