Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Dec 14, 2012
    60
    Vice City is a magical place that is home to my most memorable videogame experiences. And everything is there, or at least it seems: Crusin' through the city is fun, the soundtrack is as good as ever, so is the dialogue. But as soon as you really have to play, the systems' limitations spoil the fun.
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    60
    For nostalgic fans, Grand Theft Auto: Vice City is worth it on iOS just to take one last drive through the city with you wherever you go. But if you actually hope to complete missions and play the story, this is probably the worst version you can get.
  3. Dec 18, 2012
    70
    Running around Vice City wreaking havoc on your tiny mobile device is impressive and can still be very fun. But Vice City is 10 years old. and it shows. And playing with touch controls, refined through they may be, is not an ideal way to experience Rockstar's classic.
  4. Dec 16, 2012
    68
    Because of its lacking controls Vice City isn't as good as it was ten years ago. Which is a shame as Vice City has no equal when it comes to style and atmosphere.
  5. 60
    Grand Theft Auto and a touchscreen device continues to be the worst team-up since Cannon and Ball, but if you've only come for the nostalgia some of the magic is still there.
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    Its scale and story must have been significantly more meaningful at the time of its release. I can't help but compare it to everything I have played since that time. Those of you who have fond memories of the game may want to bring out the better controlling PS2 version, or wait for the crippling bug to be fixed in the iOS version.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    6
    lag, crash, lag, crash, lag, crash, lag, crash, lag, crash, lag, crash, lag,......... can't really play on my ipod touch 4, lags on iphone 4s too....
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    8
    One of my first games for PSP i remember playing it two years ago, it was pretty enjoyable. Loved the story and the gameplay. GTA games areOne of my first games for PSP i remember playing it two years ago, it was pretty enjoyable. Loved the story and the gameplay. GTA games are always fun. And the cheat codes just made it better. Long hours spent on that game on my old psp. Full Review »
  3. Aug 9, 2015
    8
    Graphics: You can tell that it's a PS2 port re-released for its 10 year celebrations. While the amount of detail put into the game isGraphics: You can tell that it's a PS2 port re-released for its 10 year celebrations. While the amount of detail put into the game is impressive, and the third-person perspective never gets old, the graphics... let's say you'll sacrifice detail for smoother performance which is a problem when you consider how old the game and the graphics are. 7/10

    Controls: Nothing will ever beat physical joysticks and buttons ... period. But the fact that you can customize just about all the controls to suit YOU softens the blow a lot! But it's still difficult to control at times. A decent effort though that's just about playable! 7/10

    Gameplay: What the port lacks in graphical oomph and reliable controls, it makes up for it in gameplay. It's a direct port of Vice City: a landmark, a cornerstone in gaming history alongside III and possibly San Andreas, not just some watered-down edition designed to be suited for touch devices. Weapons, police and side-missions galore. Don't forget about the MUSIC and the CHEATS!!! Enough said, but at the same time, not enough said, if you know what I mean. 10/10

    Performance: Turn the graphics down and what you'll lack in graphics will be more than made up for in silky smooth performance on even mid-range hardware. 1.5 GB of internal storage might initially seem a lot to ask for, but the third-person perspective ensures that it's better than Chinatown Wars, there's more detail put into it then III and at least it isn't the nearly 2.5GB that San Andreas requires. Slowdowns still occur occasionally but this is an big game 7/10

    Verdict: Put next to the ports of CW, III and possibly San Andreas, this could be the compromise between graphical oomph, features and performance/storage space. At £2.99 this is EXTREMELY outstanding and a must buy if you can overlook its relatively minor flaws and can handle the often provocative content. 8/10
    Full Review »