Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: GODUS is a delightful reinvention of the god game from 22cans and Peter Molyneux, who created the genre. Mac, PC, Mobile iOS & Android.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Aug 20, 2014
    80
    Godus is a fun simulation game. For a free download, it gives you a lot of value and is a very deep experience. Its slow pace and premium add-ons might turn some people off, but it is still a very solid title.
  2. Aug 18, 2014
    80
    There’s the spark of something genuinely special here, beyond a FarmVillian Nightmare, and well beyond the flood of base-building Clash of Clans clones and uninspired Candy Crush-apeing puzzlers cluttering up the app stores.
  3. Aug 12, 2014
    70
    The game does the hard work of hooking you in, but is insistent on pushing you away straight after unless you cough up cash, which feels both insulting and desperate.
  4. Aug 13, 2014
    60
    Despite the hype, Godus is another freemium civilization building game. One that's incredibly slow to progress in.
  5. Aug 25, 2014
    60
    Godus is no more and no less than a freemium civilization game, marked by long waits and few interesting ideas, like the lemming-style minigame and the earth-shape feature. It’s very nice to watch, but not so much to play.
  6. Aug 11, 2014
    50
    An imaginative, lovely looking game that somehow conspires to render godhood dull and repetitive.
  7. 20
    This is a game by Peter Molyneux who, for all his misfires in recent years, remains a guy who is fiercely intelligent and deeply committed to creative game development. The fact that he allowed this game to fall into such a cynical monetisation model shows just how enslaved developers and publishers have become to free-to-play games, and that makes Godus a symbol, but for reasons that Molyneux probably didn't anticipate; it's a symbol for just how infuriating free-to-play has become.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 9 out of 12
  1. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    Please only read the comments of the critics this game is not as bad as everybody else seems to make it out to be it does not deserve a zero or 3 frankly this is a good idea with standard pay to play ideas and the whole you have to wait a long time is a legitimate complaints but despite that it's far more enjoyable than most people make it out to be the graphics while simply passable can actually be interesting once you start to play the game more and more the game has an unlimited playing mechanic if AND ONLY IF you are incredibly skilled The time takes for you to actually be able to do something new and to keep playing is actually very small something a lot of people have neglected to mention (it takes literally 30 seconds before you can actually do something small and minor but it's better to just wait it out of whole day) The gameplay can be a bit hard to control and this can screw you over in some of the quote unquote puzzle sections and while that was an extremely annoying experience that I had it hasn't exactly ruined the entire game for me yes you have to wait a lot and yes the design simplistic and yes the gameplay is simplistic but even still there is quite a bit to enjoy and go through the game to your own pace and the fact that it's a fee to play game means that it's also something you can quit very easily it's a game where you can stop at any point in time without feeling really guilty that you haven't visited your followers for and such and such time or you haven't gone through some of the puzzle sections in a long time there isn't really a daily login bonus yet or at least as far as I have gotten now for the people backed up the game this can actually be a very very very annoying game to go through as you do you have to wait and you do have to take a long time with this and it is available for mobile platforms which will probably get the biggest chunk of attention But dang it this is a review for the iOS version and you should take that as a positive note you will find The occasional ai walking bug that can really screw you over and while that does provide a giant piece of frustration you can overlook that so long as you can find a way around it here's the thing though most of the time you can't for one simple reason the camera doesn't turn out around and you're always going to be looking things through one way now you can zoom in and you can zoom out but you can't turn the camera around the game uses this design a very frustrating way at some point and there is requirement to turn the camera I'm not kidding this is what you will say dear readers and dear devs I want fixed immediately I know you're not going to do that because you've taken the lazy route to making this game but still major issue please fix it also for the love of God take out some of the mechanics all they do is just increase the loading times seriously that's not what we want to do we want to feel like we're making progress rather than just increasing the loading time we are investing in some upgrade because we are in fact building big your houses or doing different things make us feel like we can be rewarded for our actions because we actually invested in something that we would want rather than invest In something because the game did not have enough loading times I imagine this will get more and more frustrating but I want updates to help this issue rather than updates that make it worse now putting that aside you could've done a better job with audio you could have done a better job with the graphics let's not kid ourselves here it would've also been nice if you actually randomized the map so that online players can play with each other (curiosity was popular because of that) I know it could be a lot to implement but maybe as a future update or a completely separate game that is paid now I understand this my 10 is not a 10 this game deserves a max score of 5 but it's better than 1.5/10 (seriously guys) now I expect to edit this review heavily but I also expect to be vastly disappointed for future updates if you can surprise me great but you have lost plenty of interest in my eyes and I'm sure in everyone else's

    P.S.
    Thanks everyone for reading my grammatically flawed review (Siri will do that) and I'm only giving this a ten from other reader reviews when I was writing this it was a 1.5 so I hope this didn't trick you into thinking this was acceptable
    Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2014
    8
    i) hit paywall ii) go to settings iii) go to date and time iv) turn off "set automatically" v) scroll forward N hours / days. Et voila.

    This is a very enjoyable, rendered more enjoyable by the complete avoidability of the paywall. I'm now running out of enjoyment, but I've had a good >25hrs of play, far more than I get out of most iOS titles.

    I've now hit the point where there's nowt left to explore, and not much to do bar harvest resources to sculpt more plateaux to build more b*stard huge resource producers. Which is fine, like. But begins to get a bit samey.

    Controls, as others detail in greater depth, are also a bit wonky.
    Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2014
    5
    Mediocre at best. Pay to play (not even pay to win) or wait around for hours at a time. Not in the same league as Dungeon Keeper, but not exactly worth spending much time on. Download it, play for a bit, then delete it - thats what I did. Expand
  4. Aug 13, 2014
    2
    Like other professional writers have stated. This ham-fisted attempt at resuscitating a disheveled Populous on iOS devices is as off-putting as the terrible use of IAP's. If you enjoy being slapped in the face after your first 20 minutes of play with a huge timer driven pay-wall, that continue ad nausium, then this game is for you. Would not recommend. Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am a fan of Peter Molyneaux, Populous, Black and White, and Dungeonkeeper, but Godus is simply dreadfully boring. The game is mostly about waiting for things to happen, while the player does little or nothing. It is a game world without drama, passion, suspense, or any feeling of achievement. Even on an iPad, the primary action the player does (bulldozing land) is imprecise and aggravating. The end result is unsatisfying, as the best land for your followers is a flat plain. Followers get blocked from moving to a destination even when the route is clearly open. The "Voyage of Discovery" event consists of playing mini-puzzle games, something like Loderunner or Lemmings. This game does not make you feel like a god, but instead inspires a feeling most like waiting at the airport for a delayed flight that finally gets cancelled in the end. As you get further into the game, it gets progressively slower, which can be remedied by getting out your credit card. The one good aspect of the game is that it looks reasonably pleasant...but then you turn it into a flat ugly plain. Hurray?

    Deleting this game from my iPad now.
    Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2014
    1
    This is a unfinished game? No text whatsoever, no tutorial, no objectives. What am i supposed to do? It is strange that this product was accepted in the app store, but being promoted frontpage?! Maybe a bug? I gave a 1 because of the cool graphics, but beyond that.... Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2014
    0
    It's really not good, it looks pretty but is dull, dull, dull to play and riddled with constant prompts to spend real money, all the time! This is worse than Dungeon Keeper mobile, the game the Molyneux slammed for it's shameless monetising and then he goes and releases an identical abomination with Godus! At least it costs nothing to download and it's easy to delete if you do make the mistake. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers