Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    90
    Although the content was a little too much for me at times, players who don't mind the junk will find it to be an excellent addition to their game collection.
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    50
    Half-hearted and without any direction to speak of, Gangstar Rio: City of Saints is evidence of little else than Grand Theft Auto's greatness, serving up a forgettable and muddled entry in the sandbox genre.
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    80
    Gangstar Rio: City of Saints is not just a GTA clone but it represents a work of optimization by Gameloft, with a better control system and a lot of enjoyable missions. Rio de Janeiro is also an original setting and the sandbox-game fans should give it a try.
  4. Nov 26, 2011
    70
    Rio's improvements to the core gameplay system, combined with better visuals and good music make this game the best yet in the series. However, much like the previous iterations, there are a few issues that prevent the game from living up to its full potential.
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    70
    One more of the same in a series that is already well known. If you loved the previous chapters, you'll like this too.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    75
    The Gangstar franchise is an IOS tradition at this point, known for both its open world driving and its extremely adult environment. Rio is more of the same with a few improvements.
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    60
    While in many aspects Gangstar Rio goes for broke and is bigger and better than its previous incarnations, making it the most comprehensive sandbox style game currently available for iOS, it fails to satisfy thanks to bugs, physics issues and a combat system the needs to be completely retooled.
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    50
    Gameloft have proved again and again that they are the masters of technicality, pushing the games that appear on iDevices onward with great graphics and touch-based controls (Modern Combat 3 and Tin Tin are the latest great releases)... but too often they stumble to combine their technical output with their creative output, resulting in a severely lackluster experience (Sacred Odyssey and Silent Ops are examples of this). Gangstar Rio: City of Saints falls into this camp.
  9. 60
    If you're looking for an insane playground filled with guns and cars while on the go, Gangstar Rio: City of Saints may be an option. But it does feel like a missed oppurtunity due to awful voice and over, and that's a shame.
  10. Dec 16, 2011
    33
    The best word describing Gangstar Rio is used in the game as a fictional car brand – "Crapo". Stay away from it, chicos!
  11. Nov 17, 2011
    80
    Borrowing a number of features from San Andreas and generally improving upon a decidedly successful formula, Gangstar Rio continues the tradition of profane, violent, sociopathic entertainment on a mobile platform.
  12. Nov 17, 2011
    80
    All problems aside, Gangstar Rio is a decent open-world adventure. It's not the best, but it's also not the worst.
  13. Nov 26, 2011
    70
    It's no GTA by any means, but Gameloft have still managed to build a city worth playing in, especially if you have the new hardware to experience it in its full glory.
  14. Dec 15, 2011
    60
    Another slightly cynical but neatly executed take on the GTA format.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Sep 5, 2014
    0
    It angers me games of this crappy quality pass as acceptable for IOS. First the game is expensive but they still charge you money for weaponsIt angers me games of this crappy quality pass as acceptable for IOS. First the game is expensive but they still charge you money for weapons and clothes. The graphics are a joke, the voice acting is bull crap, and the so called "story" is laughable. I am so sick of gameloft milking games and everybody liking them. DO NOT BUY THIS Buy the GTA mobile games, way better. Full Review »
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    6
    This game is a fun sandbox game but the campaign is insanely hard, for months i've been stuck on the mission "Heroin, Heroine." Money isThis game is a fun sandbox game but the campaign is insanely hard, for months i've been stuck on the mission "Heroin, Heroine." Money is extremely hard to come by, buy killing rich folks wearing a pink collar shirt, and a suit is an easier way to get money, but still won't get you that far. This game is alright, but I probably won't play it very often. Full Review »
  3. TKN
    Nov 18, 2011
    10
    comparing this with GTA for iDevices, I can comfortably declare this one the best game ever made on iDevices so far. Simply beyond mycomparing this with GTA for iDevices, I can comfortably declare this one the best game ever made on iDevices so far. Simply beyond my expectations. I particularly liked the way they created a huge city environment, it is so much fun to roam free in a stolen car... brings smile to my face :) Full Review »