Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Dec 16, 2013
    100
    Despite its few flaws, Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is one of the most ambitious games ever made, and squeezing it onto a portable device is a major achievement.
  2. Dec 12, 2013
    100
    If you own an iOS device that's on the supported device list (Basically, the iPhone 4S and newer.), particularly if you've got something recent, Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is as must-have as it gets
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    95
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is Rockstar Games’s best port yet.
  4. Jan 12, 2014
    90
    We are faced with an almost perfect port, which is still able to fulfill the dream of longtime fans: to always carry in our pockets one of the games we loved most during our teenage years. God bless Rockstar! Or, at least, God forgive them.
  5. Jan 5, 2014
    90
    There's no reason for not buying GTA San Andreas: this is a masterpiece that everyone should play, even if touch controls are a little clumsy. Easily the best Rockstar Games port so far.
  6. Dec 19, 2013
    90
    The masterpiece is back with better graphics, real controller support and the same incomparable magic, all in your pocket.
  7. Dec 19, 2013
    90
    Praised as one of the best games in the series, Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is a great achievement as a mobile game, with great graphics, good controls and a ridiculous amount of content to play with.
  8. Dec 18, 2013
    90
    Not all games age elegantly. Though while Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is certainly showing its age, everything that made it great still shows through brilliantly.
  9. Dec 16, 2013
    90
    The very same game we played almost ten years ago, now it's been adapted to fit almost every pocket. This version comes with visual upgrades and adapted touch controls, and becomes an unmissable opportunity for those wanting to go back to San Andreas.
  10. Dec 16, 2013
    90
    A fine conversion of a monster PS2 action adventure game. Los Santos provides a great amount of content and things to do.
  11. Dec 13, 2013
    90
    Despite the fact it's almost a decade old, Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is still a gritty yet refreshing open-world experience that fans of mobile action games owe it upon themselves to check out.
  12. 90
    Rockstar returns with their best iOS release yet. Polished, great looking, tons to do, customizable controls, awesome music and just a perfect conversion job all over. San Andreas has never looked this good.
  13. Dec 12, 2013
    90
    San Andreas is an enormous, funny, varied, and sometimes frustrating PS2 classic that has come to mobile with few compromises and surprisingly good controls.
  14. Dec 18, 2013
    83
    This mobile port's every bit as fun as playing the original if you have the gamepad to support it, but the touchscreen control, while competent are not the best way to play.
  15. Jan 27, 2014
    80
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is an expansive adventure that is now encompassed in your iOS device in a well crafted package that is a should buy for hours of engaging entertainment.
  16. Jan 2, 2014
    80
    Even on your cell phone, San Andreas is a big and entertaining game. Even now it looks great and some parts have even been tailored to the platform. Touch controls could be better, but that doesn't take away from the fact that you'll have a great time with San Andreas for a few Euros.
  17. Dec 29, 2013
    80
    It may be nearly a decade old, but in spite of technical hiccups, difficult controls, and a slow start, Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is still one of the best open-world games of all time.
  18. Dec 29, 2013
    80
    Though the controls are never going to match those of the console versions, Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is as reverent and respectful an iOS port as you could realistically hope for.
  19. Feb 3, 2014
    75
    The Ios version of GTA: San Andreas is a good one, but it’s not something new we haven’t seen already. If you have the choice to pick between this version and a PC or console version, pick the latter.
  20. Feb 12, 2014
    70
    With a control scheme that can hamper the enjoyment, it creates an unfortunate barrier between the world and the player that's hard to overcome. [Issue#144, p.113]
  21. Dec 12, 2013
    70
    It still seems bizarre there’s no console version but if you must play a PlayStation 2 era GTA game on a touchscreen then this is a good as you can ever imagining it working.
  22. Dec 17, 2013
    60
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas on iOS is easily the worst way to experience a game that many people regard as one of the best games ever made.
  23. Jan 2, 2014
    50
    As soon as you start driving the technical issues will start whizzing by you. The controls, the framerate, the crashes: San Andreas easily buckles under the pressure.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This was the funnest GTA game i have ever played from the series. It was such a thrill to have an open world experience where you can stealThis was the funnest GTA game i have ever played from the series. It was such a thrill to have an open world experience where you can steal vehicles, fly planes, getting a 6 star wanted level had having tanks come after you, area 51, the experience is unbelievable, and unlimited The PS2 version was a really fun experience, and it actually had good graphics on that console.
    When i played the PS3 version it didn't change me really. it was still that fun game. They didn't change anything other than the the graphics. Bottom line: 10 out of 10. on the PS2 and on the PS3.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    This is the best version of San Andreas IMO. Well besides the pc version of course. But this game looks fantastic on my iPod touch. It playsThis is the best version of San Andreas IMO. Well besides the pc version of course. But this game looks fantastic on my iPod touch. It plays fine with a good draw distance, easy to use controls and plus the great new coat of iaint that gives the game a shiny hd look. This is the whole San Andreas game everyone knows and loves nothing is missing here. Open world? Check. Stats? Check. Clothes and tatoos? Check. A great game has became even better. Well worth a purchase i really hope rockstar makes bully available for iOS and android next. Full Review »
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Where is my review ??
    Somebody deleted my review from yesterday ?
    Top game BUY IT, this is full console quality gaming BIG OPEN WORLD FREE
    Where is my review ??
    Somebody deleted my review from yesterday ?
    Top game BUY IT, this is full console quality gaming
    BIG OPEN WORLD FREE ROAM
    better then ps2 version
    Wardrum studios made this game pitch perfect for iphone 5
    You have an iphone 5 then must buy this game
    Full Review »