Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Feb 8, 2012
    75
    Dungeon Hunter 3 is an interesting free-to-play game that mixes action and roleplaying. With direct and easy to dominate gameplay, its concept is great for those looking for fast play seasons with their mobile phone. It offers lots of hours of content and plenty of customization options.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    70
    If I had my druthers, Dungeon Hunter 3 would be more like its predecessors, offering meaty exploration and loot to lust after. Nonetheless, Gameloft's new approach comes together admirably, even if the gameplay requires some tightening up.
  3. Dec 28, 2011
    70
    The Dungeon Hunter series has always been a bit of a blunt object, and this third instalment is no different. In spite of its controversial move to a freemium model, Dungeon Hunter 3 is still an entertaining, violent romp.
  4. Dec 30, 2011
    60
    Despite renewed graphics and controls, Dungeon Hunter III fails to implement a new microtransaction-based formula and turn out to be way less enjoyable than previous chapters.
  5. Dec 23, 2011
    60
    Ultimately, Gameloft chose to make Dungeon Hunter 3 more casual friendly while experimenting with in-app purchases. Probably not the greatest decision, given the largely negative reaction from the iOS community, but as a hack and slash title, it's worth a try.
  6. Dec 21, 2011
    60
    Dungeon Hunter 3 takes a series that has some depth and skims from the top, providing players with a thin sheen of a game (albeit one with many levels to unlock); a boon to budget gamers willing to pay their way through grinding.
  7. Dec 28, 2011
    50
    Overall, I'd say that it's worth trying the app out, if you actually have the space for it. Though definitely not the best app out there.
  8. Jan 26, 2012
    20
    Stepchild of a successful series, Dungeon Hunter 3 fails to justify in-app puchases and seems to be annoying as well.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    1
    Dungeon Hunter 2 was my absolute favorite game on my phone, being very much like the mobile version of Diablo. Dungeon Hunter 3 is absolutely terrible.
    Many games have adopted the practice of in app purchases, but DH3 has fundamentally changed the game to revolve around them. You are put in an arena, you kill some monsters, go to another arena, kill some monsters, and so forth forever. There are no item drops at all, only money. You have to buy all your gear. You can also upgrade, which prevents you from using the item while the item upgrade takes several hours in real time. Maybe because they want you to buy two sets of gear or something like that. There is no plot and no dungeons and no quests. When you finish an arena you see this little animation with a cauldron of gold coins showering coins around the screen. It looks EXACTLY like one of the banner adverts for online casinos you frequently see on the internet. Flashing lights. Shiny things. Keep gambling! That is the psychology behind this game. It is boring beyond words.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 22, 2012
    5
    No, no, no Gameloft! That's not the way! You had it with DH2 why did you called this spin-off a "DH3"?! That's not a slasher-RPG... that's heavily monetized arena battles. Hmm...
    Oh ok. Let's try it.. [After a week] I had a really hard time in playing this up until I've payed 1.5EUR for some supportive cash. They it became manageable but still tedious to perform tiring missions (tough they add some replay ability) over and over again... Rather a disappointment but with good mechanic, animations and graphics.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 2, 2012
    4
    1. Cannot find any DH3 gems except the few that had to be used during mandatory tutorial. A few popped up during the game but have no idea where they came from? Should there be gems to find? all the screen shots show thousands of gems.

    2. Cannot redeem collections rewards even though screen implies it should be an option. Pressing Redeem button makes a clink sound but nothing else?

    3. Cannot find any detailed instructions or references anywhere, including gameloft website. Plenty of cheat sites, not what I am looking for.

    4. Made it to about level 25 with a Warlord and did some upgrades. Also had second character, Astomancer, at about level 13. While waiting for the upgrades, that is, not using ipad2, pushes prompted the upgrades where complete and to come try them out. Well the program wouldn't open, it would get to the startup cover screen with the little circle turning in the bottom right corner then closed. After several attempts, I turned ipad2 off, restarted ipad2 and DH3. DH3 started first character over, my level 25 character gone. Could not stop the mandatory tutorial so was forced to make new character. Game remembered my level 26, lost all upgrades, kept the gems and added new ones from mandatory tutorial except for the ones needed during the key purchase to 10, which the second attempt programmed into the tutorial cancelled the purchase. Lost all of the first Warlords completed arenas and their completed missions. WHAT?

    I realize this DH3 is a new game, are the levels limited unless gamers purchase something? if so, how much does it cost and at what level?

    Are there other websites, socials, game sites that review and ID game flaws that could be more helpful?
    Full Review »