Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    80
    Under the goo-goo eyes and the rather clumsily animated characters hides a challenging old school role-playing experience that punishes every little mistake you might make in your battle strategy. But more importantly: The magic of an era long forgotten is still there.
  2. Dec 28, 2012
    100
    Arguably the best version of the game to date. With subtle enhancements of the hugely overhauled DS version, Square Enix has provided fans a reason to own the game on yet another system, and newcomers a chance to experience one of the series' greatest entries in peak form.
  3. Dec 26, 2012
    80
    While it still has all the quirks and flaws of the traditional JRPG genre, Final Fantasy IV continues to shine for its intoxicating sense of adventure and surprisingly interesting plot.
  4. Dec 22, 2012
    100
    If you've been wanting to revisit Mysidia, Golbez, the Lunar Whale, and the rest of Final Fantasy IV's iconic world and inhabitants, Final Fantasy IV iOS is what your soul needs.
  5. Jan 14, 2013
    85
    Here and there there are still remnants of outdated formulas, but in the end what really counts is the plot, the world and the legendary alter ego; from this point of view Final Fantasy IV cannot disappoint.
  6. Jan 2, 2013
    80
    The overall story, character development and pacing are excellent. The modifications to the core gameplay, whether they were changed from the US SNES version to the DS version or created exclusively for the iOS port, make the game more accessible to a wider audience.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jan 27, 2013
    0
    This is the "easy" version of the game. A waste of time if you ask me. Stick to the original on SNES (also available on the Wii virtual console). This is yet another dumbed down remake from Square, for the younger generation of gamers who don't play any games with any sort of challenge. The controls are terrible too; the virtual buttons make it very awkward to play. Full Review »
  2. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Really great game and a blast from the past if, like me, you played Final Fantasy IV back then on the Super NES. With this new version you can play your beloved heroes again in this classic and timeless RPG.
    A treat for nostalgic people.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    Final Fantasy IV is with out a doubt in my mind a "A treat for nostalgic people." as said by BBking299. I quite enjoy playing this game, also having it across many platforms hows how much I enjoy it. This is how we grew up playing RPG. also somthing I dont see quite mention in the reviews is the music. some of the best scores from Final fantasy series in memory come from this game alone. Every time you hear battle theme or The Red Wings/Cecil's Theme moves you. Full Review »