Dungeon Keeper iOS

Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 13 out of 22
Stream On
  1. Feb 17, 2014
    40
    The game is heavily influenced by the in-app purchases, to the point of becoming a pay-to-play title. Don't Play it.
  2. Feb 7, 2014
    40
    Dungeon Keeper is a bad game that desperately tries to emulate Clash of Clans and its business model, but with no success. There's nothing of the original franchise in Mythic's game, there are just long waits and annoying money requests.
  3. Feb 5, 2014
    40
    It could've been a chance to give a second life to an old classic, but EA got this all wrong. The managing side is poor, and a greedy microtransaction system ultimately spoils the fun.
  4. Feb 4, 2014
    40
    Dungeon Keeper is structured in such a way that you can go several days without making significant progress, and at that point the enjoyable invasions just aren't enough to make the game worthwhile.
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    40
    It's a huge shame, because Dungeon Keeper is such a great franchise. I vividly remember getting hooked on the original for the very first time, and hooking in non-strategy fans with its unique perspective and visual style. But you're getting none of that here, as you're instead presented with a hollow freemium shell of what once was.
  6. Feb 12, 2014
    30
    Instead of feeling like the keeper of a dungeon, it made me feel like I was being kept in one.
  7. Feb 6, 2014
    20
    The tragedy of Dungeon Keeper is that every so often, it shows glimpses of what makes it great. You can see the classic game is in there somewhere: its genius, and what it could have been. But then the gates slam shut, as though the Dungeon Keeper himself is kept in a larger meta-dungeon, whose bean-counting overlord tells you to come back later, or maybe even tomorrow. Or pay up.
  8. Feb 5, 2014
    20
    In the end, I can't imagine Dungeon Keeper is going to satisfy anyone very much.
  9. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    Dungeon Keeper is a new mobile free to play game by EA, and one of the most aggressive games in the genre. It has elements of a game, but these are so well hidden beneath shiny buttons, childish images and tons of tough rock, that it’s better to avoid the dungeon altogether.
  10. 10
    Dungeon Keeper is an anti-game. It sucks the joy of gaming out of me and it has no redeeming qualities, not in the slightest. Calling it greedy would be understatement of the year. The already tarnished image of free-to-play could hardly receive a more devastating blow than that which Dungeon Keeper has given it. It eats at my soul every time I play it. And that's why I'll uninstall, nay, banish it from my tablet as soon as I've finished this sentence.
  11. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    What we have here is the shell of Bullfrog's pioneering strategy game, hollowed out and filled up with what is essentially a beat-for-beat clone of Clash of Clans. Every function, every mechanism, every online feature has been tried and tested already by Supercell's money machine and EA is following behind, drooling like a Pavlovian dog. That's what stings the most: not that Dungeon Keeper has gone free-to-play, but that it's done so in such soulless fashion.
  12. Feb 5, 2014
    1
    How dare you to soil a classic like that. This is the epitome of in-app-pestilence. The paid content gets a grip on the gaming experience way too quickly. What once was one of Bullfrog's finest masterpieces now is nothing more than a soulless marketing product.
  13. 0
    Dungeon Keeper is not a video game, not any more. Instead it’s just a virtual beggar, constantly demanding your spare change and offering nothing in return.
User Score
0.4

Overwhelming dislike- based on 626 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 242
  1. Jan 30, 2014
    0
    It takes how long to mine a single block?! Oh and I can pay money to speed it up? How riveting. I think I'll just walk over here and watchIt takes how long to mine a single block?! Oh and I can pay money to speed it up? How riveting. I think I'll just walk over here and watch some paint dry while I wait because clearly I have nothing better to do with my time and I have the intelligence of a semi-sentient banana. Full Review »
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    0
    A total, unmitigated sham of a game! Long story short: this is a Tapped Out style wait-24-hours-for-everything-or-pay-real-money game, don'tA total, unmitigated sham of a game! Long story short: this is a Tapped Out style wait-24-hours-for-everything-or-pay-real-money game, don't waste your time. How any self-respecting developer could do this to revered classic such as Dungeon Keeper is completely beyond me, it's an abomination! Full Review »
  3. Feb 1, 2014
    0
    Absolute joke of a game. This is a game about clicking on a block, either waiting a FULL DAY to do the second one of paying large sums ofAbsolute joke of a game. This is a game about clicking on a block, either waiting a FULL DAY to do the second one of paying large sums of money. EA has completely ruined this IP... Full Review »