Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Aug 5, 2011
    90
    Bearing in mind that the constant frame rate drops do hamper the fun of Tactics, I would still recommend the game to anyone looking for a long form and satisfying RPG on iOS.
  2. Aug 9, 2011
    85
    A noteworthy game that has been adapted well for the iPhone, except for some framerate issues. The major problem is the price, one of the most expensive of the App Store.
  3. Aug 9, 2011
    80
    The first decision you have to make when considering Final Fantasy Tactics is, "Do I have the spare time for something like this?", if yes then consider yourself lucky to be able to experience such a deep and provoking tactical RPG, if not then you can rest knowing that you can still pick it up for your PS1 or PSP (should you have access to them).
  4. Aug 7, 2011
    80
    You just can't charge this kind of money for an iOS port of a PSOne game, especially one that's not graphically optimized for the iPad. What's worse, if I didn't already own this game on the PSP, I could buy it new right now for $10 at Amazon.com and have a better overall experience.
  5. Aug 7, 2011
    75
    If your access to the PlayStation family of systems is limited and you're dying for a good turn-based strategy game, Final Fantasy: War of the Lions is a must-buy. If, however, you own a PSP and aren't broken up over forfeiting the convenience of a great strategy game on your iPhone, jump on your Chocobo and ride away.
  6. Sep 25, 2011
    71
    Despite the good bits, its complexity makes it unsuited to quick play bouts on a phone. [Nov 2011, p.94]
  7. Sep 2, 2011
    70
    It's a quick and dirty port of the four-year-old PSP version of the game, which itself was based on a thirteen-year-old Playstation game. For fans of the original, you'll get pretty much the exact game you expect, albeit with some performance issues on some devices.
  8. Aug 8, 2011
    70
    A huge, immersive experience that suffers because it doesn't bend to the whims and needs of the hardware it's being played on.
  9. 70
    Still a loving remake of the influential strategy role-player, but not quite as good as the PSP version and actually slightly more expensive.
  10. Aug 31, 2011
    60
    The War of the Lions is definitely not worth eight times the price of an average iOS game you have to pay for it. Despite two years of development it's no more than a crude port of the PSP version. [Sept 2011, p.76]
  11. Aug 19, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
  12. Sep 16, 2011
    40
    Final Fantasy Tactics is one of the deepest, most engrossing strategy RPGs of all time, but the iPhone is far and away the worst device to experience it on. The sluggish performance and blurry visuals of Square's iOS port make the steep price tag very hard to swallow.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    Been looking forward to this a hella long time. Sadly not as good as I hoped, it's pretty laggy on my iPhone and some of the fonts are blurry.Been looking forward to this a hella long time. Sadly not as good as I hoped, it's pretty laggy on my iPhone and some of the fonts are blurry. Still, it's FFTA, so can't really complain. Full Review »
  2. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    Since the most recent update, this game is immensly better than its previous incarnation. Still not exactly worth the full price but if youSince the most recent update, this game is immensly better than its previous incarnation. Still not exactly worth the full price but if you can pick it up while it's half off, it is definitely still worth having this classic on your iPad Full Review »
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    6
    Lots of hate for the iPhone version, and that doesn't surprise me. In the ipad this game is truly excellent though . If it was a littleLots of hate for the iPhone version, and that doesn't surprise me. In the ipad this game is truly excellent though . If it was a little cheaper it would get a nine from me. Gameplay is as good as it ever was. Full Review »