Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
Stream On
  1. Sep 2, 2011
    70
    It's a quick and dirty port of the four-year-old PSP version of the game, which itself was based on a thirteen-year-old Playstation game. For fans of the original, you'll get pretty much the exact game you expect, albeit with some performance issues on some devices.
  2. Aug 19, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Aug 8, 2011
    70
    A huge, immersive experience that suffers because it doesn't bend to the whims and needs of the hardware it's being played on.
  4. 70
    Still a loving remake of the influential strategy role-player, but not quite as good as the PSP version and actually slightly more expensive.
  5. Games Master UK
    Sep 25, 2011
    71
    Despite the good bits, its complexity makes it unsuited to quick play bouts on a phone. [Nov 2011, p.94]
  6. CD-Action
    Aug 31, 2011
    60
    The War of the Lions is definitely not worth eight times the price of an average iOS game you have to pay for it. Despite two years of development it's no more than a crude port of the PSP version. [Sept 2011, p.76]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    Been looking forward to this a hella long time. Sadly not as good as I hoped, it's pretty laggy on my iPhone and some of the fonts are blurry.Been looking forward to this a hella long time. Sadly not as good as I hoped, it's pretty laggy on my iPhone and some of the fonts are blurry. Still, it's FFTA, so can't really complain. Full Review »
  2. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    Since the most recent update, this game is immensly better than its previous incarnation. Still not exactly worth the full price but if youSince the most recent update, this game is immensly better than its previous incarnation. Still not exactly worth the full price but if you can pick it up while it's half off, it is definitely still worth having this classic on your iPad Full Review »
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    6
    Lots of hate for the iPhone version, and that doesn't surprise me. In the ipad this game is truly excellent though . If it was a littleLots of hate for the iPhone version, and that doesn't surprise me. In the ipad this game is truly excellent though . If it was a little cheaper it would get a nine from me. Gameplay is as good as it ever was. Full Review »