Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 5 years ago, Carl Johnson escaped from the pressures of life in Los Santos, a city tearing itself apart with gang trouble, drugs and corruption. Now it’s the early 90’s and Carl’s got to go home. His mother has been murdered, his family has fallen apart and his childhood friends are all heading towards disaster. On his return to the neighborhood, a couple of corrupt cops frame him for homicide. CJ is forced on a journey that takes him across the entire state of San Andreas, to save his family and to take control of the streets. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Dec 16, 2013
    100
    Despite its few flaws, Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is one of the most ambitious games ever made, and squeezing it onto a portable device is a major achievement.
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    95
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is Rockstar Games’s best port yet.
  3. 90
    Rockstar returns with their best iOS release yet. Polished, great looking, tons to do, customizable controls, awesome music and just a perfect conversion job all over. San Andreas has never looked this good.
  4. Jan 5, 2014
    90
    There's no reason for not buying GTA San Andreas: this is a masterpiece that everyone should play, even if touch controls are a little clumsy. Easily the best Rockstar Games port so far.
  5. Dec 18, 2013
    83
    This mobile port's every bit as fun as playing the original if you have the gamepad to support it, but the touchscreen control, while competent are not the best way to play.
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    80
    Even on your cell phone, San Andreas is a big and entertaining game. Even now it looks great and some parts have even been tailored to the platform. Touch controls could be better, but that doesn't take away from the fact that you'll have a great time with San Andreas for a few Euros.
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    50
    As soon as you start driving the technical issues will start whizzing by you. The controls, the framerate, the crashes: San Andreas easily buckles under the pressure.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This was the funnest GTA game i have ever played from the series. It was such a thrill to have an open world experience where you can steal vehicles, fly planes, getting a 6 star wanted level had having tanks come after you, area 51, the experience is unbelievable, and unlimited The PS2 version was a really fun experience, and it actually had good graphics on that console.
    When i played the PS3 version it didn't change me really. it was still that fun game. They didn't change anything other than the the graphics. Bottom line: 10 out of 10. on the PS2 and on the PS3.
    Collapse
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Where is my review ??
    Somebody deleted my review from yesterday ?
    Top game BUY IT, this is full console quality gaming
    BIG OPEN WORLD FREE
    ROAM
    better then ps2 version
    Wardrum studios made this game pitch perfect for iphone 5
    You have an iphone 5 then must buy this game
    Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    GTA San Andreas is a great game and now that it is on ios it continues to be a great game. The controls are slightly clumsy, but the overall gameplay is great. The world is bigger than Vice City and Liberty City from GTA 3 and GTA Vice City. San Andreas is the newest GTA before GTA IV so it includes a lot of great new features like more vehicles, better graphics, and just overall it is a great game to play when you're on the go or you're just bored. This is a must have and is worth $7 on the app store! Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    This is the best version of San Andreas IMO. Well besides the pc version of course. But this game looks fantastic on my iPod touch. It plays fine with a good draw distance, easy to use controls and plus the great new coat of iaint that gives the game a shiny hd look. This is the whole San Andreas game everyone knows and loves nothing is missing here. Open world? Check. Stats? Check. Clothes and tatoos? Check. A great game has became even better. Well worth a purchase i really hope rockstar makes bully available for iOS and android next. Expand
  5. May 12, 2014
    5
    That say.. not playable with maximum graphics settings because of a orrible optimization , it is still a good porting, gta sa is always gta sa (Best gta for me) Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    4
    Doesn't run well on iPad 2, I'm kinda shocked how much it lagged on iPad 2 while games like asphalt 8 runs perfectly smooth so it needs a patch very fast because I won't buy a new iPad just too play this game, hopefully its better optimize for the snapdragon 600 on my HTC one when it comes to android but so far it lags badly on the iPad 2 and it freezes sometimes, so not a good buy on older iPads for game that came out on hardware like the ps2. I don't like the shinyness on the characters it looks a bit odd if you give CJ a afro haircut. Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2014
    0
    Sorry doesn't work well on iPad.

    I tried time and time again but I was getting is a stutter on the first part in the game and couldn't even
    use the BMX. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013 Image
    Published: December 22, 2013
    Here are the highest-scoring games released for iOS this year.