Great Big War Game Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A tap and swipe turn-based strategy game with a huge sense of humor, featuring funny cartoon military units set in a stunning fictional world.“Great Big War Game” is the much anticipated sequel to the critically acclaimed “Great Little War Game”. (See what we did there?)With a greatly expanded single player campaign, brand new online multiplayer and a whole raft of other cool new stuff, there's plenty to please that 2.5 million strong player base.New to the brand? Don't worry - there's a full in-game manual and good tutorials to ease you in. If you missed the original game, you can still play this one and find out where all those 5 star reviews came from.NOTE: By purchasing this game, you agree to hold Rubicon harmless for any loss of sleep, drop in work productivity, poor school attendance, family break downs, melted cellphones or medical claims of "addict's finger".VIDEO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QBZI-MzX2gUCore Features:? 50 Mission single player campaign? Online asynchronous multiplayer? Pass n Play & Skirmish vs AI? GameCenter achievements? Lush visuals (full retina 3D)? Simple, intuitive control method? Tons of humor? No birds were harmed (or made angry) during development!See what the critics said about the original game:? Touch Arcade review: 5/5"I'll call Great Little War Game "great" without hesitation" ... "the kind of game you can really sink your teeth into, which is rare enough. So I'm delighted to discover that it's also rich in features, good looking and full of humor."? TapScape review: 10/10"Great Little War Game is just that: a well-designed and enjoyable tactical war game perfect for those who enjoy the lighter side of virtual warfare."? Top10.com: First place"The lavish production values of the game, incredible attention to detail and excellent animation gives you a sense of aerial, naval and land warfare that gets as good as you can expect on a small screen" Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    100
    It's simply an amazing turn-based strategy game and a worthy sequel to the series.
  2. Jul 25, 2012
    100
    Great Big War Game takes everything we loved about the first game and spit-shines it into one of the best strategy games on iOS.
  3. Jul 23, 2012
    95
    Great Big War Game is a standout among war games on any platform and an enormous iPhone title by any right. Start digging into the massive campaign and you might be missing out on other iPhone games for a long, long while.
  4. Jul 22, 2012
    90
    This game plays beautifully and looks fantastic on my third generation iPad, and I can definitely recommend it to those of you who enjoy strategy games. You won't be disappointed with this purchase, guaranteed.
  5. Aug 24, 2012
    82
    Great Big War Game comes with a fifty missions single player campaign and some interesting extra game modes that will keep you entertained for dozens of hours. It's a "more of the same", but a good one.
  6. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    There's 50 single player missions with plenty of different scenarios to enjoy and master. The online multiplayer is worth coming back to as well, though compared to some iOS-only turn-based games it feels a bit unrefined. Still, this is an impressive package for strategy fans.
  7. Aug 26, 2012
    65
    Looking solely at the gameplay, Great Big War Game delivers. On the other hand, there is more to a game than just the gameplay itself-appearances do matter. From that perspective, it's in need of a little help.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    This game deserves minimum 9. I'm giving it 10 to counter with the negatives. This is a brilliant strategy game. With a 50 mission campaign and online multiplayer you will never get bored of it. Who the hell would give this game a bad score. Metacritic, sort out the user scores for iOS games.
    Score: 96%
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    This is easily among the top 5 games I've played on iOS. The AI could definitely use a bit of work, but it still holds a tremendous amount of entertainment value. My first game of this genre was probably The Perfect General on the PC, or Military Madness on the TurboGrafx. Yes, the cutscenes are stupid, but they're not why you play the game, and eventually they did grow on me. This is the sort of game, alongside Shadow Era, Carcassone and Ascension that really gives me hope for the future of the platform. Every day a new zombie game or some retro 8-bit game or some retro 8-bit zombie game arrives, and the pool is diluted. GBWG sits comfortably atop a pile of lesser quality games, giving you outrageous bang for your buck time after time after time.

    And that's *before* you get to the multiplayer....
    Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    I love this game. It reminds me a lot Advance Wars but with up to date graphics.

    Normally mobile games are something I just play because I
    can't play on my PC but this is as much fun as anything that costs 60 bucks. Collapse
  4. May 25, 2013
    5
    This is perhaps the most sexist and misogynist game I have played in quite some time. The design and gameplay is great from a strategic point of view, but I can't imagine a woman playing this game and thinking it was ok. Expand

Related Articles

  1. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for July 2012

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for July 2012 Image
    Published: July 31, 2012
    The past month's best new iOS games include the first episode in an adventure based on "The Walking Dead" comics, an HD version of "Tiny Wings," and sequels to "Fieldrunners" and "Great Little War Game."