Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the decade of big hair, excess, and pastel suits comes a story of one man's rise to the top of the criminal pile. Vice City is a huge urban sprawl ranging from the beach to the swamps and the glitz to the ghetto, and is the most varied and complete digital city ever created. CombiningFrom the decade of big hair, excess, and pastel suits comes a story of one man's rise to the top of the criminal pile. Vice City is a huge urban sprawl ranging from the beach to the swamps and the glitz to the ghetto, and is the most varied and complete digital city ever created. Combining nonlinear gameplay with a character-driven narrative, you arrive in a town brimming with seedy opportunities and are given the chance to take it over as you choose. Take control of a variety of vehicles including high-performance cars and motorbikes, powerboats, golf buggies, and helicopters. Browse through the radio stations, with styles ranging from rock to electro, to find a sultry melody or pumping beat to suit your mood. No matter what type of man you are, Vice City is always full of surprises. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    100
    It's hard to say no to Vice City and it's even harder when it looks and almost feels as great as it did 10 years ago; just be prepared to learn some new tricks to deal with the virtual control system.
  2. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    Sure, it's not the most comfortable way to explore Vice City, but the low price and high quality of this mobile version are both very good reasons to get back in the shoes of Tommy Vercetti.
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    90
    There's also the simple fact that Vice City is an amazing game in most regards. In this regard, the high points far outweigh the control issues, making Vice City for iOS a no brainer for most gamers.
  4. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    Rockstar has done a commendable job of bringing a stone-cold classic to mobile. Controls let the package down, but it's worth the cost for the memories.
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    Building upon the success of GTA III while offering a few new twists and a great new setting, GTA: Vice City is another can't-miss offering that satisfies our nostalgic yearnings.
  6. Dec 18, 2012
    70
    Running around Vice City wreaking havoc on your tiny mobile device is impressive and can still be very fun. But Vice City is 10 years old. and it shows. And playing with touch controls, refined through they may be, is not an ideal way to experience Rockstar's classic.
  7. 60
    Grand Theft Auto and a touchscreen device continues to be the worst team-up since Cannon and Ball, but if you've only come for the nostalgia some of the magic is still there.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    9
    Not bad at all for a GTA title, great graphics and control, gameplay is top notch, highly recommended!

    The story is compelling, haven't
    Not bad at all for a GTA title, great graphics and control, gameplay is top notch, highly recommended!

    The story is compelling, haven't played much GTA titles but this one really attracts my attention!
    Collapse
  2. Nov 23, 2014
    9
    A Scarface inspired game, even with a Scarface Easter egg 'Apartment 3c', this game is amazing. Although the map may seem smaller than GTAA Scarface inspired game, even with a Scarface Easter egg 'Apartment 3c', this game is amazing. Although the map may seem smaller than GTA III, this game did not feel rushed. In fact there were many improvements like being able to change clothes, to buying houses to adding helicopters and motorbikes to the game. Before GTA San Andreas came out this was the best game. And it is amazing that it is able to play on portable devices nowadays. This game may be old, but it is still very memorable Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2014
    9
    I still remember the days back when my age had not reached double-digits where I would spend countless nights on my campaign to explore everyI still remember the days back when my age had not reached double-digits where I would spend countless nights on my campaign to explore every inch of the sun-soaked sleaze-hole of Vice City. This game will always hold a special place in my heart and I was incredibly pleased to see that the content had not been altered in the slightest, down to the exact location of every health pack. These facts alone would normally bring me to an unquestionable 10/10.

    However, this was not designed to be played on phones and tablets, therefore the gameplay does take a notably large hit as a consequence. This still does not change the fact that, if played on the correct console, this is easily one of my favourite games of all time and the transition to IOS has not made it considerably worse for wear.
    Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    Game is great. Great story line, great characters, great all around. The only reason why I did not give it a 10 is because the controls areGame is great. Great story line, great characters, great all around. The only reason why I did not give it a 10 is because the controls are sometimes suspect. But this is a fun, fun game. If you haven't played it yet, get it on iOS or PSN. Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2014
    7
    Controls are a little diffucult... okay, they're really difficult. But I'm glad to see this game a little remastered and on the Iphone andControls are a little diffucult... okay, they're really difficult. But I'm glad to see this game a little remastered and on the Iphone and Android devices. It's really great, I love the gameplay, but I don't really care much for the story. Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    Well...first of all silentinu, you do know that Vice City and Vice City stories were two totally different games right?

    Anyway, it's nice
    Well...first of all silentinu, you do know that Vice City and Vice City stories were two totally different games right?

    Anyway, it's nice to see how well this got ported but seeing as it crashes every 5 minutes I can't give it a proper score because I haven't played it extensively enough. Right now I'm 5 dollars short for a half working app.
    Expand
  7. Dec 11, 2012
    6
    lag, crash, lag, crash, lag, crash, lag, crash, lag, crash, lag, crash, lag,......... can't really play on my ipod touch 4, lags on iphone 4s too....

See all 8 User Reviews