Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dream of Pixels is a beautiful falling blocks puzzle game, in reverse. The brilliant twist on the old classic is the unpacking of tetromino blocks in place of the usual packing. Simply tap on the descending grid to unpack the tetrominos and watch them spin, rotate and drop with gravity.Dream of Pixels is a beautiful falling blocks puzzle game, in reverse. The brilliant twist on the old classic is the unpacking of tetromino blocks in place of the usual packing. Simply tap on the descending grid to unpack the tetrominos and watch them spin, rotate and drop with gravity. Clear the lines from the beautiful cloudy grid fast enough or it's - dream over. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    100
    Regardless of the mode, Dream of Pixels is a fresh and fun take on the tried-and-true falling blocks game.
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    100
    If you're in the mood for a fantastic falling blocks puzzle game, then I highly recommend you drop everything that you're doing right now and buy Dream of Pixels. In fact, if you can only get one game this week, make it this one. You won't regret it.
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    90
    The only potential flaws or suggestions I have for Dream of Pixels would be to allow players to switch out their tetromino or see upcoming tetrominoes for tactical strategies. Maybe it's not necessary, but seeing multiple pieces only in the puzzle mode's HUD made me miss them when they weren't in the others.
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    80
    It's amazing how fresh a classic puzzle game can feel with a little change in perspective. Dream of Pixels successfully revitalizes one of the most popular styles of puzzle, turns it on its head, and changes the rules while still keeping everything familiar.
  5. Jan 25, 2013
    80
    You'd think such a concept as reverse Tetris would be as easy to grasp as it would be trite, but Dream of Pixels is neither, delivering an engaging puzzle game with a unique concept.
  6. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    An interesting and engaging puzzler, Dream of Pixels isn't revolutionary, but it's an enjoyable beast all the same.
  7. Dec 28, 2012
    70
    A great puzzle game. It doesn't necessarily rewrite the book on puzzle games, but all in all, it's a solid package that is well worth a look if you are into the genre; especially Tetris-like puzzlers.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    This game made the Tetris genre addicting again by turning the whole mechanic upside down. It's been years, that I've been so amazed by andThis game made the Tetris genre addicting again by turning the whole mechanic upside down. It's been years, that I've been so amazed by and addicted to a Tetris type game. The presentation is flawless, controls work perfectly. There are different game modes, that get unlocked bit by bit. I don't have a single complaint and just LOVE to fire this game up. Therefore a shining 10! Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    Dream of pixels takes you to another state of mind. The vanishing cloud underneath your fingers feels in looks magical, and while it does takeDream of pixels takes you to another state of mind. The vanishing cloud underneath your fingers feels in looks magical, and while it does take another form of the well known game, it is just a whole new experience with a whole "dreamy" touch... Collapse
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    4
    It's obvious, that reviews below me were written by developers. What state of mind? Some guys almost 30 years ago already did all your work.It's obvious, that reviews below me were written by developers. What state of mind? Some guys almost 30 years ago already did all your work. It's just Tetris in reverse. This game is too familiar and totally overrated in my humble opinion. Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for November 2012

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for November 2012 Image
    Published: November 29, 2012
    November's best iOS games include the Tetris-in-reverse puzzler "Dream of Pixels" and the latest installment of "Angry Birds." Check out all of the month's best releases inside.