Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 11, 2011
    100
    First Touch Soccer pushes the football genre a little further on the App Store and while it may not have the exact same features as console titles, it makes up for this by being a top competitor on the field itself.
  2. May 9, 2011
    100
    Replay value is outstanding, as there are plenty of modes to keep you busy and a multiplayer mode to find human competition when the AI just doesn't cut it.
  3. Jul 1, 2011
    90
    I think this is easily the best football/soccer app you can get at the moment.
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    90
    Online multiplayer is the proverbial cherry on top of numerous other great features, making First Touch Soccer an effortless recommendation.
  5. May 12, 2011
    90
    With an air of professionalism, First Touch Soccer delivers a consummate football experience, representing a new high water mark for the genre on iPhone.
  6. May 26, 2011
    85
    First Touch Soccer is the sequel of X2 Football 10/11 with better graphics, better framerate (only on new generation iOS devices) and an overall increased quality; at 0.79€/0.99$, it's a must buy for soccer fans.
  7. Dec 19, 2011
    80
    A very ambitious soccer game with lots of content and great gameplay.
  8. Oct 26, 2011
    80
    The real joy here is the fluid gameplay. Play is controlled simply with an analogue stick for movement and three buttons for attacking and defensive activities. You can also double tap the right side of the screen to pull off some context-sensitive special moves.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 27, 2011
    8
    First Touch Soccer is a significant step forward for X2 Games. The previous offering, X2 Football, was already one of the better iOS soccerFirst Touch Soccer is a significant step forward for X2 Games. The previous offering, X2 Football, was already one of the better iOS soccer games available, but had some real shortcomings in terms of graphics quality, the level of challenge (i.e. it was too easy) and Dream Team mode. First Touch shows improvement in all three of those areas.

    Gameplay in First Touch is intuitive, engaging and challenging. The enjoyment factor starts high, and stays high over time as there are a wide variety of competitions to beat, and a multiplayer mode that allows you to play against friends and strangers.

    The game does have some ragged edges though. First and foremost are stability problems. Simply put, the game crashes a lot. Usually at the beginning of a game, but also sometimes at half-time, or during the action. This is a very frustrating experience. Additionally, Dream Team mode, which allows you to start with a relatively weak team and earn tokens with which you can buy players and gradually improve the quality of your team, has gone from far too easy in the X2 version, to too difficult in the First Touch version. Maybe this strategy is intended to extend the length of time it takes to "beat" the Dream Team portion of the game, but at the outset, it is again very frustrating.

    Overall, with the expectation that future updates will address the stability/crash issues, I think this is a great game, and recommend it highly.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 9, 2011
    9
    Incredible value, I'm having more fun with this soccer game than past iterations of FIFA on normal systems. Very deep, challenging, with realIncredible value, I'm having more fun with this soccer game than past iterations of FIFA on normal systems. Very deep, challenging, with real players and teams and pretty solid control for an iPad game. Highly recommended! Full Review »
  3. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    brilliant game overall, easy to pick up, a bit too easy. game-play is absolute top notch! you have complete freedom of passing and dribbling,brilliant game overall, easy to pick up, a bit too easy. game-play is absolute top notch! you have complete freedom of passing and dribbling, I would like better skill control (as its random).

    BUT there are a few flaws that didn't impact me much until i mastered them, such as half way line goals, one on one goals, which are nearly impossible to miss. I'll explain: when the opponent scores, the goalie is out/on the edge on the penalty box and so when you kick off you can run to the edge of the centre circle, full power shot and the goalie is helpless, works almost every time, and one on one goals, just max out the pass button and he cant save it : fix em and ill be happy.

    as for modes, dream team is by far the best as its token system is perfect, but once you've completed all tournaments and got Messi, Villa and other class players on your team, there is not much replay value as you know your going to win every game, and its a bit to easy and quick to get to that stage.

    multi-player has improved with updates but ive failed to have one complete match in multiplayer for loss of connection errors, maybe they can fix that in the future?

    while its good gameplay wise, some features that i think are essential to a good footy game, although I don't think any game has done it yet is the inclusion of a manager mode, complete with transfer windows, but i guess that's what championship manager is for? I would just like a game that does it all, maybe that's asking for too much.

    so i gave it a 9/10 because it is by FAR the best football game on iOS, especially retina display enabled devices, but there are just a few things that need clearing up such as goalkeeper AI and multiplayer.
    Full Review »