Final Fantasy IV Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: FINAL FANTASY IV was the first title to introduce the Active Time Battle (ATB) system, which has become synonymous with the series. It also saw the introduction of the Augment system, which enabled the transfer of abilities from other characters and gave players an edge in battles.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 22, 2012
    100
    If you've been wanting to revisit Mysidia, Golbez, the Lunar Whale, and the rest of Final Fantasy IV's iconic world and inhabitants, Final Fantasy IV iOS is what your soul needs.
  2. Dec 28, 2012
    100
    Arguably the best version of the game to date. With subtle enhancements of the hugely overhauled DS version, Square Enix has provided fans a reason to own the game on yet another system, and newcomers a chance to experience one of the series' greatest entries in peak form.
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    85
    Here and there there are still remnants of outdated formulas, but in the end what really counts is the plot, the world and the legendary alter ego; from this point of view Final Fantasy IV cannot disappoint.
  4. Dec 26, 2012
    80
    While it still has all the quirks and flaws of the traditional JRPG genre, Final Fantasy IV continues to shine for its intoxicating sense of adventure and surprisingly interesting plot.
  5. Jan 2, 2013
    80
    The overall story, character development and pacing are excellent. The modifications to the core gameplay, whether they were changed from the US SNES version to the DS version or created exclusively for the iOS port, make the game more accessible to a wider audience.
  6. Jan 15, 2013
    80
    Under the goo-goo eyes and the rather clumsily animated characters hides a challenging old school role-playing experience that punishes every little mistake you might make in your battle strategy. But more importantly: The magic of an era long forgotten is still there.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Really great game and a blast from the past if, like me, you played Final Fantasy IV back then on the Super NES. With this new version you can play your beloved heroes again in this classic and timeless RPG.
    A treat for nostalgic people.
    Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    An excellent recreation of the DS version of the game. Unfortunately the touch controls detract from the experience somewhat, but it does offer multiple difficulty levels which is a nice addition. From what I can tell the "hard" setting is more difficult than the US SNES version (which I played many times, and is called Final Fantasy II). Collapse
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    I actually played this on Android, but the only mobile platform listed here is iOS. Both versions are ports of the DS remake, so the review is still valid.

    The one flaw (on Android) this game has is that is crashed frequently while playing on my ASUS Transformer tablet. That being said, they instituted an excellent auto-save feature so I didn’t mind it so much. The game saves after every battle and every time you walk into a new area. If not for that, it would have been too frustrating to play through the frequent crashes.

    Anyway, this game has always held a special place in my heart ever since I played in on the SNES. This remake is pure bliss. Ignore what user “MasterOfMetroid” said about this being a “dumbed down” version b/c he has no clue what he’s talking about. The SNES version, known as Final Fantasy II in the US, was dumbed down as it was thought the original Japanese release would be too difficult for American gamers. Therefore this version has tons of content that was never available in the original US release, not to mention the much improved graphics & brilliant cutscenes with voice acting. There is even an option when you start a new game to increase the difficulty or make it easier.

    Only two things stop me from giving this a perfect score: there is no cloud saving (on Android, anyway) and you can only get one Limit Break augment. In the DS version you could get two. There has been no reason given by Squeenix for this, so it’s most likely some bug they have never bothered to fix. Just about every strategy for defeating Proto-Babil requires two limit breaks, so that’s very disappointing.

    Everything else, though, is excellent. Music, story, gameplay, etc. If you’re an RPG fan, you owe it to yourself to play this game.
    Expand
  4. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    Final Fantasy IV is with out a doubt in my mind a "A treat for nostalgic people." as said by BBking299. I quite enjoy playing this game, also having it across many platforms hows how much I enjoy it. This is how we grew up playing RPG. also somthing I dont see quite mention in the reviews is the music. some of the best scores from Final fantasy series in memory come from this game alone. Every time you hear battle theme or The Red Wings/Cecil's Theme moves you. Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2013
    8
    I never played the original version but love the Final Fantasy series so I bought it over Christmas break and love it. Story is great, graphics are much better than sprites. My only issue was the touch controls specifically in combat. Seemed a bit clunky and frustrating when casting magic on either all of the enemies or all of your team-mates. Especially when even though it is turn-based game the enemies have timed attacks. Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2013
    0
    This is the "easy" version of the game. A waste of time if you ask me. Stick to the original on SNES (also available on the Wii virtual console). This is yet another dumbed down remake from Square, for the younger generation of gamers who don't play any games with any sort of challenge. The controls are terrible too; the virtual buttons make it very awkward to play. Expand