Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
Stream On
  1. Games Master UK
    Feb 10, 2013
    82
    If you aren't grinning by mission two then there's something very wrong with you. [March 2013, p.92]
  2. Jan 16, 2013
    88
    It is no San Andreas, but an enjoyable romp nonetheless - it is also one rather gigantic download though but one well worth it if you can make the space.
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    90
    There's also the simple fact that Vice City is an amazing game in most regards. In this regard, the high points far outweigh the control issues, making Vice City for iOS a no brainer for most gamers.
  4. Dec 28, 2012
    90
    One of the most characteristic Rockstar games has not aged a bit. Even though its clich├ęs as well as its design, that's outdated here and there, are striking now more than ever, it's still a hilarious ride with style and functioning gameplay crashing as little as possible. There is no way you can find the experience of the same value for a mobile platform than this polished classic title.
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    Building upon the success of GTA III while offering a few new twists and a great new setting, GTA: Vice City is another can't-miss offering that satisfies our nostalgic yearnings.
  6. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    Sure, it's not the most comfortable way to explore Vice City, but the low price and high quality of this mobile version are both very good reasons to get back in the shoes of Tommy Vercetti.
  7. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    It's worth battling through those initial tricky moments with the controls because, as a game, Vice City is still enormously entertaining. Great characters and great stage-setting never lose their lustre and, even ten years on, this is still Grand Theft Auto at its mischievous best.
  8. Dec 11, 2012
    75
    If you hate GTA games because you feel like they're too "bland," Vice City is your gateway drug. It oozes more charm than pretty much any game in the series outside of possibly San Andreas (provided you're a fan of hip-hop culture for that entry), and the smaller scale of the city makes it a much more manageable affair. If you're curious about the franchise, this is a great starting point before GTA V hits next year.
  9. Dec 11, 2012
    90
    As one might have expected, Rockstar has gone out of their way to deliver the pristine Grand Theft Auto: Vice City experience on iOS. Not only has the classic aged immensely well, but it still manages to deliver a quality of play that is unmatched a decade later. $4.99 seems like a penance to pay to get a portable hit of open-world perfection. Don't think twice, just click download.
  10. Dec 10, 2012
    100
    It's hard to say no to Vice City and it's even harder when it looks and almost feels as great as it did 10 years ago; just be prepared to learn some new tricks to deal with the virtual control system.
  11. Dec 7, 2012
    100
    The celebrity voice cast, licensed 80s soundtrack, and original radio station programming make the game a delight to listen to as well. Graphically, Vice City is just as stylish and unique as it has ever been, and it looks great on a Retina screen.
  12. Dec 6, 2012
    90
    It's as good as always and solves the issues we experienced with GTA III. A great adaptation worth checking out, whether you've already played the original game or not.
  13. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    Rockstar has done a commendable job of bringing a stone-cold classic to mobile. Controls let the package down, but it's worth the cost for the memories.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    6
    lag, crash, lag, crash, lag, crash, lag, crash, lag, crash, lag, crash, lag,......... can't really play on my ipod touch 4, lags on iphone 4s too....
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    8
    One of my first games for PSP i remember playing it two years ago, it was pretty enjoyable. Loved the story and the gameplay. GTA games areOne of my first games for PSP i remember playing it two years ago, it was pretty enjoyable. Loved the story and the gameplay. GTA games are always fun. And the cheat codes just made it better. Long hours spent on that game on my old psp. Full Review »
  3. Nov 24, 2015
    10
    The game is just amazing. I love play this game. For me this game is amazing ! Nothing more to comment because this game is amazing ! I rateThe game is just amazing. I love play this game. For me this game is amazing ! Nothing more to comment because this game is amazing ! I rate this 10/10 Full Review »