Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Feb 12, 2011
    91
    It's as frustrating as Canabalt, but much more skill-based-and another example of why the world needs many more grappling-hook-based games.
  2. Feb 12, 2011
    82
    There are no doubts that Gravity Hook HD is worth every cent you spent. Thanks to its tactile mechanics, online leaderboards and a hit-and-run gameplay, the new game from Adam Atomic is simply perfect on iPhone and iPod Touch, surprisingly better suited on the iDevices than Canabalt. Maybe a few more unlockable stuff would have been really welcomed.
  3. Feb 12, 2011
    80
    Gravity Hook HD represents an intense shift in challenge from Semi Secret's earlier work, but if you have patience you'll be rewarded by an amazingly intriguing gameplay style.
  4. Feb 12, 2011
    80
    But the challenge and relative complexity of Gravity Hook HD are part of the package – this is a game that is unashamed to be unforgiving, and if you can appreciate that, you will likely appreciate Gravity Hook HD to be more than just the typical pick up and play game, but what makes it unique keeps it from being truly great.
  5. Feb 12, 2011
    80
    I had a lot of fun with both the HD and classic versions of the game. Once I put in the time to really get a handle on the controls, Gravity Hook became a high score-focused game that I could whip out and play any time, making it a title that'll be a mainstay on my Apple devices for a long time to come.
  6. Feb 12, 2011
    70
    Gravity Hook HD has a uniquely punishing brand of gameplay that slaps you away with its difficulty, but reels you back in with a fine presentation and excellent unlockable mode.
  7. Feb 12, 2011
    50
    Gravity Hook HD has an excellent concept, but needs to find a happy medium between its two modes before it can be fully realized.
  8. Feb 12, 2011
    25
    Gravity Hook HD is a no go for me. I love casual games-Flight Control, Infect them All, Fruit Ninja-but Gravity Hook HD is way too difficult, repetitive, and frustrating to actually get the hang of.

There are no user reviews yet.