Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    100
    It's simply an amazing turn-based strategy game and a worthy sequel to the series.
  2. Jul 25, 2012
    100
    Great Big War Game takes everything we loved about the first game and spit-shines it into one of the best strategy games on iOS.
  3. Jul 23, 2012
    95
    Great Big War Game is a standout among war games on any platform and an enormous iPhone title by any right. Start digging into the massive campaign and you might be missing out on other iPhone games for a long, long while.
  4. Aug 13, 2012
    92
    Bottom line, while there are some aesthetics that didn't really make the grade, they have almost zero effect on the gameplay value and that makes this an essential download for any strategy fan.
  5. Jul 24, 2012
    90
    Improving upon the previous iteration in a variety of ways, fans will certainly take note of the greatly expanded single player campaign, the inclusion of fog of war, and the asynchronous cross-platform multiplayer mode with a plethora of maps to use.
  6. Jul 22, 2012
    90
    Great Big War Game is also fairly unstable, which is never a good thing. Playing on a first generation iPad, it crashed dozens of times. Fortunately a reliable autosave system meant I never lost any progress. Still, this instability is an unnecessary hassle.
  7. Jul 22, 2012
    90
    This game plays beautifully and looks fantastic on my third generation iPad, and I can definitely recommend it to those of you who enjoy strategy games. You won't be disappointed with this purchase, guaranteed.
  8. Aug 24, 2012
    82
    Great Big War Game comes with a fifty missions single player campaign and some interesting extra game modes that will keep you entertained for dozens of hours. It's a "more of the same", but a good one.
  9. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    There's 50 single player missions with plenty of different scenarios to enjoy and master. The online multiplayer is worth coming back to as well, though compared to some iOS-only turn-based games it feels a bit unrefined. Still, this is an impressive package for strategy fans.
  10. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    However, it is rather irritating that one of those extra units is something so essential as the medic class, which gives those willing to pay more a significant advantage. Even with that drawback, Great Big War Game lives up to its name and is a great pick for any strategy game fan.
  11. Jul 22, 2012
    80
    Strategic, deep, and full of content, Great Big War Game carries on nicely where its predecessor left off.
  12. Jul 31, 2012
    70
    It's one that will pull you in with it's charm and won't let you go till your dinner's gone cold. So by all means download and install the game, but make sure you chow down before playing. Because we all know what a cold meal is good for don't we? Absolutely nothing.
  13. Aug 26, 2012
    65
    Looking solely at the gameplay, Great Big War Game delivers. On the other hand, there is more to a game than just the gameplay itself-appearances do matter. From that perspective, it's in need of a little help.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    I love this game. It reminds me a lot Advance Wars but with up to date graphics.

    Normally mobile games are something I just play because I
    can't play on my PC but this is as much fun as anything that costs 60 bucks. Full Review »
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    This is easily among the top 5 games I've played on iOS. The AI could definitely use a bit of work, but it still holds a tremendous amount of entertainment value. My first game of this genre was probably The Perfect General on the PC, or Military Madness on the TurboGrafx. Yes, the cutscenes are stupid, but they're not why you play the game, and eventually they did grow on me. This is the sort of game, alongside Shadow Era, Carcassone and Ascension that really gives me hope for the future of the platform. Every day a new zombie game or some retro 8-bit game or some retro 8-bit zombie game arrives, and the pool is diluted. GBWG sits comfortably atop a pile of lesser quality games, giving you outrageous bang for your buck time after time after time.

    And that's *before* you get to the multiplayer....
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    This game deserves minimum 9. I'm giving it 10 to counter with the negatives. This is a brilliant strategy game. With a 50 mission campaign and online multiplayer you will never get bored of it. Who the hell would give this game a bad score. Metacritic, sort out the user scores for iOS games.
    Score: 96%
    Full Review »